Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Imagemaking

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Imagemaking von California Institute of the Arts

4.5
Sterne
2,343 Bewertungen
513 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Top-Bewertungen

LC
8. Okt. 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID
21. Mai 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtern nach:

426 - 450 von 508 Bewertungen für Introduction to Imagemaking

von Hung C F F

8. Jan. 2020

Pretty informative on the subject, inspiring also

von Aditi A

4. Nov. 2020

amazing courses, learnt a lot about imagemaking!

von Karen

30. Sep. 2016

如果有真实的workshop,相信效果会更好,这样的教育形式将在中国有很大的发展。

von Naomi M H

12. Okt. 2019

Great methods for development.

von Khan Z A

4. Aug. 2020

Had a great time learning

von Joy S

13. Jan. 2019

Good, practical course

von Maria T G

9. Nov. 2016

Challenging and great!

von Chathrapathi N K

23. Nov. 2020

really a great course

von Charity

14. Dez. 2020

nice experience

von eder a r c

26. Aug. 2018

Muy interesante

von Alexandra K M

6. März 2019

I't was good

von Passant M T

19. Okt. 2018

good course

von Алина Н

17. Feb. 2021

Not bad:)

von Glaide W

2. Okt. 2020

great

von DINESH K K

14. Juni 2020

good

von Charudatta J

9. Juni 2020

good

von Sister E B

1. Juni 2016

This course gave a great opportunity to explore one's creativity, with assignments that didn't require us to have skills in particular types of graphic expression. However, I also found that it didn't give me the richness of principles and techniques that I've found in other courses in this sequence. I expect that, for an in-person course, this instructor gives individualized feedback that provides that content. In a peer review situation, the feedback is quite general and so doesn't take up the slack from the lectures. I suggest that Coursera work with the instructor to retain the current content, but produce much richer lectures that have concepts and principles which students can put into practice even after the course ends.

von Laura H

24. Mai 2020

I would say this is pretty good, not great. This is my 3rd course from CalArts. The first was fantastic, the second was mediocre and this one is little more than mediocre. Things that make it less than great for me include audio quality, an instructor who sounds completely unenthusiastic, and a learning path that seems strangely paced and maybe some of the material isn't in the most logical order. The first course was good, primarily, I think because the instructor was enthusiastic, and his course plan was logical and well ordered. I'm currently taking a series from MSU, and it is superior in every way. Enthusiasm, great learning path, great sound quality, good video, instructive directions.

von Katie S

11. Aug. 2020

This class is really basic--almost too basic considering the other courses you take before it. It's almost like you need a fifth week of refining images for the final booklet in order to feel like you have created something worthwhile. I think by this point there should be some sort of quality and cohesion lesson somewhere. Book forms and graphic design need cohesion and quality and that wasn't provided. I appreciate the flow and openness and the instructors constant comments of 'this doesn't need to be good', but at some point you need the instructor to say, "ok, now create something you think is cohesive and good."

von Hongjoo Y

12. Okt. 2016

I like the content and enjoyed the process but as this is online course, it should be better designed. The criteria for reviews and assignment direction is probably not too explicit that cause a lot of confusion, and people are submitting very different assignments from one another. It is not easy to grade and hard to understand what is expected. Also it is recommended that you know Adobe Illustrator or InDesign. I actually had to take additional course alongside of this course because although it was not mandatory, it was better to know how to use these software.

von Alex

9. Dez. 2020

Unlike the previous two courses, I feel like in this one I didn't learn anything new. Although I found the assignments quite fun and enjoyable, this course could be summed up to only the assignments which nonetheless can help you practice the skills that you already have. But in terms of direct knowledge, this course provided way less than the first course - Fundamentals of Graphic Design. This whole course could have just been additional optional assignments in the first course.

von Sharon K

9. Juni 2021

I think the course is ok. This course includes a number of assignments which give me as a learner to experiment and create images. However, some of the assignments are very confusing. The assignment guidelines are very hard to understand and I saw a lot of peers shared the same frustration. Fortunately there is the discussion forum where one of the peers post a few examples in explaining the guideline which helps me to understand and work on my assignment.

von Zina D

27. Dez. 2020

The class is great at challenging your creative intuition on the subject matter you choose. However, there is some plagiarism going around in this course and in some cases the peer-review doesn't feel like an actual critique to help improve yourself. It would help if the class were a bit longer and the overarching project had more to offer (i.e. changing your subject for the big project so there would be variety in the work) to keep interest in the course.

von Camila A

20. Juni 2020

There is a big contrast between this course and the others from the Graphic Design specialization. Although the course successfully makes the student create a lot, a lot of images, the content was very shallow sometimes, and the instructor is not very eloquent. So many um's and uhh's and kind of's in her speech, and so much usage of vague words like "stuff" and "things". This is very clear in the section where we analyze visual books.

von Ben R

31. Mai 2020

With the exception of week 4, there is very few added information about imagemaking in this course compared to Fundamentals of Graphic Design. Many of the material is written rather than videos, the videos mainly feature recurring images and snippets. The assignments are a bit vague and it's unclear how to assess your own success. Week 4 final assignment and recorded examples were the one significant piece in this course.