Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to HTML5

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to HTML5 von University of Michigan

4.7
Sterne
23,702 Bewertungen
6,344 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Top-Bewertungen

SP
15. Apr. 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

AB
26. Sep. 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 6,257 Bewertungen für Introduction to HTML5

von Alaina S

29. Apr. 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the content shared within this course. I do feel as though I have a basic understanding of HTML5. I also became familiar with resources that I will always be able to utilize should I have questions or need to review in the upcoming weeks as I continue learning. I am proud of my first “ugly” web page and look forward to incorporating CSS to liven my work. There were also great takeaways regarding various accessibility features. I look forward to beginning my next course with Coursera.

von Sean H

1. Juli 2016

Great first course for anyone - even those without any coding background. This is truly HTML for people who are 100% new to web design, so if you already know the basics, then you might want to play the videos on fast and take notes for anything that sounds new - then move onto the CSS course for styling. If you know nothing, absorb as much as you can and practice, practice, practice. This instructor is excellent at providing detail and ample resources to get your journey as web designer started!

von Mary Y

20. Apr. 2020

This was a great course! Prior to taking this course, I was petrified of coding. However in order to expand my experiences as a graphic designer, it makes sense to at least dip my big toe in the coding pond. Professor van Lent's video lectures are easy to comprehend and follow. She also encourages trial, error and failure as part of learning, and expects new students to do so. That teaching style provides a relaxed feeling and helps alleviate the anxieties of learning to code. Thanks Professor!

von N S

4. Nov. 2020

As an introduction to web, the course did a great job. You can't learn to code unless you do it yourself, and this course is also about giving you the tools to start your journey, but this is not a hands on guide to every tag and little information. The course does not contain any unnecessary material, also the quizzes and final project is great to test your learning. The greatest thing about this course is, it makes me want to go forward and take the rest of the courses on web development.

von Eren Y

9. Juli 2020

This is a great introductionary course with some useful points on how to pick up when the course ends or how can you further develop yourself on with HTML. Pretty straight forward and teaches you the importance of accessibility and semantic values as you go along to pick your tags to build your own website. I especially loved the teacher because even though this is a MOOC she's really trying to push you forward to teach you something. Well done Michigan University and Miss Colleen Van Lent!

von Kim S J

14. Apr. 2020

Great course for an absolute beginner wanting to learn about HTML. Even for someone who is somewhat familiar with HTML like me, it is still very useful to start from the very beginning. Colleen's emphasis on designing a webpage that is valid on many browsers and accessible to a wide range of audience is very good. Overall, I enjoyed taking this course and looking forward to learning about the next one in the Web Design Specialisation. Thanks very much to Colleen and the teaching staff.

von samed s

31. Aug. 2019

The course was beyond my expectations. Even if the videos belong to 2016 they are still doing a great job.

First of all lecturer is really supportive, transparent and has a sense of humor. <Especially sense of humor is a really great asset for a lecturer :)>

She condems "helicopter parenting" but she is doing "helicopter lecturing". (I am using this term in a positive way of course!) As if she is watching you, she warns about all the mistakes you will make. Take your precautions and enjoy.

von Jun Y

14. Mai 2016

I have been in the web dev field for almost a year. The intro says that this course is not for beginners, but I still took it, since I want to learn HTML systematically. My original plan was to skim through most contents and focuses on those I don't know before. This course goes beyond by expectation and is very useful to me. I feel getting systematic knowledge from it.

In addition to the course content, the professor conducts the lecturers in a very clear way. I like her teaching style.

von Ricardo P

11. Nov. 2019

The best part of the course is all the resources they provide throughout.

It doesn't matter if you learn better from a teacher or from reading a well-written textbook with examples because they provide both options.

The teachers are likable, thorough and knowledgeable.

The quizzes end exams are perfect. You do have to read and pay attention to the lectures but the quizzes are not designed to make it impossible for you.

I would definitely recommend it for a total beginner like I WAS.

von Megan C

15. Sep. 2016

I would highly recommend this particular intro into HTML course as the instructor is especially thorough in walking you through the "rules" so-to-speak. I've taken several MOOCs, as I'm studying to be a Front End Developer. The UofM tutorial is by far the best I've completed, as she "filled in the gaps" others failed to cover. I've since enrolled in their CSS & JS courses; the CSS (I'm finding) is produced similarly and has already been an worthwhile investment of my valuable time.

von Souparna D

25. Aug. 2020

This course is really good for beginners. It helped me a lot to understand the basics of HTML5 and few other topics like web hosting and validating sites and accessibility. The project and quizzes are super beneficial as it improves your confidence and knowledge on HTML5.Peer graded assignment enabled me to witness and review other people's web pages and their reviews on my web pages. I would highly recommend this course for people who want to get started with web development.

von dee-hu

13. Sep. 2019

I really appreciate Dr. Colleen spends lots of time introducing the foundations of how the web works, how code works in a certain way. I did other courses before, lots of them only focus on teaching you writing something seems work, but at the end of the day, I still didn't understand why and got stuck on writing my own code. This course is different, it teaches you the fundamental things, that even web technology or language changes, you will still understand the core.

von Beatrice B

18. Feb. 2016

Thanks so much! A great course and a fantastic teacher! :)

Before this course I was a total beginner and now I know the basics of html5. I can write a working code and know what to do with it.

