Chevron Left
Zurück zu Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics von Universiteit Leiden

4.7
Sterne
1,994 Bewertungen
601 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Top-Bewertungen

DC
23. Sep. 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

NI
10. März 2021

The course was well-organised and very interesting. It covered the different aspects of linguistics wonderfully and prompted me to delve further into specific fields of linguistics such as phonetics.

Filtern nach:

526 - 550 von 599 Bewertungen für Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

von Elisabet S

11. Nov. 2016

Sometimes it was hard to understand the concept the professor was trying to make, because some grammatical forms were wrong and therefore the whole concept misleading. Otherwise very interesting course and thank you!

von J. E

11. Okt. 2019

The course is excellent and the videos are very entertaining and engaging. The only problem I had was that the test questions were sometimes confusing and several of their answers could be considered true.

von Yaroslava F

22. Juni 2017

This was an interesting but challenging course. What I would recommend as an improvements is that the quizzes included comments for wrong answers and suggestions what material to re-read or listen.

von Juan A M O

30. Juni 2020

It is a great course. With truly interesting guests, well organized, with helpful complementary material (Ethnologue and papers). The only thing to fix are some quizzes (specially, the first one).

von Pascal W

21. Juli 2019

I am essentially learning languages for work or for fun but this course gave me an opportunity to consolidate some knowledge / understanding about languages and across many languages. Excellent!

von SUZANNE R

13. Aug. 2017

Good introduction to linguistics led by a charming Professor with great enthusiasm for his subject. It was certainly enough to convince me that the study of linguistics is not for me

von Zhibiao Z

7. Apr. 2017

It's fantastic to have a brief look into the intriguing Linguistics. There's so much to learn. But some of the readings and test might be too difficult and improper for a beginner.

von Sara M A

25. März 2018

There's just one problem: the exams. The questions and logic behind the answers are not clear enough. It's an excellent course and certainly, it would be relevant to my career.

von Naija1

27. Apr. 2020

The course was a nice introduction to linguistics, many topics were covered, but not in a very detailed way. I was expecting more examples from different languages.

von Ewa P

13. Aug. 2016

Interesting way of presenting the basics of linguistics. Helps a lot to organise crucial informatinon in one's memory. Lessons, however, are too similar.

von Jianqiu C

17. Nov. 2020

Good introduction course for linguistics, although some quiz questions are asked ambiguously and no choises looks right, and no one knows the answer.

von Nata S

12. Nov. 2017

A very nice introduction, covers a variety of topics that different branches of linguistics study, is not theory-heavy and is quite entertaining.

von William F

10. Juni 2017

This is a decent introduction to the field of linguistics that is easy to understand and accessible to those without previous content knowledge.

von Hazem A

8. Mai 2021

A great introduction to linguistics! Enjoyable although I found some difficulties in some topics! Recommend it to all beginners in the field.

von Sallai K

12. Apr. 2021

It was an interesting course overall but I wish it was more detailed in some areas. However, it a comprehensive course of the basics.

von Mel

25. Juni 2018

A comprehensive introductory course to the study of linguistics. Would be even better if it covers more applied linguistics topics.

von Daniele C R

9. Okt. 2016

Very nice work on the various fields of Linguistics, high level interviews, but rather laborious and time consuming quizzes.

von Paveen P

31. Jan. 2021

The only downside is that it was too short. Very informative and I've learned a lot that would prove useful in psychology.

von Liz J

11. Sep. 2016

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot. I wish there had been more interaction in the discussions, though.

von Franco A C C

30. Mai 2021

E​s un buen curso. Una lástima (y una sorpresa) que no tenga un video conclusivo luego del último módulo.

von Xiaoyun Y

12. März 2019

It is a great course including details and all aspects of linguistics. It satisfies my curiosity!

von Mustafa K

14. Mai 2017

Thank you for your great effort making this course possible for people from all over the world.

von Kathleen K

15. Mai 2016

Material is excellent and very interesting. Test questions can be confusing and poorly phrased.

von Genevieve L D K

21. Okt. 2019

Very enjoyable however, I feel that Quiz Three needs to be looked over for software problems.