Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
10,713 Bewertungen
4,213 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

BE
17. Nov. 2020

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

JS
21. Okt. 2020

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 4,212 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Linda H

19. Sep. 2020

I very much appreciated the teachings in this course. It was informative, as a Canadian, for me to understand the colonization of these lands and the effect it has had on the Indigenous communities. It also frustrates me to know that a lot of this has been and is happening and that the education system (particularly as I grew up) didn't teach any of this - it was, and is, happening "on my watch"!

The resilience of the first peoples here, their culture(s) and activism are inspiring, individually and collectively, and I resonate with the systemic injustice that has been demonstrated in this course. I am more aware.

Thank you for this . It has made me a bit less ignorant of the lands and peoples where I was born and raised.

von Monika V

2. Juli 2020

I am internationally educated and had a strong desire to learn about Indigenous culture. Finding this course online is really helpful. Moreover, it is flexible and nicely delivered. I just carefully heard the instructors and enjoyed it while learning. Though at times, I felt a very narrow margin in quiz so far the questions are concerned still in case , I couldn't clear the quiz in 2 or 3 times , it was again thrilling to go over and over again.

I humbly thank Tracy Bear and her team for their perseverance and doing their job so beautifully. I really appreciate Leah's paintings and the way she depicted all shades of indigenous lstruggles against colonism with the help of symbols. Her paintings are really telling a tale!

von Barbara C

15. Nov. 2020

I loved this course. Besides giving me the possibility to approach a subject I did know little about, it inspired me to go on and search for more information about Indigenous Canada. I liked also the structure of the course, with readings, videos, interviews and the beautiful paintings. Thanks to the teachers and their narratives it was easy to follow. I hope in the future there will be more courses on Indigenous in Canada and North America, that will go deeper into the diversity of the indigenous populations, their culture and uses, their worldviews. Expecially now that we face the consequences of climate change, we should look more and learn from the indigenous perspective on our planet and the universe we live in.

von Amber E

2. Nov. 2020

It was very interesting and educating. I enjoyed the intro music to each session and having the printed notes. It took pressure off pausing the video and taking notes. I live in the PNW of the US and while this is based for Canada, I have noticed quite a bit of relevance to this course. In reading the signs and notes at various spots in our area. The information was there all along, but I never understood the information and the relevance so it's been awesome to see it in my everyday life. The information and relevance has been there all along, but it was never presented to us this way in our education system so I'm grateful for the information in this course and would be interested in other courses like it.

von Sarah L

26. Okt. 2020

I really enjoyed this course and while I realize that this is the tip of the iceberg, it was a great introduction and has given me a few things to investigate further. I did want to point out too (sorry) that in the final lesson, there were a couple of inconsistencies - Enspanola, Sask in the reading material is Espanola, Ontario in the video, Calgary Winter Olympics of 1986 in reading and 1988 on video, and Rebecca's Belmore's "Fringe" in reading materials and "Trace" on video. Thank you so much for providing this course free of charge. It really was a privilidge. My first baby-sitter (also my best friend's mom) is a Residential School Survivor so I found that topic especially interesting. Thanks again.

von Ewan B

4. Jan. 2021

This was a wonderful course and filled some gaping holes in my knowledge. I guess the biggest hole was my belief, as an elementary school student in the 1960's, of believing that the residential school system had ended. To understand that it continued until 1996 devastates me. I first became interested in Indigenous relations in Canada when I watched the episode in "Canada: A People's History" that described the British genocide of the indigenous peoples by the distribution of small pox laced blankets. I believe in equality for all and this course further pushes me to teach this distinction and the needs that we, as European Canadians, must work diligently to accept native cultures, land claims and rights.

von Kenneth R

8. Nov. 2020

Was recommended the course as the pandemic and BLM movement surged fourth. I was very little but I remember the Oka Crisis, Ipperwash, and several other events of the past. I know now that the unfair privilege colonization provided allowed for a one-sided narrative. The narrative back then was given a colonial lens that I saw on TV through the news - completely distant from that world and the so very wrongful death of Dudley George. I know better now, and know to whom to listen and who the true teachers are.

I would like to thank Dr. Tracey Bear and the rest of the staff for making this course very accessible, and one I shall recommend as - not the end - but the beginning of learning. Eternally, thank you.

von Caro & R A

12. Dez. 2020

My gratitude to all who made this course for enlightening us so generously with your knowledge, hard work, and time. My interest in it stemmed from being indigenous-adjacent (I first came to Canada to teach and live among the Nisga'a and was very happy to see their history featured here, especially with the recent loss of Sim'oogit Hleek).

This is also informing my work as a member of the Canadian Teachers' Federation Advisory Committee on the Status of Women and the British Columbia Teachers' Federation Committee for Action on Social Justice.

Some work still need to be done to edit the transcripts, however. I hope that time is expended to correct them as they can lead to miscommunication.