It starts with an overview on the history of the Internet and its developments, until html5. Explains how to create a basic webpage, writing a HTML code. And it ends explaining how to eventually send the page to the web. In a very easy, interesting, efficient and understandable way.

von Ashwin P N

8. Mai 2020

I knew about HTML since my schooling but never knew meaning behind those tags and wondered why are there so many tags if one can use the other which looks similar.

By learning this course i was able to understand Semantics i.e. where exactly each tag is to be used and why it is so important to use them as intended. I whole heartedly thank Madam Colleen van Lent of University of Michigan for providing the best learning experience online.

Best Regards,

Ashwin P Nair

India

von Gina C

9. März 2020

I recommend this course as a beginner in web developer/designer!

The course contains materials that help you understand and use HTML5. I think it was a good course to get to know what HTML5 and coding is. I really liked the lecture since the professor tried to explain it in an easy way. It took me exactly 2-4 hours/week, so I think it's a reasonable amount of time to begin!

If you're hesitating because you don't have any background or afraid to start, I'd say go ahead!

von Toni F

14. Juni 2018

If your starting from the ground up, this is a very good course to learn proper HTML5.Being an IT pro for many years (Sr. Systems Engineer), there were a few parts which I had to fast-forward, but that's not a problem for me.I had the chance to re-learn my old HTML skills the HTML5 way.Coleen does a good job to make the course feel light, easy and achievable.I will do other, related courses, that will build on top of this one.It took me there evenings to run through.

von Raphael I

13. Juni 2020

I am a third year I.T student and took this course just to freshen up on my HTML knowledge. this course even covers some content (e.g. accessibility) that is not covered in my lecture slides and seminars. very good course. covers everything that my university taught us. for those of you who are not going the degree route, this course is an excellent start. for those of you like myself who already know HTML but haven't touched it in a while, this is a good refresher.

von Shah M H R F

19. Sep. 2018

Firstly, I would like to thank Professor Colleen van Lent for being such an amazing mentor. She covered all the necessary topics related to HTML5 in the best possible way. Its only because of her that I was able to host my first ever website and understood the difference between various tags. The course also helped me understand that we need to use only the required tags and elements while designing a page and keeping in mind the rules of syntax and semantics.

von Eranga L D S

29. Sep. 2016

The course was very nicely organized for absolute beginners. I had done Web Development a long time back and was completely new to HTML5. Listening to the Video lectures and referring the suggested textbook "Missing Link An Introduction to Web Development and Programming" was very helpful. The quizzes were tricky. I recommend this course to anyone who is completely new to web development and who likes to learn the concepts and best practices in coding.

von Harpinder K S

7. Mai 2021

This course helped me to enhance my existing skills and knowledge. Overall, it was a great experience of joining and learning this course. I'm sure that knowledge that I had gained through this course would help me in the future to achieve my goal. Thanks to the University of Michigan and Coursera for providing this course online. Also, I would like to thank the teacher and the whole team for providing such a good content which was easy to understand.

von K. M W

18. Juli 2016

I have taken HTML throughout the years with the goal of learning design and finally putting my own stamp on work I have been asked to do. I always left frustrated and doubting whether I would ever be able to do it. This has given me back some confidence that it is possible to learn. the instructor comes off friendly, clear and supportive. The materials really have me doing and seeing where my mistakes are and I really like that.

Thanks!

von Kathryn D

14. Nov. 2015

This course is exactly as advertised, a stand alone course in a series of courses that introduces web design to the novice, non-computer science major. This course introduces the processes that are the foundation for well designed, accessible websites. This course is exactly what I was looking for. I leave this course the foundational understandings and skills to explore the HTML on webpages that I like and to practice coding on my own.

von Marta Z

6. Juni 2020

I genuinely loved the course. It is very well structured and you learn a lot, especially with the help of quizzes and practice. There were, however, some things which you need to look up yourself or which may be explained later. Personally for me, it was hard to completely understand a part about hosting your website as it was very succinct. BUT I did learn all the basics and want to continue learning. The only advice is PRACTICE MORE!

von Abhishek A

18. Juni 2020

Even though I knew a few HTML tags from before, this course helped me grab the concept of semantics, understand history and evolution of HTML, and also the very important concepts of validation and accessibility. In the end, I got to practice all these on a project that was required to do at the end, and it was very satisfying. Thanks for this course. I hope for an exciting journey in the next courses of specialization too. Regards.

von Marina M

30. Dez. 2017

Thank you! It was a clear explanation. Especially i liked the part where you explained how to create a html file in the folder step by step. (open this, save it like that and etc.) and the part about how to make my file work in the internet for everybody's seeing. And actually i still struggle with making my connections work in WinSCP. I'd like you to put more stress to that, because it's not always going smoothly. Thank you again!