Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
2,308 Bewertungen
804 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 811 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Pooja P

Jul 29, 2020

I am so glad I took this course. Until today I was absolutely unaware of history, values of the Indigenous Culture. Its an eye opener, being a Canadian and living on this land changes your perspective to lot many things. Loved learning this course!!!

von Ioulia B

Aug 07, 2020

I came into this course thinking I had some knowledge of indigenous people in Canada. I was so wrong. Thankfully I learned a lot. So grateful for this course. I will continue to keep learning about the original owners of this land that I occupy.

von Kim B

Aug 02, 2020

This course gave me an insight into Canada's history and it's indigenous people that I had never been exposed to. I found it informative, thought-provoking and a wonderful opportunity to learn more about Indigenous culture and heritage. Thank you.

von Vanessa D

Feb 13, 2020

Thank you for creating this course. I am excited to continue expanding my Indigenous knowledge and reflecting on the ways I interact with my environment. I have learned so much from this course and wish all my friends to take time to learn this.

von Roxann A

Aug 03, 2018

Excellent course. Videos and written information are well done. The facts are presented clearly, and the interviews and stories add context. I highly recommend this course to have more understanding of the history of Indigenous people in Canada.

von Brigitta H

Dec 03, 2019

Amazing course, would highly recommend to anyone. This should be a course that every Canadian takes. I have a much better understanding of Indigenous history and culture - thank you so much to the University of Alberta for this amazing course!!

von Elise N

Mar 19, 2019

Well written, very informative this course provides historical knowledge and a better understanding of the past events and how it affected generations of indigenous communities. I'm recommending this course on a personal and professional basis

von Leanne G

Jun 02, 2020

This course was amazing and truly well organized. I feel like I walked away with a much better understanding of some of the difficulties surrounding Indigenous Peoples today and in the past. I think this is a fantastic course for all Canadians

von Mirsad K

May 11, 2020

Really happy to have taken this course. I wished I had paid more attention in middle school/high school and saw this course pop up. Definitely a good course to go over if you're interested in advancing your knowledge about Indigenous Peoples.

von Sarah R

Apr 05, 2020

Excellent! I really appreciated this opportunity to decolonize the Canadian history I was taught and I look forward to using what I have learned to ensure my children will have a decolonized perspective on Canadian history as well. Thank you!

von Sarah M

Aug 09, 2019

Such a great, involving, interesting course. I loved the personal stories, community involvement aspect and how the course intertwined well with current issues. The artistic aspect was an excellent summative piece at the end of each module.

von Mallory S

Apr 21, 2020

Enjoyed learning more about a culture that many know little about. Really opened my eyes to the mistreated of indigenous people, and how I can do better to understand and support these communities by allowing to help their voices be heard.

von John H

Jun 24, 2020

A contender for the best course I have done on Coursera. Among other things, historians have the responsibility of showing us who are are, rather than who we would like to think we are. This course took on this challenge successfully!

von Erin L

Jun 08, 2020

I am feeling grateful for this crucial learning. I will be an ally and help move our country forward in equality and unity. This world would be so much better off listening and following our FNMI sisters and brothers. My deepest thanks!

von kyra f

Jun 25, 2019

this is the best online course i have taken..lots of flexibility in your hours and courses. i really enjoyed learning about Indigenous peoples of Canada as i an Inuit but haven't really ever learned about other native peoples of Canada.

von Tammy A

Feb 18, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, a wealth of knowledge, I cried many times over the in-justness succumbed by indigenous peoples then and now. I have recommended this course to everyone I know. Thank you for making this course possible!

von Chantal L M

Apr 26, 2018

This was a great course and I would recommend it. I learned so much more about the history of Canada and more importantly the contemporary issues facing indigenous and settler peoples. Thank you the UA and the instructors for providing

von Katalin K

Aug 06, 2019

I learned so much from this course and truly appreciate the comprehensiveness and care detail taken to cover so many fundamental concepts. Leah Dorion's artwork was beautiful to experience in the interactive modules. Thank you so much.

von Carol M

Aug 13, 2020

A great history lesson! The information was very comprehensive and covered different aspects of Indigenous life in Canada. As a non Indigenous person, It was an honour to be educated on the history of the owners of the land. Thank you

von Gillian A D

Jul 27, 2020

This was a very informative course and provided important knowledge of Indigenous peoples' perspective of Canadian & British colonial history that is sadly missing both in Canadian & British perspective of the history of this country.

von Cecelia M

May 03, 2020

Every Canadian should take this course! I have no doubt that our conversations and lives would be so richer if we all understood a little better the experiences of Indigenous Canadians. Thank you for creating and sharing this course!

von Daphne Q

Jan 13, 2020

I learnt so much in the course and couldn't wait to get to the next lesson to learn more. Thank you for all of your efforts in putting this together. It has certainly been thought provoking and has increased my desire to learn more.

von Julie K

Jan 24, 2018

This course was thought-provoking, eye-opening and a truly excellent way to learn more about Indigenous cultures and issues in Canada. I've recommended it to many of my friends and will encourage them to take it as soon as possible.

von Angela B

Jul 03, 2020

I appreciate all that I learned from the materials offered in this course. It has helped me to further my knowledge and gain greater understanding. Thank you for the work that you did to bring this course to an accessible platform.

von Kea A

Jun 01, 2020

Thought provoking and well presented. I am very glad that I participated in this class, and learned more about Indigenous Peoples in Canada. Thank you for providing this excellent and informative interactive educational experience.