Chevron Left
Zurück zu Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
Sterne
1,993 Bewertungen
601 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Top-Bewertungen

DC
23. Sep. 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS
29. Nov. 2021

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 599 Bewertungen für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

von Maria V G R

19. Aug. 2016

It was very interesting and you get to understand a lot about Linguistics, considering the amount of time it requires. It also makes the most of the platform, so it's really well made.

von Armas M

13. Jan. 2019

My time with this course was awesome...I learned things more than my expectations ....

thanks coursera

especially thanks to " Professor Marc Van Oostendorp",doing a great job ...

von Santiago N

25. Juni 2018

Wonderfully explained and made with passion, this course introduces us to some basic knowledge of linguistics in the best way possible: by making it fun and completely understandable.

von Blade F

8. Juni 2016

I would highly recommend this course! The instructor presents the material in a clear and effective manner, the subject is interesting, and the work fits well and is not overwhelming.

von Tanya M

14. Mai 2018

love this course - it's really great! Working with native speakers of different languages was difficult but fascinating. Interview with Noam Chomsky totally defeat me. I'm impressed.

von Tammy C

30. Nov. 2020

I have no previous experience in Linguistics but really enjoyed the course. The course materials gave me great insight and some ideas of what I would like to pursue next. Thank you!

von Naomi

2. Dez. 2016

Loved this course! The professor was informative and engaging, and Inge and Martin made the class interesting and fun. I also enjoyed the interviews with other experts in the field.

von Lachlan A

11. Jan. 2021

Very engaging and interesting course that helped me achieve a basic understanding of linguistics. Definitely recommend to those who have an interest in languages and how they work.

von LongNQHA140491

1. Aug. 2020

Thank you for letting me learning this wonderful course! Such a great pleasure for me to have this opportunity learning with everyone! Best wishes for you and never stop learning!

von Karen M

2. Aug. 2020

It is a great, complet and very well conducted course. It allowed me to re-think the way i used to understand the language. Great academic team, very fluent ad very fun to learn

von Marta R R

29. Aug. 2019

Great course! I have learned a lot about linguistics in a very interactive and dynamic way. I totally recommend it to everyone that is a little bit interested in this discipline.

von Ben W

17. Aug. 2020

Very enjoyable, very informative! I'm very happy I was able to take this class, I feel like it very thoroughly outlined the basics of many different types/fields of linguistics.

von Diane J

19. Juli 2020

This course was challenging but very interesting with a good mix of learning modalities. The three presenters plus the subject expert interviewees added interest to the course.

von Alexander S

12. Juli 2018

A great introductory course!Of special value for me were the language informants. Through them understanding the diversity of languages was a lot more interesting and practical.

von Rebeca M

29. Aug. 2020

This is a great linguistics course! It is introductory but through the suggested readings and discussions one can really deepen into the language analysis. Totally recommended!

von Курпас Н

14. Aug. 2016

I really liked it ! It was a challenge for me personally ! Getting the questions wrong on quizes really discouraged me but then I would keep going and not give up ! Awesome !!!

von Timothy H

4. Nov. 2018

This is a challenging course, but if you are truly interested in linguistics this is an excellent choice. Certainly the best one available in a MOOC. Thank you for the effort.

von Darren H

3. Nov. 2020

Fantastic! The course was really fun and interesting. I found Professor van Oostendorp's presentation to be informative, enthusiastic, animated and amiable. I've had a blast!

von Patricia Z

19. Dez. 2018

It was my first experience with an online course and it was excellent! The materias were very interesting and difficult but not impossible. I'm very grateful for everything!

von antonio b

25. Aug. 2019

A very beautiful seminar. It should be a little bit more longer and have some reference to a leading book in order to deepen some of the topic. Is there a follow up course?

von Nikki S

10. Okt. 2016

I very much enjoyed this course. All of the videos were informative as well as engaging. The material was compelling and I think I may like to learn more in the future!

von Sandra E C E

17. Apr. 2020

The course was as exciting as challenging. The lectures are short but full of information. The interviews were really interesting. I loved it. I totally recommend it.

von Katarina M

30. Nov. 2018

Brilliant course! Content was engaging and varied, lectures were interesting, assigments were just the right level of difficulty Many thanks to everyone involved! :)

von Mariana C D d S

14. Okt. 2021

Excellent course! Thank you very much Professor Marc van Oostendorp and team! I've learned a lot despite some difficulties I had with English (Intermediate level).

von Rosa B

6. Aug. 2021

the order of the course with intro, lesson, discussions ... interviews. was great! very knowledgable teaching. it's the perfect intro to this fascinating field.