Chevron Left
Zurück zu How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course) von The State University of New York

3.3
Sterne
421 Bewertungen
138 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and publish a basic website that incorporates text, sound, images, hyperlinks, plug-ins, and social media interactivity. We’ll provide you with step-by-step instructions, exercises, tips, and tools that enable you to set up a domain name, create an attractive layout for your pages, organize your content properly, ensure that your site functions well across different operating systems and on mobile devices, keep your site safe, and finally, let people know your site is online. We’ll even show you how to track your visitors. Throughout the course, you'll engage in collaboration and discussion with other learners through course forums and peer review. Once you complete your first website project using Wordpress, you can move on to our optional, extended module that covers more advanced techniques such as using a simple text editor, coding in HTML, CSS, and Javascript, and more. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have little or no prior experience developing a web site. You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection. We’ll use Wordpress to get you started, provide lots of downloadable examples, and guide you through the process of giving and receiving constructive peer-to-peer feedback. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top-Bewertungen

TS

Mar 22, 2016

The title of this course is so inspirational that I actually ended up creating a website in a weened. Now I am using course material to enhance it.

PR

Jul 22, 2016

Me ayudó a aprender todo lo que necesitaba saber. Muy bueno!! Y sí es cierto que se puede hacer un sitio web en un fin de semana :)

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 138 Bewertungen für How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course)

von Nischal

Jun 06, 2020

you do need a prior knowledge of computer basics at least, secondly its beneficial for people who are gonna go ahead in this field. I believe one can learn a lot from the wordpress already and this course just gives you a step by step procedure to do that. Thank you.

von Remona C

Jul 20, 2016

Very limited information on Wordpress. Then added some lectures on web design that could have used information relevant to Wordpress such as image compression plugins instead of tinypng.com (see last component).

von Deleted A

Jan 17, 2017

It good for beginners who have no idea where to start in creating sites .But, can improve some of the audios are not complete yet the audio has finished and in some of video are not completely organized

von Pablo V

Jan 08, 2020

The course is theoretical and provides good guidelines on how to build a website from the point of view of structure and aesthetics, but it does not teach how to use tools such as Wordpress or Wix.

von Judy D S

Jun 04, 2020

Videos are the end were great. Needed more content like that in the beginning. There wasn’t enough detailed direction in the course. Platforms weren’t discussed, no clear direction.

von Jebbie S

Sep 29, 2017

It's a good course but the information is a little bit dated and the instructions go a little too fast. I also really wanted to learn some basic html in a class like this.

von Rakesh N

Mar 27, 2016

This course is super fast for beginner and i colder find the pause button. Great info but could've been delivered better.

von Chiara S

May 26, 2020

I liked the fact that the course aimed to build a proper website, but I have to say I expected a little bit more.

von Rachel

Mar 20, 2016

Assignments should be free for everyone to try and be peer reviewed! Payment should only affect the certificate.

von Melisa C

Apr 09, 2020

It was not so helpful! I did get information from other websites to make the assignments.

von Qianqiang L

Oct 03, 2016

It's quite simple and doesn't show specific steps of how to do it.

von John W

Feb 12, 2017

Took the mystery out of a few things that were new.

von Trixia

Mar 15, 2016

The links provided are informative.

von Lina U

Apr 01, 2020

The two girls don't even teach much. They just speak about what they plan on telling you, then give you links to read yourself without teaching the stuff itself (some links are outdated and have no content on them) and just bombard you with semi useless/kiddie assignments like 'create a moodboard' or 'pick an aspirational URL'. Like, people??? I'm here to learn how to develop and code child sites on wordpress and learn HTML. This is like a kindergarten!

von Michelle B

May 18, 2016

So basically it cuts off. It's like it gives you part of the information and then drops off. They also speed through it much like my old math teacher in college whcih caused 73% of the class to drop. Now I'm in them mist of it Paid for blue host. Paid for my web name and it looks like I'm going to have to pay someone to finish it. So bascially what I got was a bunch of added on expenses and still no web site. I would not recommend this course.

von Alena Y

Mar 21, 2016

1 out of 10.

A waste of time. If I cannot participate in discussions, forums, submit assignments, or give reviews, I might as well watch youtube lectures.

The course content was very poor as well. (this is based on the unpaid material)

This course should be scrapped and not offered as an unpaid course. Its a classical case of bait and switch.

von Shadi D

Nov 12, 2017

I feel that I put a lot of effort into my first assignments and I wasn't given appropriate feedback considering my background in design compared to peers who only just started learning about website maintenance.

von victoria a

May 14, 2020

It is only centered on using wordpress to create a website, however it doesnt really focus on tools that are applicable in other websited building options.

von carlos o m p

Apr 22, 2020

There is not any teaching resource; not even links were to find accurate information. not any valuable advice to initiate. It is just a list of tasks.

von Laurent B

Dec 14, 2019

Not enough explanations, direction of the course is rather vague throughout the course.

von Sandeep K

Oct 02, 2016

Taking this course is like getting lost across a ton of different websites!

von Jorge I L

Mar 02, 2017

Not really helpfull

von Jennifer R

May 20, 2020

Based on the discussion forums I am not the only person experiencing these issues. First, there seems to be chunks of instruction missing. For example, there is a video explaining a module is about completing the home page, adding hyperlinks, etc. Then the assignment is to add links and submit. There is no instruction at all. That is a repeated cycle. Say something is due then assignment asking for it to be posted. Next, there is no response to posted questions on the discussion forum. I posted a question about an assignment due this week and found the same question posted by someone else a year ago - with no answer. The assignment asks us to submit our home page URL, but our sites are not live yet. We can't submit the site without going live and my site is not ready to go live. There are many many other topics/questions posted with no responses. People are really asking for help and not getting any. (Some, like me, paid for this course. Others did not.)

I write this in the hopes that students enrolled in this course get some help. I have been a big fan of Coursera and have told many people about it. Not sure that will happen going forward, it depends on how this is handled. Everyone makes mistakes, but you need to respond and recover.

von Heather G

Mar 18, 2016

Sorry to say that this is the worst Coursera Course I have ever taken, and I've taken quite a few. The instructors did not do a good job at explaining how to use Wordpress. They didn't explain how to use wordpress to make a website that looked more like a website than a blog. They didn't explain the difference between wordpress.com and wordpress.org even though they mentioned them both. They talked about hosting but didn't explain how to do it. They mentioned hosting on bluehost but didn't give any instructions. The few tidbits of information that they did give about using wordpress were so brief with no examples. They mentioned Jetpack but didn't say what it was. They didn't explain what benefit adding the social media icons would have or how to link them. And on I could go.

The only good part about this course was the last section where they had guest lecturers, some from Coursera - those were all excellent.

von Ludmila S

Aug 28, 2017

The most useless course I have ever could imagine! Lecture videos are very short and lack of any useful information. All this information may be found in the Internet, no, actually, you will never need this information, because if you gonna make a website on WordPress you will make it your own without prior experience or special knowledge. Or if you will have some problems with your work - WordPress has much better constructed tutorials, than this course.

Had a really awful experience with my classmate - who put me negative grades for assignments just for fun, although I made everything correct. This person was just having fun and himself posted Facebook as the site he has made for the course. So it was not only useless course, but also some very unpleasant experience complains, nerves, my work re-submission and waiting.