Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
10,713 Bewertungen
4,213 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

BE
17. Nov. 2020

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

JS
21. Okt. 2020

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 4,212 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Cassidy D

23. Juli 2019

I found this course to be full of valuable knowledge that I believe the general population should know. With a deeper understanding I am better able to advocate and support the Indigenous population that I work with. I am very thankful that this course was offered for free, as I personally feel that the public school system did a terrible job at educating us on the real historical events that have impacted this beautiful and resilient community. I will be sure to share this course and the information I have learned with others to help spread awareness of how the history of our country has impacted the Indigenous population so severely that its effects are still present today.

von Teresa H

10. Jan. 2021

I always knew that the public school curriculum that was meant to teach me about this country’s history was suspiciously missing content. It framed things through a lens which left the truth of Indigenous experience out. This course gave a good overview of times and the topics that had such significant impact, and felt like a much more honest telling of history. I am grateful that the University of Alberta made this material available to me and so many others. Its such a generous and valuable contribution to raising consciousness about the past and present and hopefully helps us all toward a future where mechanisms and belief systems of colonialism are no longer status quo.

von Helen S

6. Dez. 2020

Over the past year or so, as I listened to the news and its panel discussions, I wanted to find a course/resource that would help me understand the history and culture/philosophy etc. of the Indigenous Peoples. I definitely do not recall being taught any of this content in school (and it should be in the curriculum). Thank You to the University of Alberta Native Studies and Coursera for offering this course - I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to fill in some educational gaps! I have one suggestion - as an adult learner (now 70) I, and I think others, would appreciate having the correct answer given along with telling us to review the specific section. Thanks again.

von David B

17. Dez. 2020

While I have always been sympathetic to the plight of our First Nation people I lacked a full knowledge and understanding of their incredible diversity, fundamental and foundational world views and tremendous resilience in the face of a genocide , which I am glad to say this course has given me. More than merely an attempt to correct the existing narrative prevalent in mainstream Canadian society, it has introduced me to our true founding nation as a strong and vibrant voice fighting still on behalf of the beauty and spirit of this wonderful land. It has given me something to truly to be proud of. Thank you so much for starting me on a wonderful journey of discovery.

von Alice S F

20. Dez. 2020

I recommend every Canadian to take this course. I have to admit that I was very ignorant of Indigenous Canadian history, and fell into the category of individuals believing in Indigenous stereotypes! Looking back at my early education, I can say that there was no reference in any form to the history mentioned in these modules! So sadly lacking! Every Canadian adolescent should be required to have a basic knowledge acquired through our educational institutions! Thank you for enlightening my mind! I now have a deeper understanding of the wrongs that aboriginal people endure, and how they are today striving to correct it. I now see their world in a very different light.

von Amanda R

16. Nov. 2020

This course opened my eyes to all the work I still need to do to understand the past and present issues faced by Indigenous peoples in Canada. I have never been so drawn in by an online course. I have really taken this course to heart and appreciate the time, expertise and emotional energy put into this course by its creators. A lot of these things I've heard about or knew loosely, but this course really helped me un-learn the misconceptions I took away from being educated as a child within the mainstream settler understanding of Canadian history. I will be taking these lessons with me into the future and will try to steer as many people as I can towards this course.

von Maria F

20. Dez. 2020

This course was absolutely amazing and eye opening. I am an immigrant and therefore the only narrative that is readily available for me is the one of settlers. A lot of undercurrents and stereotypes and reservations are not always obvious to me, as well as the reasons behind things being the way they are, so this was a great compilation of resources for me to start on my own journey of understanding the overwhelming impact of colonialism on my life and lives of others. I have already recommended this course to others and will continue doing so to those who look for starting this process. My heartfelt thanks goes to everyone who made this important course what it is.

von Katherine M P

16. Nov. 2020

I loved this course!!! I have learned so much. I am thankful to The University of Alberta for preserving this history and culture. It is all of our story whether indigenous or colonial peoples. There are lessons to be learned from the past. Let's honor those memories by not making similar choices in the future. I hope that more will take the time to learn about cultures that differ from their own. Maybe then we will have a better understanding of the strength that comes from those differences. I also want to say thank you to Dan Levy for promoting this course as I would have never known about this offering. Good Luck and continued enrollment. -Katherine M Persinger

von Phranc G

21. Dez. 2020

Thank you Tracy Bear and Paul Gareau for creating this course. By combining lecture, storytelling, art, and personal experience you have raised my consciousness. I just moved here from the U.S. and was sad to see the same white male patriarchal oppression here in Canada. I am encouraged by the current social activism, the start of reparation and regaining of native land and aboriginal rights. I am recommending this course to all my friends. I just wish I had found the IG discussion group while I was in the course modules, it would have made a wonderful experience even better,

I am grateful for this knowledge and will always be in support.

