Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs von University of Toronto

4.5
Sterne
495 Bewertungen
147 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course provides an introduction to: 1. Basic concepts of The Strategies and Skills Learning and Development System (SSLD), their relevance for every day relationships and provide advanced concepts for participants who work in fields of social work and health care . 2. Basic practice principles and methods of SSLD, illustrated by relationship management case studies. 3. The SSLD framework for relationship management assessment; N3C (needs, circumstances, characteristics, capacity) and problem translation. 4. Core competencies in the relationship management application of the SSLD system: Observation learning, simulation, real life implementation, review and monitoring....

Top-Bewertungen

M

Apr 24, 2020

Really fun and felt like I learned a lot about myself. If you are looking for insight on your relationships whether it is your significant other, best friend, or family than this class is for you!!!!

JK

May 08, 2020

This course manages to be information-packed and interesting at the same time. Professor Tsang and his team engages the leaner in a conversation-like format in each lecture that is just the lenght!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 150 Bewertungen für The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs

von Marc G

Aug 26, 2018

I have found this course a bit repetitive and somewhat common sense. The lectures are choppy, with way too many short video segments. I believe that sort of organization breaks the flow among videos that all refer to the same topic and makes it harder for the students to concentrate. Open-ended questions are also excessively frequent and students are asked to input text constantly even after learning very small amounts of material. This becomes tedious after a while. The contents covered are also very straightforward and I felt like the concept of 'needs' was incessantly repeated unnecessarily. The core of the course is good, but I think it could be shortened to perhaps 3 weeks instead of the current 6.

On a more positive note, one valuable piece of insight that I am taking with me after this course is the notion of N3Cs and a framework to conceptualize relationships in terms of the needs of the participants and whether they are being met or not. That is actually very valuable to me personally, as it helps explain many of the tensions and difficulties that I have experienced in my own relationships, and it helps me better understand the actions and thoughts of my current and previous partners, as well as friends and family. This is a very powerful idea, along with the knowledge that people’s needs and responses will vary depending on their capacities, characteristics and circumstances. It is crucial, I believe, to bear in mind the intersection between environmental pressures (circumstances) and personal attributes (characteristics and capacities) when interacting with others, in order to build stronger relationships rooted in honest understanding that will allow all participants to grow and flourish.

While I cannot say that I have learnt any concrete information from this course beyond this, I do believe that I have acquired a new mindset and the capacity to view relationships in a different light, and for that I am grateful to the instructors for the work they put into developing this course. Thank you!

von Jenifer M

Jan 15, 2018

I wanted to like this course. The topic is so interesting, but it is incredibly poorly presented. It seems everything is very surface and there is no way to properly understand the material because the short videos don't give enough information. lt seems like they are trying to drag information from the professor who doesn't want to give it. The video quality is very poor as well.

von Sarkis K

Aug 02, 2019

The course discusses some interesting points, but the way they are delivered is terrible. Many short videos talk about very similar ideas, and in many cases, the subjects discussed in videoes are not well explained. It's not the best way to deliver this type of topic. If you're not a patient person, this course might drive you crazy.

von Sebass

Dec 16, 2017

This is really one of the best courses that I have ever took.

This course really opened my brain up on why some of my relationships weren't working. Understanding that everyone has needs in every relationship. You have to remember this for every relationship you're trying to create, or continue to develop.

Even the smartest people I know should take this course. Just because you're really smart in lets say programming, English, Science, etc... doesn't mean you know the dynamics of Relationships. I wish they taught this in public school, but they don't.

Thank you so much!

Sebastian

❤⃛ヾ(๑❛ ▿ ◠๑ )

von Zalorén G

Feb 23, 2019

I love the contents of the course and that the students are putting themselves out there.

von Maya G

Apr 24, 2020

Really fun and felt like I learned a lot about myself. If you are looking for insight on your relationships whether it is your significant other, best friend, or family than this class is for you!!!!

von Vichawan S

Jul 20, 2019

The course contents are somewhat specialised and I'm glad it's offered free of charge.

Learning this course helps in understanding dysfunctional relationship and how to change it from yourself

von Cloud J

Apr 03, 2020

The instructor just reading his book. He should go take the "Communicate strategy in virtual age" class also offered by UofT to make a better presentation.

von Amalia S

May 03, 2018

Very interesting, with a practical approach and with many examples. Highly recommended as it offers a good insight on the way people form relationships and connect with others.

von Prolay C

Feb 13, 2020

Excellent course on Human Relationship. I learned a lot and got a fresh perspective from this course, which I can apply to my life to improve all kinds of relationships.

von JUSTIN C N

Jun 01, 2019

The course is a good one, it brought to light the principle of SSLD, the need for self-awareness using N3C and the negative and positive aspect of social script.

von Jay W Y

Sep 04, 2017

Recommend for people in relationship difficulties, therapists, relationship coaches, and teachers

von Professor ( M A

Mar 04, 2019

Thank you so much for a great course and valuable information. Looking forward to having another nice course.

Warm regards,

Moniruzzaman Ahmed

von Cynthia A

Mar 11, 2018

I did not encounter "aha" moments of learning but the actual information was a great refresher and very useful. The subject matter does offer a bit of an outline to deal with relationship differences. The subject matters breaks down elements of differences and similarities in relationships in a manner that one (as a coach or counselor) can follow and apply. The most frustrating thing was the instructor's use of the word "like" after every other word; that was annoying. Please people learn to articulate properly when giving an instructional video.

von Ethan F

Apr 24, 2017

Course design is pretty uneven in pace, engagement and expectation setting. The interactive segments could be better. Also, the core content feels like a hodge-podge of different sources thrown together to support the Professor's lexicon.

von Shivkumar A H

May 13, 2020

Grading not upto the mark

von Emil

Aug 31, 2018

I didn't like this course. The presentations were of student-made level. Also I didn't like the content, it was more similiar to a lexicon of teenage girl, than to scientist in psychology. It was not an interesting course.

von Jared E

Oct 16, 2018

I thought the much of this course was simply evil and the advise to be malevolent, especially in regard to abnormal sexuality. This course recommends abuse. and hides it behind a pretension of psychology.

von Komal S

Apr 27, 2020

If I could give it 0 stars, I would. The videos are short and content is messy. The instructor could have intelligently shared information rather than rambling on. Would not recommend at all.

von Paula C M d C

Oct 24, 2018

Dull. It is not engaging, the professor might know a lot, but surely he doesn't know how to express the content. It's a lot of 'nothing'.

von Katharine M D

May 29, 2018

First week... quiz is already way beyond my comprehension of the videos and "lectures"... I'll be dropping it

von Joyce U

Oct 14, 2019

I can't take the long introductory video before each lecture.

von Muhammad A K

Nov 12, 2017

Boring and monotonous way of explanation.

von Naseem A

Apr 22, 2020

It's irrelevant to me. Archived.

von Neelesh v

May 19, 2020

I want to unenroll this course