Chevron Left
Zurück zu How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course) von École Polytechnique

4.3
414 Bewertungen
126 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What you will achieve: In this project-based course, you will outline a complete scientific paper, choose an appropriate journal to which you'll submit the finished paper for publication, and prepare a checklist that will allow you to independently judge whether your paper is ready to submit. What you'll need to get started: This course is designed for students who have previous experience with academic research - you should be eager to adapt our writing and publishing advice to an existing personal project. If you just finished your graduate dissertation, just began your PhD, or are at a different stage of your academic journey or career and just want to publish your work, this course is for you. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-Centered Courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top-Bewertungen

MY

Apr 02, 2017

This course helps to understand the journey from a writing a journal to publishing it, from researcher perspective to editorial perspective. I recommend to all PhD students to take this course.

SM

Mar 01, 2018

The course is well structured that guides a scholar to construct a research paper step by step in a steady and sure way. I would definitely recommend the course for new research scholars.

Filtern nach:

101 - 123 von 123 Bewertungen für How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course)

von Maya S

Aug 14, 2016

The course contains some interesting insights on writing a scientific paper. What I like about the course is that it is given by graduate students. But this is also a drawback. Sometimes, the material seems too simplistic.

von Carlos R S J

Apr 06, 2016

It is good, but there is a student speaking that is really difficult to understand.

von Robin O

Aug 03, 2017

It's a good course, especially if you go through the extra readings at the end of each module, loads to learn there. The English pronunciation of the teachers can be a bit confusing sometimes, because they are native French speakers. Sometimes the descriptions of the tasks don't appear until after you submit a task, which makes it difficult to reach 100%. And the deadlines can be difficult to reach, because the peer reviews can take too much time.

von Marina I

Oct 26, 2016

The content of the course is extremely useful for young emerging scientists like myself; however, the videos were very hard to follow because the team speaks fast and with a very strong French accent. The materials are well-prepared, but my attention kept drifting away from the content due to language impairment. Also, some of the introductory notes were lacking proper grammar and I believe that, in a course with such a theme, this is simply unacceptable. With a bit of work, I think this can be a very useful tool in writing scientific papers!

von Príscila A d C

Apr 17, 2016

A good course who teaches the way you have to do to write correctly a scientific paper, and gives an idea about the process of publish, it is useful and necessary for those who wants to continuous study and have their own work knows on the fields who works and research.

von Malik K

Aug 17, 2017

I very appreciated making the checklist but was sad that there were no more forum activity in particular from the teaching staff.

It was extremely demotivating to notice a bug in the grade notification and to have no answer from the staff.

I understand that the aim of the course was for the phd student to master its content before sharing knowledge. If every teacher enjoyes learning while teaching, student should not feel as second class learner (first been the teacher) unless stated right away at the beginning of the course. Sadely I had that impression without having been notified before.

As for the energy in the video, it's surprising at first but great. Keep making them so engaging with measured voice intonation and appropriate gestures.

Thank you all

von Olga T

Apr 17, 2017

Very basic

von Wisam A W

Sep 12, 2017

A good summary on how to start thinking research!

von Kehley D

Jun 15, 2017

Would have been significantly better if the course was taught in the native language (French) and then someone fluent in both languages translated. A lot of words were misused or undecipherable because the speakers were not using the language correctly.

Still, the material was helpful and I benefited from the course.

von Jesus L G

Oct 31, 2016

I think it is a decent course to understand how the peer review process work. However, it does not really help to write a paper. I think some ideas are not applied to every field. In particular, telling students to look for the board of editors in a journal and adapt your results and how you express things accordingly, it is in my opinion a bit unethical. Moreover, I was expecting that the course will be taught by a professor, but instead, it is done by a group of PhDs, some of them in their first year of research. If they intend to target a PhD audience, this is clearly a drawback as some of them might know the same as you do. Finally, as some people already pointed out, the quality of the English of some of the instructor is not good. In particular, there are a couple of them that you can't barely understand. It would have been more useful if the full course is taught by the 2 of them that can actually speak good.

von Miren B

Mar 10, 2016

I find this to be very very basic advice on how to write a scientific paper. I can't even see where the "project" is coming, plus the strong accent of instructors makes it really hard to follow sometimes -- even with the subtitles. To make things even better, accessing the quizzes is imposible unless you pay for the certificate. I found the course disappointing.

von Nguyen H S

May 30, 2016

The contains of the course is not really enough for improve the writing skill for scientific paper. Those advices mention in the video is common and that's it. No more practice or example to help the learner understand or apply that concept to their writing.

von Haris O

Mar 01, 2017

This course is rather superficial, it sadly did not provide practical tips that go beyond common sense.

von IHAB A

Sep 13, 2019

English of instructors wasn't very good.

I was expecting more info. and teaching methods on how to realy write and about plagiarism(styles like Harvard style, APA, etc....)

von Jackie M H F

Apr 03, 2018

Extremely hard to understand --sounds like a parody straight out of the Pink Panther movies--, unbearable to follow...

von Lode D W

Jan 04, 2017

Most video's are spoken in a sort of 'Franglais' that is barely understandable, very annoying.

von Roberto

May 09, 2016

very basic course. I would only recommend this if you are just starting your PhD program and you have no idea how the writing process works

von Mercede E

Sep 13, 2016

Not professional at all!

von Hossein S

Dec 09, 2016

Not what expected ...

von Furkhan

Jun 24, 2016

It is a great effort to try to explain writing an academic paper. I appreciate it. And unfortunately, these guys have an awful English accent. It is almost impossible to understand. Moreover, their sentences are so long and complicated that makes it impossible to get it. Nice try but it doesn't work :(

Best regards,

Dr. Furkan

von Muneera a

Aug 24, 2017

it's unclear english

von Ashish K

Jul 11, 2017

there are no tools that has given to check plagiarism of documents.

von Cícero H P S

Sep 20, 2017

O curso não foi feito para pessoas que não dominam a língua inglesa, de modo que foi bastante dificultoso cumprir algumas tarefas. Também devo acrescer que imaginei um outro tipo de curso, vez que sequer faço doutorado, ou seja, o curso não foi feito para mim. Nada tenho a reclamar das vídeo-aulas, mas estes pontos acima tratados me desapontaram. Talvez tenha sido uma falha minha não pesquisar acerca do curso antes de iniciá-lo, mas, de toda forma, as críticas quanto a não ser um curso para pessoas que não dominam o inglês se mantêm.