Chevron Left
Zurück zu Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
Sterne
2,125 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Top-Bewertungen

DC

23. Sep. 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS

29. Nov. 2021

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 642 Bewertungen für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

von Shaun M P

25. Mai 2016

great enthusiasm and thought provoking, I look forward to more linguistics courses from Universiteit Leiden!

von Olga Y

28. Juni 2022

​Thank you for the interesting and enjoyable course with great guests-proffesionals and absorbing lecturer!

von Kian T

16. Juni 2020

that was amazing! i really enjoyed this course and i love linguistics more than before. thank you. good job

von Lukasz D

22. Jan. 2018

It was a pure pleasure to study linguistics in Leiden University. I recommend the course to all and sundry.

von Farid A

24. Aug. 2021

Amazing introductory course to lingustics, got me really interested in the subject and I learned so much!

von Ron A

8. Feb. 2020

Fantastic course! very good explanations, mind-opening. discovering new fields, ideas, and methodologies.

von Diana F

24. Feb. 2020

An interesting course with a good learning environment. I miss already the teacher, and Martin and Inge!

von Akhilesh S

9. Aug. 2018

This is a wonderful and fun course. A must for anyone interested to know about the study of linguistics.

von Alejandra C

22. Mai 2021

Fantastic! Clear, dynamic, entertaining, easy but not too much... Good! I have definitely learnt a lot.

von bokyeong k

17. Aug. 2017

Week 3 test was quite complicated, so I spent a lot of time, but it was worthy. Thanks for nice videos.

von Jose C

3. Juli 2017

Excepcional. Aprendí muchísimo. Una gran guía al mundo de la lingüística con actividades muy dinámicas.

von Magdalena

26. Juni 2022

V​ery informative, the language informant sections were especially helpful in illustrating the topics!

von Karen C C T

10. Juni 2021

E​xcelent course, I learned a lot, I enjoy having classes with this professor and his students, thanks

von Isabelle K

11. Apr. 2020

Energetic, engaging and thorough presentation of the topic and sub-topics by Professor van Oostendorp.

von hogenishi

8. März 2020

The course was so interesting and beneficial.

I can recommend this course to every linguistic beginner!

von Nilay P

18. Okt. 2020

The lectures were both educational and fun thanks to the professor and his students' Marten and Inge.

von saleh a

8. Sep. 2019

It was my 1st course in couesera and it was very helpful course. It taught me a lot about languages.

von Shaoyun H

9. Sep. 2017

Love this fabulous course! Although sometimes the discussion questions are a bit hard to comprehend.

von Diana K C C

8. Juni 2022

Thank you for this course, it was great even though some questions of the quizes were kind of hard.

von Özlem A

30. Nov. 2020

An amazing course for those who are eager to learn more about linguistics or test their knowledge.

von Sebastian R B

8. Juli 2020

An excellent course for anyone who loves languages and wants to learn more about how do they work.

von Georgina W

11. Nov. 2019

Full of interesting information. I learned a lot in this course and was challenged by the quizzes.

von Pallavi K

8. Juli 2017

Brilliant Course! I wish it had an advanced level or Masters level, I would really want to join!

von navid e

5. März 2022

This is a fantastic course if you want to step forward into the marvelous world of linguistics.

von Margaret F

22. Sep. 2020

This course was totally fascinating. I want to do more! Thanks so much for making it available.