Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
4,393 Bewertungen
1,655 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

Filtern nach:

701 - 725 von 1,670 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Candace B

Sep 27, 2020

I really appreciate all the thoughtfulness that went into the creation of this course. I learned a lot and am grateful for the perspective I have gained through taking it.

von Manobhiram

Aug 26, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken on culture and history. Glad that the course was developed by Indigenous People and reflect their history and struggles. Enlightening.

von Lori G

Aug 19, 2020

Thank you for offering this course! It really opened my eyes to the struggles of Indigenous People in my own country. It should be a staple taught in all Canadian schools.

von Heather K M

Jul 30, 2019

I would highly recommend this course to anybody. It has a lot of rich content and some amazing stories! I learned so much and am thankful, that I completed the course. Hai

von Dustin M

Oct 11, 2020

Essential for every settler Canadian (and white folk around the world) -- truly grateful for this course and the thorough and thoughtful work put into it by all involved.

von Simon D

Sep 16, 2020

Excellent course, very interesting and thought provoking. It taught me a great deal, and challenged my preconceived ideas and what I had been taught in school. Thank you.

von Jen P

Sep 08, 2020

a wonderfully executed, eye opening and resourceful course. Thank you so much for making this accessible to Canadians. I can't believe I didn't learn this in high school.

von Mariette J

Oct 09, 2017

Words do not come close to describing the value of this course. Thank-you for helping me to finally know the truth of Canada's history/herstory. I really am so grateful!!

von Elisabeth D

Oct 17, 2020

I am humbled and grateful for the opportunity to learn this. Many, many thanks to everyone who put this together, made it so engaging and layered, and taught me so much.

von Daniel K

Sep 21, 2020

A thorough look at Canadian history from an Indigenous perspective. I finally know the other side of the story. I will be recommending this course to friends and family.

von Daniel M

Sep 11, 2020

I am new to this subject only because Indigenous History in Canada was not properly taught in schools when I grew up. We need more courses like this at all grade levels!

von Douglas T

Aug 16, 2020

This has been great to understand more about the Indigenous progression in Canada. With many great indigenous friends and coworkers I now understand more of the culture.

von Camilo P

Jan 16, 2020

Excellent course to understand everything about the life, culture, nature and tradition of our ancestors through the perspective and experience of the Indigenous canada.

von Joy S

Oct 15, 2018

I think this subject matter is important. Also, excellent. Thorough. Taught by native instructors who give you the real information. This class makes a person think.

von John M

Jul 19, 2017

A great introductory course. I learned a lot and will be recommending it to family and friends. Looking forward to going further and deeper into the material. Thank you.

von Pamela P

Oct 14, 2020

This course was excellent. It really helped me understand that I am a settler and that there is work to be done to honour treaties. The Indigenous culture is beautiful!

von Alexandra C

Oct 08, 2020

This course provides an excellent overview of the experience and history of indigenous people in Canada. I found the course content to be very informative and engaging.

von Mary-Jean C

Sep 27, 2020

This course, or an age-appropriate version of it, should be mandatory for all Canadian school. It was excellent, both in presentation, but more importantly in content.

von Chantal L

Sep 08, 2020

I just wanted to learn more about Aboriginals and the history of Canada. This was a great experience and gives me a better understanding of Indigenous people in Canada.

von Sharon V T

Aug 04, 2020

All Canadians need to take this course. It was informative, socially and culturally relevant. My understanding of struggle, settler colonialism etc.. has been expanded.

von Julie P

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent course. I really appreciate the flexibility provided with readjusting deadlines and more then 1 try on test. I learned a lot and I will recommend your course.

von Simon T

May 22, 2019

Loved it. Videos and materials provided were very interesting. Knowing more about how indigenous people were treated unfairly by us settlers revealed mixed emotions.

von Stephanie W

Sep 05, 2017

This is the most comprehensive course on Indigenous history and culture I have ever taken. I feel far more educated as to the experience of Canadian Indigenous persons.

von Trina H

Oct 06, 2020

Very much appreciated this course. Some lessons were hard to hear while others gave hope. I am glad for the breadth of this course and would recommend it for everyone.