Chevron Left
Zurück zu Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
Sterne
2,019 Bewertungen
612 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Top-Bewertungen

DC
23. Sep. 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

NI
10. März 2021

The course was well-organised and very interesting. It covered the different aspects of linguistics wonderfully and prompted me to delve further into specific fields of linguistics such as phonetics.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 611 Bewertungen für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

von Bertille M

11. Feb. 2017

Excellent MOOC! Prof. van Oostendorp has done a wonderful job, asking students and colleagues to intervene. Extremely interesting!

von Gotamist

1. Nov. 2018

Prof. van Oostendorp is an excellent and motivational teacher. I feel like a got a real introduction to the field of linguistics!

von Guaraciara A d S S

8. Mai 2018

It is a very interesting course. The method is so easy and deep ate same time and it makes us think about our human condiction.

von Santiago H

1. Apr. 2020

If someone out there is wondering what a language is and how a language works, this course is what you have been looking for.

von Sarka B

3. Dez. 2016

Perfectly prepared course with a capable linguist and his skilled students. We can acquire a nice overview about linguistics.

von maria k

2. März 2020

This course made me to think more deeply about languages and human. Not only it gave me knowledge in linguistics, but also m

von Huda T

9. Juli 2019

it is a fabulous course. I spent interesting time with it. it is more than linguistics. it make you thinking as a linguist.

von Abhiraj G

29. Juli 2019

Very interesting course, that is challenging but not impossible. The perfect way for young budding linguists to start.

von Alessio T

26. Sep. 2016

Entertaining and interesting. Good introduction to the subject with plenty of links and references for further study.

von Haider A

24. Juni 2020

I studied the subject because of my interest in the topic and found the course very informative. Very good course!

von Matthew J

27. März 2020

Structure of the course was wonderful, and the professor and aides were great. Really enjoyed the course, thanks!

von Oliver H

30. Juni 2019

Very interesting and easy to follow, though the quizzes are very hard, and the fact that it was free was amazing!

von Mario A L G

24. Juni 2016

It is a very good Introduction for those of Us that know nothing of Linguistics. I was very happy to take it.

von Shaun M P

25. Mai 2016

great enthusiasm and thought provoking, I look forward to more linguistics courses from Universiteit Leiden!

von Kian T

16. Juni 2020

that was amazing! i really enjoyed this course and i love linguistics more than before. thank you. good job

von Lukasz D

22. Jan. 2018

It was a pure pleasure to study linguistics in Leiden University. I recommend the course to all and sundry.

von Farid A

24. Aug. 2021

Amazing introductory course to lingustics, got me really interested in the subject and I learned so much!

von Ron A

8. Feb. 2020

Fantastic course! very good explanations, mind-opening. discovering new fields, ideas, and methodologies.

von Diana F

24. Feb. 2020

An interesting course with a good learning environment. I miss already the teacher, and Martin and Inge!

von Akhilesh S

9. Aug. 2018

This is a wonderful and fun course. A must for anyone interested to know about the study of linguistics.

von Alejandra C

22. Mai 2021

Fantastic! Clear, dynamic, entertaining, easy but not too much... Good! I have definitely learnt a lot.

von bokyeong k

17. Aug. 2017

Week 3 test was quite complicated, so I spent a lot of time, but it was worthy. Thanks for nice videos.

von Jose C

3. Juli 2017

Excepcional. Aprendí muchísimo. Una gran guía al mundo de la lingüística con actividades muy dinámicas.

von Karen C C T

10. Juni 2021

E​xcelent course, I learned a lot, I enjoy having classes with this professor and his students, thanks

von Isabelle K

11. Apr. 2020

Energetic, engaging and thorough presentation of the topic and sub-topics by Professor van Oostendorp.