Thank you,

Phranc Gottlieb

von Christine V

4. Feb. 2021

I was very grateful to take this course. I feel that it is true clear history and geography that we were never taught in our public schools. I feel betrayed by our Canadian government and educational system for not having this extremely important part of our history and heritage included in my education. I now feel that I have a much clearer view into the Indigenous Peoples way of caring for their families, communities, their land and traditions that I had very limited knowledge of before. I took this course solely to become more informed about Indigenous Peoples and their ways of thinking and living. I would recommend this course to anyone and everyone.

von Lisa-Patricia L

1. Nov. 2020

TAKE THIS COURSE!!! This is a must for everyone living in Canada, the United States and any country with indigenous peoples; especially if your ancestry makes you part of the settlers. I hope there will be a follow-up course, or many follow-up courses (I feel each class could easily be made into a 12 class courses!!) because I feel this is really just scratching the surface, a very good scratching, it's just there is so much to learn. We have so much listening to do. We have to encourage indigenous peoples to be way more present in politics; they are the ones who can show us how to be one with our surroundings. I am very grateful for this course. Thank you!

von Gabriel M

21. Nov. 2020

Great learning about part of the history of this land, to learn about the traditions, lifestyles, societies, arts, etc of some indigenous cultures; the different battles that they have faced through colonization; the current injustices; the movements; and the achievements on getting some autonomy, recognition and respect back. Though the fight is not over. But having this exposure to the general population is an important step so they can recognize, understand and empathize with what the indigenous cultures have been through. A most sincere thank you for the research, work, art, stories, experience sharing, and effort that was put to make this amazing course.

von Arlene H

27. Okt. 2020

I feel that the course was very informative and well put together. As a person who has First Nations people in my family i have quite abit of information but the course gave me actual time lines of events and dates that were relevant to what i was told. It certainly made me uncomfortable at times with the way our government dealt with and still does deal with Indigenous issues.

It didnt "pull any punches" when talking about the difference in the way First Nations and Settlers understood or chose to understand the details of treaties and land claims that still apply today

I think it is an excellent course and am glad to have been able to take part in it.

von Robert A

3. Dez. 2020

I am emeritus faculty in Portuguese language and Luso-Brazilian studies. I have some non-specialist background in US Native American studies from high school and my undergraduate course. As an American with some understanding of Native studies, I truly enjoyed this course. It was a broad multi-disciplinary introduction to Indigenous Canada, as promised. For an American like me, too, it was well situated within Canadian studies. That is, I was simultaneously learning about our indigenous neighbors to the north and about the Canadian national context. Native Studies at the University of Alberta is to be commended. I look forward to pursuing this topic further.

von Jennifer T

22. Okt. 2020

This was an amazing course and the journey for myself was enjoyable and thought provoking. I am truly inspired to continue on the native studies earning path. I developed a new perspective to some old knowledge, opinions and experience I have had, both positive and negative. All contributors to the body of work that became this course should have such pride. It should be considered a starting point for our social studies curriculum design in Canada. I especially loved listening to Leah Dorion discuss her art and process of creating the art along side the course content with the faculty members. Great interviews, great flow, just loved this course. Thank you!

von Daisy J L

14. Apr. 2021

This is a very well done course! I was highly engaged & learnt a lot! I very much enjoyed the pace of the course. I also enjoyed the learning styles via video lectures, the lecture wording, how I could save my notes from the lectures & the overall course notes at the end of the week made for a great review before the module quiz. Personally I think that everyone should take this course & it should be made a part of learning through Canada. This should be a course taken by all Canadians & especially part of the immigration entry. Canadians would definitely benefit from taking this course. Merci, Thank you Dr. Tracy Bear & team for creating an amazing course!

von Betsy B

9. Nov. 2020

I really appreciated learning from Indigenous folks and Canadians. As a U.S. citizen, I've never known much about the history of Canada, despite living along the shores of Lake Superior! I feel like learning some of it from the Indigenous perspective was especially important. I've worked with Native Americans for years and learned much from them. This has expanded on that. I especially loved the live discussions on Sunday afternoons. I felt I was really part of something and hearing from the instructors themselves, just being themselves, was really valuable. Having Dan the token "learner" was great. It was the best experience I've had this pandemic.

von Kate G

25. Nov. 2020

Thank you very very much for creating this program and giving everyone an opportunity to learn and grow in knowledge and history. I have learned and experienced so much in these few short weeks. I have also cried and been very angry. I am now, I feel, educated and enlightened to issues I was blind to, or as a youth, had no care to learn.

