Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
4,476 Bewertungen
1,693 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

Filtern nach:

776 - 800 von 1,715 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Dona W

Aug 28, 2020

Thank you.

This course was amazing. I learned so much and it has changed my view on things I thought I knew. You are correct Prof Bear, everyone should learn this.

von Paula L M

Jul 29, 2020

Very informative, empowering and enlightening. I appreciated the delivery method and opportunity to learn more about the History of Indigenous People. Hiy Hiy

von Julie D

May 23, 2017

Thank you so much for such a wonderful course. I thoroughly enjoyed this experience and it has deepened my knowledge about this topic. Excellent work. Thank you.

von Bonnie N

Oct 20, 2020

Thank you so much for providing this course! It not only provided the foundational knowledge that I have been looking for, it did so in a very in-depth manner.

von Becky C

Aug 21, 2020

A lot of this is things we should haved learned about in school. Glad to have finally found a way to learn this knowledge and understand Aboriginals in Canada.

von Andrea G

Apr 01, 2019

I loved this course. I learned so much and it met many different learning style needs. Thank you to those who put this together. It was an invaluable experience

von Emma H

May 24, 2017

This course was a wonderful introduction and overview to indigenous history, culture, and issues in Canada. I'm hopeful that there will be a second course soon!

von Nyna M

Sep 02, 2020

I found the course to be a review for me as well as learning many new concepts. The materials are well presented and the questions are very thought provoking.

von Zoe P

Aug 31, 2020

Wonderful intro to history and current issues from an indigenous perspective that is still missing in our country's curriculum. All Canadians should take this.

von Kathy M

Aug 13, 2020

Wonderful! I think every Canadian should take this course to learn more about the land we inhabit. The line "We stand on native land." will be with me forever.

von Candace W

Aug 05, 2020

Loved this course! Finished it in only 4 weeks as I found it fascinating and informative. I think every treaty person should take it to understand our history.

von Christina M

Jul 05, 2018

Loved it, so enriching. I have learned so much and I am grateful for this free knowledge. Thank you for the efforts and energy put forth throughout the course.

von Rosemarie W

Oct 09, 2020

This course should be included as mandatory curriculum in all Canadian Secondary Schools. Thank you so much for this thought provoking and informative course.

von Bernie S

Aug 12, 2020

There is so much information in this course it brings up so many more questions and the curiosity to learn more. Thank you for making this free and available.

von Janilee P

Jul 02, 2020

Informative and engaging. All Canadians need to be informed of the history and issues illuminated in this course. This has sparked my curiosity. Thank you!

von Sheryl W

Jun 03, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was well organized and incredibly informative. I think that all Canadians would benefit from the contents of this course.

von Ifeyinwa E

Oct 01, 2018

It is really a rich course that gives you intoductory insights into the history and present day circumstances of the Indigenous people of Canada. I loved it!

von Scott D

Oct 25, 2020

The presenters were all really great and easy to listen to. The guest speakers were a solid contribution to an enjoyable experience. Thanks to all involved!

von Siok L

Oct 09, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed the course and learnt much from it. It is very informative and provides a good start to understanding more of indigenous Canada.

von Maria G

Sep 03, 2020

I found this course to be very educational. What I learned in school about indigenous culture was essentially nonexistent. Thanks for making this available.

von Pamela A

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent delivery of well put together content that covers a lot of ground in the 12 modules. I really enjoyed the teachings and learned a lot, thank you!

von Sasha A

Jul 18, 2020

I found this course very informative. I appreciated the use of interviews to capture the sentiment of indigenous peoples in their own words and experiences.

von kate m

Jul 29, 2019

I can't recommend this course highly enough. So much good information that was new to me. The instructors were excellent and the lectures were engrossing.

von Melinda G

Aug 22, 2018

I wish I had learned all this in school! Highly highly recommended; every person, but especially people of settler descent will gain value from this course.