Much appreciated!

von Greg O

22. Juli 2020

Extremely beneficial for all people living in what we currently call Canada. An introduction into the history, present and future of Indigenous nations here with many interesting and relevant pieces of information that we all should know and should inform our actions. Could have benefited slightly from a deeper exploration of two-spirit and gender diverse histories and modern efforts, particularly for recognition within colonial LGBTQ+ structures and liberation efforts, however I recognize the limitations of such a short course for such a broad and diversified history. Thank you to all contributors to this course, and to the unnamed individuals who have made the availability of this information possible.

von Joseph G

6. Dez. 2020

Being an American newcomer to Canada (British Columbia), my knowledge of Indigenous Canada was severely limited. I found this course to be an indispensable part of becoming a recent immigrant to Canada. Learning about the diverse, historical, cultural, spiritual, linguistic, and artistic identities of Indigenous communities helped me better understand Canada today and where I, as an immigrant, fit in. It also served as a interesting point of comparison with Native American history in the U.S. when I reflect on the experiences, similarities, differences, and injustices that occurred there. I'm indebted to this course for making me want to learn more about these topics. Thanks for an awesome 12 weeks!

von Karina A

7. Aug. 2020

Great Course, good content. As an older Canadian who attended school in the 60/70's I am surprised at how my education was lacking in honest content, I am further shocked at how legislation in the past and fairly current continues to discriminate esp relating to gender. I thought I was aware of injustices but clearly did not have the breadth of knowledge of the impacts of business, church, and state. My thanks for the education.

The grammar, spelling and inconsistencies in written content and spoken content are distracting. There is an implication on a lack of attention and value of this program that a couple of hours of an editor could correct. It reflects badly on the University of Alberta.

von Somewhere i N A

6. Nov. 2020

I appreciated this course very much. I wanted to gain better insight on the important issues affecting Indigenous people in Canada and this course provided me with a good general knowledge of both historical and modern issues. I acknowledge the difficulty one must have in designing a short 12 week course that aims to capture such a broad range of topics. I enjoyed the lectures and can say with certainty that this course has given me a much better understanding of Indigenous peoples in Canada. I would recommend this course to anyone with an open mind and an interest in learning more about Indigenous culture, history and other related topics. Thank you for making this course available on Coursera!

von Erin P

19. Sep. 2018

This course should be mandatory for every person in Canada - as a descendent of a family affected deeply by the 60s Scoop, this has helped me understand my family's history and reason's why it was hidden - to try to keep their children from being taken. Without true understanding of the genocide that is still taking place in our country, and the systemic push to keep FNMI people(s) quiet and to assimilate them, how can anyone begin to have empathy and to disappear many of the commonly heard myths about FNMI people(s)? I believe this course is essential to our history and should be taught in all schools, be a requirement for newcomers, and anyone enrolled in any post-secondary academy. Thank you.

von Doug F

6. Nov. 2020

This was an amazing course and has inspired me, on many levels, to learn more about Canada's darker past. A past that, now unsurprisingly, was rarely mentioned in my schooling from 1964 to 2003.

I could write 10,000 words covering the revelations, the pain, the anger, the sadness, the shock and the joy that taking the course brought forth but instead I'll finish with my most important conclusion. I now understand that I have more in common with my Indigenous sisters and brothers than I do with the federal government of Canada. An ancient and outdated organization that, through the lens of deep time, have proven to be nothing more than the security apparatus of Canada's extractive industries.

von Crystal M

5. Nov. 2020

Incredibly informative and life changing for me. I finally learned at 50 years old the ACTUAL history of our country which is not taught in our public school system - that needs to change. I also learned that 150+ years later we have such a long ways to go in our endeavour to understand and truly honour the incredibly knowledgeable First People; the true caretakers of this land. As a country, we could benefit so much by incorporating traditional Indigenous knowledge and world views into our current governance thereby creating a true partnership as we lived together harmoniously.

Thank you SO much for this opportunity. It is a huge honour for me to have been a part of this fantastic course.

von Art B

21. März 2021

Thank you for the insight into the situation of the Indigenous peoples of Canada . It is a sad statement when we see what has gone on in the past and continues to transpire. There is a need for all levels of government and the Canadian public to recognize that there has been and still is systemic racism in Canada. As I reflect on the course and also look at Idle no More I do wonder if there is an Indigenous person in Canada that has NOT experienced racism in there life. A very sad thought. Thank you Tracy and your team for helping me to understand the challenges and successes of the indigenous communities across Canada. A real eye opener as to the consequences of colonialism in Canada.