Knowing that my ancestors on my mother's side settled in Quebec in the 1640's, I would like to know that they were not part of any problem but shared the land and were decent and respectful people but of course I will never know and can only hope that they were kind and helpful settlers.

Again, thank you.

Elisabeth Green

von Carolyn M

3. Mai 2021

I was referred to this course through a friend. I thought at the very least, I might gain some additional knowledge regarding questions and uncertainty about the history and culture of Indigenous peoples.

The instructors were relatable and personable while sharing their knowledge. I was so encaptured, I found myself speeding through the course so that I could learn more.

I´m going to take it again and with my notes, really take the time to research resources that were discussed.

Thank you Coursera, for making this course available. It is of my opinion that this course should be mandatory in every public and private Canadian school. This is our history.

von Julie B

30. Dez. 2020

Good evening,

I have learned so much taking this course. I was going to mention that this course was originally written in 2015. I wonder if there could be an amendment to the TRC regarding additional recommendations being addressed since 2015 and also the admission of that the MMIW numbers are even greater than known when this course was written. As an aside, when I was 10 years old I had the amazing good fortune to attend expo 67 and I clearly remember the "Indian" pavillion and being very confused. I began to ask questions that only a very inquisitive 10 year old can ask and no one could answer them or wanted to answer them. I now know why!!

von Pam B

20. Sep. 2020

This is an excellent course. I highly recommend it. As someone who grew up on Treaty six territory, I never learned the history of the indigenous peoples who were here before my family came to Canada. I appreciate that the course creators do not present the indigenous peoples of Canada as a single homogenous group, but rather use examples from different cultures to illustrate larger points. This course changed me and gave me a perspective of indigenous history and culture I have never had before. I really believe that this, or a course like this, should be mandatory for all Canadians. And it should certainly be mandatory for anyone seeking public office.

von Dwight H

27. Nov. 2020

I completely enjoyed the entire course and found each module well planned and the presenters provided a clear and concise delivery of the content. The early Canadian history from early settlers to the modern times has provided me with a new perspective on Canada s indigenous peoples.

Professor Tracy Bear was especially knowlegable and her calm and thoughtful approach to the course content was refreshing and highly appreciated. Every Canadian member of Parliament and the Senate should be required to take and pass this course , as they will be enlightened to the History, trials and tribulations , and future aspirations of Canada's Indigenous peoples..

von Paul B

26. Nov. 2020

4.5/5. The course delivered more than my expectations. I have been stretched by information and perspectives that have increased my understanding of Canadian history in association with the First Peoples. If I had Aladdin's lamp, one rub would have every non-Indigenous Canadian, and those to come, to have the knowledge, viewpoints, history, heart and emotions ingrained in them from the teachings of this course.

The exception to full marks is the embarrassing amount of grammatical mistakes (spelling, incomplete sentences). I acknowledge "forgiveness" had been asked for in this regard, but, c'mon, it's a university course! Raise the bar and all's well.

von Brenda B

24. Nov. 2020

I learned a ton about our Canadian history I had no idea existed. Things I learned in this course about our indigenous Canadians history, that I had no knowledge. Of course, I do recall much of the news stories, growing up regarding the treaties, the blockades, but we never heard much about what the cause or concern from the indigenous perspective. This course was enlightening and I am so grateful for the opportunity to have taken it. Thank you for the all the fantastic material. I have a much better understanding of the horrors of the residential schools, the detriment and harm caused by colonization and the importance of understanding and empathy.

von Jessica T L

24. Juli 2018

Although I am a Mohawk woman, I haven't been taught the right history to its full extent. This course has helped me in many ways, to guide my mind and to help me help my community in the best ways that I can. Having this knowledge has brought on many discussions and conversations about the colonization and what it means to be a modern day Onkwehonwe. We are still here, there are some of us that do practice our traditions, and many of us who still have the knowledge and language of our ancestors. As Onkwehonwe, we must act accordingly to our original ways and teach those who do not know, and fulfill the responsibilities that the Creator has given us.