Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
2,308 Bewertungen
804 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 811 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von rachelle m

Nov 19, 2019

This is really powerful information. Unfortunately, as a forty year old, I had to learn this on my own not through curriculum or media or powerful discussions. Knowledge is power and hopefully this get out to the greater population

von Oliver K

Apr 21, 2020

This course was excellent. It was very well spread and had a mixture of both instructions, narration, social and material 9artwork) interaction. I have recommended it to all my staff - sorry - they are all supposed to take it.

von Navraj S

Sep 30, 2019

Hi, this is not a review.

I actually logged in with my facebook but I changed my email and de-linked my facebook. Can you please send me my completion certificate at my updated email. Which is snavraj4@gmail.com, thank you so much

von Deborah-Anne M

May 29, 2020

This course was very informative and the video's were both clear and concise. It is refreshing to find correct information on the Indigenous Peoples and I am very excited to convey the real truth to people that I associate with.

von Aaron F

Nov 20, 2018

Im in my third week and so far this course has taught me so much. Especially from the perspectives of Indigenous people; which is a purview the elementary and secondary education system do not teach a lot of. Great job for this.

von Jessica L

Aug 05, 2020

The instructors were amazing. I learned so much more about Canadian history and about indigenous peoples. I have a better understanding of protests, treaties and colonization. I know there is so much more to learn and explore.

von Fiona M S

Jun 04, 2020

found this course to be very interesting. Information about the indigenous people that i hadn't heard before or mad me think about things from the indigenous peoples point of view rather than the general European point of view.

von Alyssa M

Nov 13, 2017

Every Canadian should take this course. I am so thankful that I came across it. It has added to my perspective and knowledge even more than I could have imagined. I highly recommend it and already have been doing so. Thank you!

von Luminita

Nov 14, 2017

Loved this class, every module contains fascinating information about indigenous peoples in Canada, it really provides a basic, well-rounded picture of indigenous Canada. Highly recommended for anybody interested in the issue.

von Fredrick B

Jul 01, 2020

Great course! Very in-depth and thorough. I have learned more about the Indigenous culture in this course than I did during my years in high school and at the post-secondary level. I highly recommend this course to everyone!

von Amy H

Jul 12, 2020

Amazing course! I have taken an Indigenous study class back in high school (Europeanized) but this course really gave a unique and certain perspective into the past and ongoing issues, which I find interesting and relevant!

von Gina V

Jul 05, 2020

This course was well organized, sensitively presented and challenging to digest. Thank you for impacting my thinking and encouraging me to continue exploring the history of the diversity of the people I connect with daily.

von Mariana R

Jul 05, 2020

I am from Uruguay, South America. I learned a great deal about Northern Aboriginal culture, not only regarding the history and spirituality of the First Nations but also the current situation in Canada of these populations.

von Paul W

Jul 27, 2020

Very thorough but concise introduction to Indigenous culture and issues in Canada.There is enough diversity to keep you interested throughout the whole course.

This course will help thoroughly in the context of my work

Paul

von Vera L

Mar 28, 2020

Fully enjoyed this course and learned so much about Indigenous history in Canada that I sadly never learned in public school. Quizzes were straight forward, and it was nice to complete everything at my own pace. Thank you!

von Ellenie H D

Oct 17, 2019

Loved this course, had a great flow to move through. I felt I learned a lot was an enjoyable experience and can't wait to see where this leads.

One recommendation is to make the videos a little more exciting!

Thank you :)

von Moira J M

Jan 17, 2018

This was an excellent course, informative and at times heartbreaking. My only criticism, which has been made by others, is that some questions on the quizzes had more than one "correct" option among the possible answers.

von Carolyn J D

Nov 16, 2017

Extremely well organized and engaging material on a subject it's a shame we didn't all learn more about in schools. I am very grateful that such a course is accessible to anyone who is interested in learning, at no cost!

von Stephanie C

Jul 13, 2017

This course was an opportunity for me to re-learn the history of Canada. It gave me insight and understanding into past and present concerns, as well as an elevated appreciation of the Indigenous culture and resilience.

von Dawn M

May 18, 2020

I learned so much an appreciate the span of topics, knowledge, worldviews from across North America. I wish you were offering more courses about pre-contact time and about the changes during initial contact.

Thank you.

von Jackie S

Sep 03, 2019

The detail of the course gives a very good insight into the impact of colonization on indigenous people which has helped me have a greater understanding and awareness of the complex issues facing our indigenous people.

von Priscilla D

Jun 29, 2019

Very informative course if you need an introduction to Indigenous history in Canada. The deadlines that were suggested were reasonable and the length of the quizzes were reasonable. Would recommend taking this course.

von susan b

Oct 18, 2018

I enjoyed learning more of the facts and actually understanding how the stereotyping and racism is still very much alive and well.

I also, feel that I wish our society could learn to embrace the Indigenous world view.

von Trent D

Jul 08, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course. Would recommend to anyone wishing to amplify and support the works of our First Peoples of Turtle Island on decolonizing spaces and acknowledging our history. A must-take course for all.

von Ken S

Nov 20, 2019

A very good survey or introduction to Indigenous Peoples and Indigenous History in Canada. I wish it had been more in depth, but that was outside of the scope of the course. It's encouraged me to keep learning more.