Chevron Left
Zurück zu Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
Sterne
1,993 Bewertungen
601 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Top-Bewertungen

DC
23. Sep. 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS
29. Nov. 2021

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 599 Bewertungen für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

von Yuossef a

2. Juli 2020

A lot of nice talk is said about this training

Organizing ideas and their sequences, linguistic diversity and creative ideas, advocating for growth and development

von José A D G

20. Jan. 2021

O curso muito bom em oferecer uma visão panorâmica dos principais tópicos da linguística contemporânea. Mas poderia ter uma duração maior, aproveitar-se-ia melhor

von Sherry Y

5. Nov. 2020

This course helped me to understand linguistics in a very detailed way. The course was very interesting and lively. Especially the interview session was amazing.

von Kevin T

3. Juli 2018

Thanks Prof. Marc van Oostendorp, whose introduction of human language is really intriguing and insightful. Looking forward the more advanced courses from him.

von William S

20. Jan. 2021

It gives a great overview of a complicated human evolutionary trait. Instructor is interesting and gives good lectures with facts and questions from students.

von sarah

28. Apr. 2020

Absolutely loved this course. It give me a great insight into linguistics and showed me that this would be something I might be interested in taking further.

von 신재림

17. Okt. 2020

This was amazing! So worth it! I learnt so much, and I truly enjoyed the teaching methods as well. I appreciate all who put effort into this; God bless you!

von Nikita P

24. Sep. 2017

Very good course for those who have not studied linguistics before. The professor gives a good overview of it and excites you with his passion to the topic.

von Mehrnaz P

22. Sep. 2021

Very informative. The reading material provided and recommended is also very informative and useful. Very fun instructor with very fun topics and students.

von Trang N

12. Juli 2021

G​ood introduction to linguistics. Gives a nice overview into different aspects of linguistics and an oppotunity to learn more about different languages :)

von Elizabeth H B

1. Mai 2020

This was a great experience!! The content is amazing: all the videos and readings are super easy to understand and learnd from. I trully enjoy this course.

von Valeriya T

12. Apr. 2020

Great review course. This will help to understand what linguistics is doing as a science. It will also help to understand the main subjects of linguistics.

von Stefan Y G

15. Sep. 2017

This is a wonderful course for entry level linguistics knowledge. Whatever your background is, it will fit you and give you great insight into linguistics.

von Michael C

21. Juli 2017

The course presents very interesting subject matter, and the professor and his assistants do this in a very enthusiastic, energetic and interesting manner.

von Larine F A

20. Juni 2017

Taking this course made me realize how amazing the study of Linguistics is. I really enjoyed watching the classes and interacting with my peers and tutors.

von Hope A

11. Juni 2020

I really enjoyed this MOOC as it was interactive and really improved my knowledge of linguistics. It was difficult at times, but well worth it at the end!

von Yerang K

9. Juli 2016

Very motivating lecturer and really satisfying contents!

I am so satisfied with the courese metarial including the module itself and the reading matarials

von Viktorija B

23. März 2020

This is a wonderfully structured, informative, and entertaining course, excellent both for beginners and for people who have already dabbled in language.

von Ángel M

3. Okt. 2019

A great and complete introduction to the exciting world of linguistics, with emphasis on language diversity and endangered languages. Highly recommended.

von Silvia T

3. Juni 2020

I loved the contents and the way such complex topics were explained. I am linguist and this mooc gave me a wider view on how to write my phd proposal.

von Fran R H

13. Nov. 2016

Me encantó el curso. Recordé muchas cosas y aprendí otras tantas. La interfaz fue muy amigable y los expositores muy agradables. Lo recomiendo al 100%

von Stephanie Y

30. Apr. 2021

Excellent course! I've learnt a lot and it has opened my eyes into the vast world of linguistics and makes me want to continue learning this subject.

von אביב ב

20. Juli 2020

I loved the materials! The lectures were clear and mind opening. Everything was with a smile! What a great attitude! Thank you. Highly recommended :)

von Jacqueline A Á V

15. Nov. 2019

Me gusto mucho el curso, me ayuda a seguir revitalizando el idioma Kunza de mi pueblo indígena Lickanantay, agradezco los conocimientos entregados.