Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
4,278 Bewertungen
1,602 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

Filtern nach:

751 - 775 von 1,638 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Pamela A

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent delivery of well put together content that covers a lot of ground in the 12 modules. I really enjoyed the teachings and learned a lot, thank you!

von Sasha A

Jul 18, 2020

I found this course very informative. I appreciated the use of interviews to capture the sentiment of indigenous peoples in their own words and experiences.

von kate m

Jul 29, 2019

I can't recommend this course highly enough. So much good information that was new to me. The instructors were excellent and the lectures were engrossing.

von Melinda G

Aug 22, 2018

I wish I had learned all this in school! Highly highly recommended; every person, but especially people of settler descent will gain value from this course.

von Shannon S

Oct 08, 2020

I have taken several Indigenous courses and this has to be one of the best. I like the lectures, the Art, the format and notes. Thanks, I learned a lot..

von Michelle P

Sep 17, 2020

Every Canadian citizen should have to complete this course. What an incredible wealth of knowledge. It has changed me as a Canadian citizen and as a human.

von Melanie O

May 04, 2020

I learned so much. The topics were thoughtfully created and were easy to follow. I took so many wonderful notes, and I appreciated all that I have learned.

von Jennifer W

Jun 11, 2018

Excellent! This course offers a beautiful knowledge base! Should be taken by anyone of non-Indigenous heritage that works with the public, in any capacity.

von Brian R

Oct 09, 2020

So much information. Things I did not know. Alarming way we treated Aboriginal peoples and how we seem to continue down that path. Shameful government.

von Andrea

Aug 27, 2020

Very informative, in-depth, covers a variety of topics. I learned so much, thank you to the faculty and teachers and artists who put this course together!

von Jan P

Aug 25, 2020

I found it informative and insightful. i'm so glad i did this and i will look for other opportunities to learn more on this and other subjects. Thank you!

von Mingxin L

Jun 27, 2020

It is very helpful to acknowledge the history and present situation of Canadian Indigenous. Thanks to the researcher and scholar who are concern about it.

von Robert W

Oct 13, 2020

I am not a young man but have had a my beliefs challenged and questioned which needed for growth

I am greatfull that seeds have been planted

Meegwetch

von Ramona F

Oct 19, 2020

Very informative and an excellent primer for this topic. Course material was profound and easily understood and beautifully presented. Highly recommend.

von Kate C

Sep 14, 2020

Really well done course. It has given me a great jumping off point and I learnt so much. I recommend all people who live in Canada should do this course

von Ileana G

Aug 14, 2020

Loved the pace of the class, the videos and the art presented. Thank you for the opportunity to learn about indigenous history, traditions, art and more

von Isabel

May 19, 2020

Excellent !! Very interesting . I think it should be more often remembered what happened to these cultures. I particularly enjoyed the last week module.

von Amanda F

Mar 23, 2020

Fantastic course, extremely well-written and articulated by video presenters. Dr. Tracy Bear and Dr. Paul Gareau are simply brilliant. Highly recommend!

von Jennifer B

Mar 29, 2018

Fantastic, so much information that I was unaware of really opened my eyes. Would love to see another course about the arts, story telling and beliefs.

von Marie B

Jan 03, 2018

I learned so much in this course. My formal education was woefully inadequate to inform me about Indigenous Peoples in Canada. Sad because we are all

von Nova L T

Sep 12, 2020

This is a course that all Canadians should take, in an effort to understand the indigenous community that was here before us. Thanks for offering it!!

von Nichole T

Aug 05, 2020

Great job communication current issues and history on indigenous Canadian history! This is the stuff they should be teaching in schools across Canada.

von julie b

Jul 29, 2020

i loved and learnt so much about my culture and what has happened to Canada. thank you so much and now im looking for and Ojibwe course for language

von Johan P V

Jul 21, 2020

thanks for putting together an informative and indigenous view of history and culture. i will be requiring our graduate students to take this course.

von Marcus A

Apr 13, 2020

This course has assisted me in better understanding the history of indigenous peoples in Canada as well as the wrong doing of the Canadian government.