Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Imagemaking

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Imagemaking von California Institute of the Arts

4.5
Sterne
2,147 Bewertungen
456 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Top-Bewertungen

LC
8. Okt. 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID
21. Mai 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtern nach:

351 - 375 von 452 Bewertungen für Introduction to Imagemaking

von J-Man

25. März 2019

Quite a free and open guide which kind of minimises it as a tutorial. However it shows how iteration and alternative methods can help with creation.

von Sarah N

3. Nov. 2016

This course is very good for beginners of using images and need to know how to set images together and anyone did not studied graphic design before

von krystal G

5. Mai 2020

It's a good course that introduce me to art and design. Anyway, it take a lot of time and might not suit for who didn't have basic in art.

von Lana

24. März 2019

I felt like standalone course its probably good, but as a part of specialization it is a bit repetitive of the design introduction course

von Chimdiebere A

21. Sep. 2020

The course was a very enlightening one. I liked every bit it. I would like it if the course could cover digital image making in details.

von Seung H L

9. Sep. 2020

I did not like how less people contribute to the course.. some people neglect the comment and don't read some comment about the artwork.

von Mihaela-Lucia M

25. Aug. 2020

great course for learning and practicing your skills. I gave 4 stars because some of the assignments were unclear and a bit confusing.

von Nannie A

14. Mai 2016

This course teach you to think out of the box and if you have the courage and try, you will take it for the rest of your life.

von Hibah D

9. Juni 2020

The course is incredible, it gives a wide range of options to execute the assignments beautifully! I learned a lot

von Jelome C

14. Jan. 2017

I liked how there's such an open approach to the course and it gave me a lot of chances to practice design.

von Kelly L

7. Apr. 2018

I wish there was more lessons on specific creative techniques. Otherwise good class. Well worth the time!

von Beverley H

25. Okt. 2016

Really enjoyed the challenges it made me face with designing my own booklet.Has inspired me to do more.

von Justyna B

12. Juli 2019

Great course and quite heavy on the assignment part. Nevertheless, this is where true learning starts.

von Susan M

24. März 2017

Good introduction to important workflow concepts for creating and designing publications from scratch

von Kasturi K

30. Mai 2020

very very interesting , highly recommend if u looking for a good course to do during this quarantine

von Eumorphia K

20. Juli 2016

Very interesting through creative assignments you can learn and refine things about image telling.

von Stacey J J

11. Juni 2020

fun course - lots of hands-on assignments and the videos did a good job explaining the concepts.

von Winnie W

14. Juli 2017

More theory and example will give students more detail about image making. Not only a notion.

von Mohamed K E S

26. Juni 2017

again for this kind of course, peer review isn't really effective.

but the content is nice.

von MUSTAFA A

8. Apr. 2017

Thanks for this creative course that learned us different ways andaspects of image making.

von Chris

10. Mai 2020

Great video content. Assignment targets can be difficult to understand at times.

von Kolya K

16. Feb. 2018

Nice course of superb specialization. Wish it could be a little more detailed.

von Lisa H

21. Mai 2017

Nice, hands on course where you really get to the practical parts of design.

von Benjamin g

8. März 2019

Good start for anyone trying to learn image making techniques and zines.

von Osama M G A

27. Juli 2020

It is an open ended course totally different from any ordinary course