Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
10,713 Bewertungen
4,213 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

BE
17. Nov. 2020

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

JS
21. Okt. 2020

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 4,212 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von LOL C

7. Nov. 2020

The course started out very interesting, but by Half way I became completely bored. Very boring representation. The last chapter on Art was very dissapointing. Being an artist myself I could not believe you talked about the artists for great length, but never showed any of their artwork. This made the chapter completely uninteresting.

von Renato D L

31. März 2019

it was bad.

von Marina D E E

13. Okt. 2020

Tt was my first course on Indigenous Peoples ever and I found it enjoyable and informative. I follow a Circle of All Nations ...which is now led by Romola on behalf of Grandfather William Commanda; an Algonquin elder who has taken the long walk and passed over.

I attended on Parliament Hill , the gathering of the Elders for the Apology. Through this course I now have a better understanding of the history of Canada beyond the Colonial History I was taught.

One of my maternal ancestors who lived in Ipswich, Massachussets took part in advocating for local Indigenous land rights following the Maine Massachusetts Quebec Peace treaty (s).

I now understand how important the ancestors are and I want to revisit some of the modules before the course has ended.

Thank you so much for this course, it has truly been educational!

von Margaret W

4. Feb. 2021

Although it has taken me quite awhile to complete this course, I have learned a lot. In some ways my perspective has changed. I am a life-long learner at 76, reside in Winnipeg! This city has the largest migration from the North (I think).

I grew up in SW Manitoba, in a rural town where my father was one of few professionals. I have vivid memories of the reservation 6 miles down the road, and of the days 'the Indians came to town'. I have story-memories of some of those days.

I have participated in Courageous Conversation programs, the Blanket ceremony several times, and other discussions. This is an Indigenous course, however I found myself thinking (unit 11) of the many other communities of Canadians, for whom communities are equally important.

von Dianne M

7. Okt. 2020

Excellent , well presented, researched, informative and engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed each module and being able to study and review at my own pace was appreciated. Artwork, stunning and well described, kudos to artist Kudos to visuals used throughout as well and the presenters did a good job for the amount of information shared to keep it fluid chi meqwetch. Dianne Marilyn Musgrove (Whyacknook qwe) Ojibway Whitefish River First Nation, Ontario

von Kaisa H C

16. Mai 2020

This was a thought provoking course which presented a lot of knowledge on the social, political, cultural, and spiritual structures previously unknown about the First Nation People in Canada. The only negative of the course is there are no more follow up MOOCs to this one! Well done in a respectful manner. Thank you for the knowledge.

von SYED N N

11. Jan. 2019

I have been enjoying the course since it belongs to the Indigenous peoples having a very long history not only in North America but in other European countries. Amazingly designed course increase my knowledge and I would like to continue reading about Aboriginal peoples in future as well.

von Erin L

8. Juni 2020

I am feeling grateful for this crucial learning. I will be an ally and help move our country forward in equality and unity. This world would be so much better off listening and following our FNMI sisters and brothers. My deepest thanks!

von kyra f

25. Juni 2019

this is the best online course i have taken..lots of flexibility in your hours and courses. i really enjoyed learning about Indigenous peoples of Canada as i an Inuit but haven't really ever learned about other native peoples of Canada.

von Tammy A

17. Feb. 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, a wealth of knowledge, I cried many times over the in-justness succumbed by indigenous peoples then and now. I have recommended this course to everyone I know. Thank you for making this course possible!

von Chantal L M

26. Apr. 2018

This was a great course and I would recommend it. I learned so much more about the history of Canada and more importantly the contemporary issues facing indigenous and settler peoples. Thank you the UA and the instructors for providing

von Zachary B

17. Aug. 2020

Extremely eye opening as a non- indigenous person. The course notes as well as the videos helped me gather the knowledge I need to pursue a profession helping the indigenous youth. Thank you for all your hard work put into this course.

von Katalin K

5. Aug. 2019

I learned so much from this course and truly appreciate the comprehensiveness and care detail taken to cover so many fundamental concepts. Leah Dorion's artwork was beautiful to experience in the interactive modules. Thank you so much.

von Elizabeth D

16. Aug. 2020

I didn't grow up in Canada and had a limited understanding of the history and present of Indigenous people. I enjoyed and learned much from the course and will work towards being an ally. Feels like a good accomplishment at age 69!

von Cecelia M

3. Mai 2020

Every Canadian should take this course! I have no doubt that our conversations and lives would be so richer if we all understood a little better the experiences of Indigenous Canadians. Thank you for creating and sharing this course!

von Daphne Q

12. Jan. 2020

I learnt so much in the course and couldn't wait to get to the next lesson to learn more. Thank you for all of your efforts in putting this together. It has certainly been thought provoking and has increased my desire to learn more.

von Julie K

24. Jan. 2018

This course was thought-provoking, eye-opening and a truly excellent way to learn more about Indigenous cultures and issues in Canada. I've recommended it to many of my friends and will encourage them to take it as soon as possible.

von Angela B

3. Juli 2020

I appreciate all that I learned from the materials offered in this course. It has helped me to further my knowledge and gain greater understanding. Thank you for the work that you did to bring this course to an accessible platform.

von Kea A

1. Juni 2020

Thought provoking and well presented. I am very glad that I participated in this class, and learned more about Indigenous Peoples in Canada. Thank you for providing this excellent and informative interactive educational experience.

von rachelle m

19. Nov. 2019

This is really powerful information. Unfortunately, as a forty year old, I had to learn this on my own not through curriculum or media or powerful discussions. Knowledge is power and hopefully this get out to the greater population

von Jennifer B

19. Aug. 2020

As someone new to learning the history of indigenous peoples, I really appreciated this course. I especially enjoyed the look into multiple cultures' world views, and how the instructors didn't shy away from speaking harsh truths.

von Oliver K

21. Apr. 2020

This course was excellent. It was very well spread and had a mixture of both instructions, narration, social and material 9artwork) interaction. I have recommended it to all my staff - sorry - they are all supposed to take it.

von Navraj S

30. Sep. 2019

Hi, this is not a review.

I actually logged in with my facebook but I changed my email and de-linked my facebook. Can you please send me my completion certificate at my updated email. Which is snavraj4@gmail.com, thank you so much

von Deborah-Anne M

29. Mai 2020

This course was very informative and the video's were both clear and concise. It is refreshing to find correct information on the Indigenous Peoples and I am very excited to convey the real truth to people that I associate with.

von Aaron F

20. Nov. 2018

Im in my third week and so far this course has taught me so much. Especially from the perspectives of Indigenous people; which is a purview the elementary and secondary education system do not teach a lot of. Great job for this.