Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
10,713 Bewertungen
4,213 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

BE
17. Nov. 2020

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

JS
21. Okt. 2020

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 4,212 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Michelle V

1. März 2019

Great content and well done in being inclusive of the people across the region of Canada. I enjoyed learning and exploring the art pieces.

von Shajini J

1. Feb. 2019

Very important and comprehensive course!

von Jesse G

5. Dez. 2018

This was propaganda with a major political agenda. Production values were good, but the one-sided slant of the material is inexcusable.

von Sean G

16. Jan. 2019

GREAT INSIGHT TO THE HISTORY OF CANADA

von Kathryn T

28. Juli 2020

It was privilege to be able to take this course. I learned a great deal and believe my understanding of Indigenous people is forever changed for the better. Thank you to all who made the course possible.

My two suggestions for an improved experience would be to first, use more visual aids, soundscapes and video clips to enhance and replace the talking head presentations and second, to review your quiz questions to ensure they are clear and there is only one correct answer.

von John C

4. Mai 2020

I started this course with an expectation that I would acquire some understanding of how First Nations people and "settlers" in Canada arrived at our current state. I think the course did an admiral job of that. The course represented clearly the mistakes made, the misunderstandings, the motivations, and the sad history that played out. What I still don't have is an understanding of where we are going next. We can't dwell on the past to the exclusion of planning for our mutual future. I also feel a bit lost on who the "players" are now, who will lead us forward?

von Hortense B

7. Okt. 2020

Merci! There is so much to learn, and three months pass quickly! I really liked this course, loved the beautiful fusain (?) portraits (the eyes only are so telling...), getting to know the history of Turtle Island before the creation of Canada was very precious, especially around understanding the Treaties (I would believe most Canadians settlers do not know what is it about and even less Canadian settlers immigrants like myself), and the Fur Trade (I probably learned the most Modules 1-4).

I did my master's research paper on Indigenous Women’s Resilience, Resistance and Cultural Resurgence through Activism and Art (Turtle Island), I had loved Christi Belcourt's Walking With Our Sisters' initiative, they are with us and we are with them. This helps me understand what I couldn't two years ago, and I hope that in two years my comprehension will grow twofold or more.

I did find that some of the modules at the end (e.g. Indigenous women and even how certain policies still affect them disproportionately) could have been more through, but considering the course is free and that you are sharing on Indegeneity, the content is amazing! I do want to follow a course on Indigenous art, there is so much so much! From signing, spoken poetry, beading, painting, rap, sculpture, weaving, media such a films, documentaries, etc. and all the things I am forgetting about.

Do I recommend this course to any fellow settler Canadian out there? Yes I do. These things should be mandatory anyway, but can you force people to learn, I don't know. I just think it would be nice if settler people would respecting Indigenous peoples (definition needs clarification) and want to learn from them.

To close, I just want to say thank you to those involved in the creation of the course, it is much appreciated. I needed it.

Merci

von Narinder S S

30. Jan. 2019

A very deep and layered learning with in-depth teachings on the varying degrees of struggles the Indigenous peoples of Canada endured during the settler invasions. I appreciated the geographical layout of how Canada was inhabited by the Indigenous people and how they navigated, traded and established mutual agreements with each other to ensure the land and its' inhabitants all thrived before the settlers arrived. A deep appreciation of how our Indigenous people value 'the whole' and not just how our natural resources benefit the limited few for the short-term. A great course which I wholeheartedly

von Briar E

17. Nov. 2020

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

von Ansel W

10. Juli 2020

Some of the quiz questions were quite vague, with sometimes 2 answers that were seemingly correct based on the course material.

von Graeme V

24. Juli 2020

I found some of the questions in the tests to be worded poorly

von Anna E M

25. Juli 2020

Some quiz questions were not so clear

von Kathryne C

4. Aug. 2020

The quiz questions are badly worded.

von Dennis S

28. Okt. 2020

There are serious fact errors in this course. The American revolution did not begin in 1783 as stated in the course. There is no evidence for humans in the Americas before 16,000 BCE., the course states Indigenous peoples were in the Americas 40,000 years ago. These are serious errors and questions the credibility of the scholarship of the instructors and course material.

DES

von Ryan D

19. Feb. 2020

Extremely biased and left a bad taste in my mouth. Blaming everything on white heteropatriarchy.

von Melissa R

8. Mai 2020

This was an extremely important course, clearly outlining and diving into the Indigenous history of Canada. While challenging to hear even more of what colonization did to the Indigenous people, holding space by learning the deep pain that was caused by the settlers I believe is an integral aspect of moving forward in the best possible way, helping them to heal the wounds. I am intensely humbled by the ability of the Indigenous Nations in Canada to continue their vigilant efforts toward self governance and building even more robust cultures.

von Elizabeth F

3. Nov. 2020

Such important information for us all. This course was eye-opening and should really be taken by every Canadian. The course flows along nicely and is easy to navigate. I am better for having taken it.

von Lisa M

1. Nov. 2020

so grateful for the experience and the opportunity. I am richer for having participated. I am not interested in learning more about the indigenous people that lived/live in my area of the PNW (Oregon)

von Evelyn G

28. Mai 2021

Very well done! Thank you for allowing me to learn more about your history & culture. Being from Ireland and relatively new to Canada I wanted to know more about the beginnings of Canada as a country.

von Michael J

8. Dez. 2020

Thanks for teaching me a lot about indigenous history in Canada. I am inspired to learn more. I just finished Chelsea Vowel’s book, Indigenous Writes and I’m currently reading the summary of the RCAP.

von Erica P R

2. Nov. 2020

I'm so pleased to have been able to educated myself further on the true history of "Canada", what should have stayed Turtle Island. Being able to continue my learning and hopefully being a better ally

von Jo-Ann S

21. Okt. 2020

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

von Candace c

17. Aug. 2020

why cant i get my certificate?

von George G

10. Okt. 2020

For a university course I expected a much more balanced presentation than what is offered on this course. It is one-sided, leaning very much on the problems inflicted on the indigenous peoples with the arrival of the Europeans and continuing to some extent today. The lack of balance destroys the credibility of the course. A couple of examples include the ever mentioned idea that prior to arrival of Europeans indigenous people lived in “peace and harmony.” That of course is not true. War was a central to the way of life for First Nation’s culture. (None of this on the course.) Also indigenous peoples are presented as the keepers of the environment who practice sustainability of resources. Simply saying it does not make it true. The course presents no evidence of this. Indigenous people hunted bison and trapped beaver to the point of near extinction.

There are other examples where things just don’t seem to click. An excessive amount of time was spent defining the word Community. No time was spent defining two critical terms, “traditional lands” and “tribal lands.”

von Donna A

28. Sep. 2020

Other than hating myself as a colonial racist and patriarchal settler at the end of the course I learnt some new things.

There was a problem with the course in regards to the tone of the course which felt angry or sarcastic. I enjoyed learning from the prof from U of A when he brought to life the stories of the Indigenous soldiers.

The story is complex and when the course reports that CBC took down their comment section because of the hateful racist comments in regards to natives ,you forgot to include the context and that that decision included refugees and Muslims. I felt you were creating the noble victimized Indigenous story . I took the course because i wanted to be more informed and actually be present and active as far as truth and reconciliation

I will continue to do this . I would like an extensive reading list to accompany the information from the Indigenous Canada course.

thank you for you time

donna abbey-colborne