von Susan M S

15. Nov. 2020

I really enjoyed the course. There were some issues I was aware of but I gained a deeper knowledge. There were also a lot of issues I was unaware of and am glad that I have a better understanding of Indigenous life in Canada. The speakers were all easy to understand and conveyed passion about the topics. I have talked about this course and recommended it to other people. Being non-Indigenous, it is horrifying to think that my ancestors received dominion land grants when they moved to Canada from the US. However, it’s really no different than the land I currently live on in the city. There is so much to be done to correct the injustices committed and education is a starting point.

von Sandy M

20. Nov. 2020

Such a combination of reactions to this course: anger, sadness, guilt towards my own ignorance. And yet, I acknowledge with pride, the resilience over hundreds of years by my Indigenous neighbours. Incorporating a comissioned painting for each module is brilliant and very visually telling. I confess still not understanding some of the tragic behaviours today of substance abuse, poverty and the 'appearance' of not being responsible for one's place in overall society, and one's contribution to bettering community. However, the history of oppression is deep. And, I acknowledge this does not occur within Indigenous communties alone. I will be promoting this course, and I thank you.

von Susie M

21. Okt. 2020

The course is wonderful. So much information presented, so much surprising to a non-Indigenous person. (And alarming and disheartening as well, to hear the details about Residential Schools. This horrible era should not have happened and I am so sorry.)

The hosts and accompanying text make learning enjoyable and easy, and the wonderful artwork by Leah Dorion adds extra depth to each week.

I now have a new perspective on Indigenous living in Canada. In coincidence, lectures applied to disturbing activities today on the East Coast and elsewhere, where Treaty rights are being trampled. Thank you for opportunity to learn and to open my eyes to new ideas about Indigenous peoples in Canada.

von Lisa T

19. Sep. 2020

I took this course on the recommendation of Dan Levy from Schitt's Creek! I thought it would be an excellent way to learn about a past I was never taught. It was that, and so much more! I learned that in order for me to fully understand the present, that I had to understand the past. I learned more than I thought I would and while I am heartbroken by the tragedies that have happened since the Colonizers arrived; I am happy with the resilience and the re-teaching and reclaiming of Indigenous culture. Thank you so much for this wonderful learning opportunity, I will continue to learn and grow in my quest for a greater understanding and appreciation of our rich Indigenous peoples.

von debbie h

19. Sep. 2020

I'm 67; I worked with indigenous communities as a physician in northern turtle island and at an urban indigenous-run health centre. I was lucky to have many teaching circles in those days by indigenous Elders.This current perspective has tremendously enhanced my understanding and makes me wish it had been available in my early working life days (and in primary school, among other times) It is wonderful to keep learning and I am now inspired to read some of the resources that are listed. I feel very grateful that you have shared this with me and hope I can continue to engage in some meaningful work with the Indigenous community in the north, As I have been taught to say, meegwetch

von Linde H

26. Nov. 2020

I have so appreciated this course and have looked forward eagerly to each succeeding chapter. I finished today and have made a personal commitment to continue my reeducation for the rest of my life. I am a 'settler' living in Montreal, and while in recent years the larger population has become much more sensitized to indigenous issues and activism, it is not easy to have face-to-face contact. Besides reading more specifically on the subject, I intend to contact Montreal's Friendship Centre and other indigenous organizations for their ideas on how I might increase my understanding and exposure to their members and their needs.

Thank you for the opportunity of changing my world.

von Debra L G

18. Nov. 2020

I really appreciated the format and the modes of presentation: spoken, a text one can read along with the lecturer, images, art, videos, and interviews. Each module synopsis was a helpful review of the material. The quizzes were on point and it was encouraging to be able to retake the quizzes and improve one’s understanding of the material. Very motivating. This was a terrific introductory course to Indigenous history and current concerns. ALL Canadians, in particular settler Canadians, would benefit enormously from enhanced education in Indigenous history, cultures, and present day issues concerning Native People, non-Native people and the preservation of Human Rights for all.

von Allison H

17. Sep. 2020

This course was extremely informative. The course notes were comprehensive and the video lectures were delivered with excellent tonality and diction making them easy to comprehend, follow and absorb.

The course material was relevant and although extremely emotionally disturbing in parts (Killing the Indian in the Child, Red Power, Sovereign Lands...to name a few of the the more compelling topics), it served to inform and raise my awareness exponentially.

Having descended from the Taino(Arawak - Jamaica W.I.) my history is all but lost, so to be able to share the experience of this country's Indigenous population, gave me some context and the will to research and explore my own.

von Anna M G

25. Okt. 2019

I admit to being rather naïve when it comes to Indigenous Canada. This course is a real eye opener. My heart is heavy as I learn how western civilization imposed its values, morals and worldviews on Indigenous peoples.

As a correctional nurse working in a maximum security detention centre, I learned how much our punitive justice system is juxtaposed with the once practiced restorative justice system of First Nations Peoples.

I have also learned how a society that values not just humans but all life as equals, has much to teach us in are present day " throw away society"

I would recommend this course to any Canadian who wishes to have a better understanding of Indigenous Canada.