Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution von Tel Aviv University

4.9
Sterne
595 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. This course is the second of the two courses and covers three themes in its three weeks: Week 1: The Final Solution We’ll look at the cultural and mental processes that paved the way to the comprehensive and systematic mass murder of Jews in Europe – that is, the Final Solution. As part of this hard lesson we will discuss the various characteristics of the murder sites and death camps, and reveal selected aspects of the horror that occurred in them. Week 2: Jewish and Non-Jewish Responses to the Holocaust We will try to explore questions regarding knowledge about the application of the Final Solution, as well as a variety of responses and annihilation of victims, local populations and perpetrators. Week 3: The End of the War We will dedicate this lesson to the events that occurred in the last years of the Holocaust, as well as questions of memory, commemoration and future research. We strongly recommend that you register for "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" as well (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-1/home/welcome). Taking both parts of the course would enable you to obtain a fuller and more comprehensive knowledge about The Holocaust. This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. Novel learning experience: Crowdsourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

BG

9. Apr. 2020

A great course that helps one understand the enormity of a period in time when insanity reigned and barbarism ruled. Great lectures and ancillary readings and pictures and videos

EM

5. Apr. 2016

Thank you for bringing such an extremely difficult subject to us in a knowledgeable and dignified way. I learned so much about a time in history that I did not really understand.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 117 Bewertungen für The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution

von Leslie C

1. Nov. 2016

Exploration of the darkest shadow ever cast in human history by impeccable scholars on the subject. Now we need to extrapolate this information widely so that the human psyche is exposed in our modern world and the ghost of all these dehumanized victims will forever triumph over their oppressors.

von Angela T

29. Juli 2017

Another excellent couse. The reading materials supplied are particularly interesting and provide a good starting point for further exploration on the subject. The two introductory courses provide a good grounding in the subject and offer many opportunities for further independent study.

von Ian T

29. Sep. 2021

The course challenges its students to consider different perspectives and to consider difficult questions in relation to the Holocaust, I found this an enlightening introduction and has left me to consider what wider lessons humanity should take from this dark chapter of our history.

von egbert1@comcast.net

17. Aug. 2020

What a phenomenal opportunity this course has given me to learn so much in depth information on the Holocaust. The lectures are jammed packed with information and the research literature provided should not be missed by anyone with interest in this most important topic.

von Max M

7. März 2020

Excellent course. Professor Havi Dreifuss & Dr Na'ama Shik were not afraid to ask the hard questions about the Holocaust investigation.

This is the first time I have taken the course twice, although I first finished with a score of 100.

כל הכבוד (Well Done).

von Supragya T

20. Sep. 2018

Equally amazing as the first part . The best part is that it has managed to keep Holocaust so real by adding so many memoirs and extra readings . Thanks to TEL AVIV UNIVERSITY and YAD VASHEM for this great course . Love and gratitude from India .

von PERSEFONI K

9. Feb. 2021

i strongly recommend this course. it is food for the mind and soul. every one should learn about the Holocaust- something that happened in the past, many years ago, but has a strong impact until today and tomorrow. thank you for this course

von Robin S

8. Apr. 2021

I enjoyed this course (and Unit I); good information; good lecturers; and good reading assignments. At the end of the day, we need to recall Jan Karski, "We want that nobody after the war will be able to say he was not informed."

von Norma J

10. Apr. 2020

Excellent course on an horrific subject.

Guest speakers, visual learning materials (photos, maps, diagrams), carefully crafted Discussion questions to prod original thought - not memorization and regurgitation.

von Brad G

10. Apr. 2020

A great course that helps one understand the enormity of a period in time when insanity reigned and barbarism ruled. Great lectures and ancillary readings and pictures and videos

von Yuliia H

18. Juli 2020

Very nice teachers, whom you listen to with pleasure! I like that all the information is based on facts, statistics, sources, lots of photos and videos! super!

von Kelvin L

20. März 2018

An astonishing introduction to the history that I thought I know but never really know. A very heavy topic but really inspiring.

Thanks for the course.

von Rodrigo S M M

18. Sep. 2017

Simply put, one of the very best courses I have ever taken on Coursera - moving, thoroughly researched and a most teaching experience. A must do.

von Meghan A

29. Apr. 2021

This course is so informative and easy to work through! I love the video lectures and that they are time manageable even for a busy mom like me!

von mary h

20. Dez. 2017

Maybe someone should adjust the time indicated for the readings. I think most say "10 mins" whereas most took me at least an hour.

von Rebecca C

1. Sep. 2020

Fantastic quantity and depth of information. Easy to understand but challenging enough to make you really think. Would recommend!

von Joan C

26. Juli 2020

Much of what is explained in this MOOC has certainly not been sayed to you, it is perhaps one of the best I have participated in

von Michel V

28. Juni 2019

Deseo un mayor conocimiento respecto a este tema y este curso me viene súper, lo mejor es que están en ESPAÑOL.

Muchas gracias.

von LeRoy G

20. Juni 2019

This has been the best, looking forward to taking more on the same subject different line of the Holocaust.

*** Outstanding ***

von David H

3. Sep. 2017

A well put together course and very informative. Mankind proved once again the barbaric ruthless measures that we all possess.

von Nikita S

9. Juli 2020

May be dIsturbing for some people.

But HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Detailed, precise and simple. Please join it. Tysm, TAU univ. ;)

von Clive C W

5. Aug. 2016

Painfully accurate, thoughtful and thought provoking, analytical. Clearly partial; but then it is intended so to be.

von Norman q

18. Juli 2020

excelente curso, la verdad hay mucho por aprender sobre este tema, pero la enseñanza y el aprendizaje fue muy buena

von Erich-Dieter G

7. Sep. 2017

Excellent course! I thought I was familiar with the holocaust but there was and still is that I have yet to learn.

von Philip C

29. Juni 2021

I​ enjoyed this course and it introduced me to subject areas I will probably follow up on in my personal reading.