Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
2,308 Bewertungen
804 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 811 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Dree

Apr 19, 2019

Excellent course that presents a lot of information. I had to do some background reading in a few lessons because (as an American) my knowledge of Canadian history is limited. I especially appreciate how this course covers largely the 20th century and into the 21st, and covers the arts as well as treaties and laws.

von Susan G

Jul 20, 2020

A real eye-opening course and great introduction to the study of Indigenous Canada. It helped start to fill in the many large gaps that are missing from my knowledge of the Indigenous peoples of Canada, and has prompted me to engage in further Indigenous studies. Thank you for offering this very essential course!

von Brandon T

Jan 17, 2020

This course was much more than I expected. Being of Indigenous descent myself, the course has certainly opened my eyes and paved a path forward in my life. It has given me a rich appreciation for Canada's Indigenous people, past, present and future. I feel deeply moved and forever changed because of the course.

von Janelle S

Jul 20, 2020

Really interesting content, with a ton of variety and in an appropriate order. The videos were well done relative to most Coursera courses I’ve participated in. The addition of the artist segments each week is an interesting way of seeing the information take life. I would absolutely recommend this course.

von Danna E M

Apr 02, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and I would like to learn more. I would have liked to see more old photos from history files. I feel the Canadian public schools should really teach our children this history! Thank you to the advocacy groups for your fight to protect the lands and keep our government accountable.

von Candace C

Jul 13, 2020

Really fell in love with Indigenous studies while taking this course! This has helped me educate myself on not only our true history but also on our modern political climate. I suggest this course to anyone and everyone that might be passionate about humanities with the focus on Canadian Indigenous history.

von Louise A

Sep 07, 2019

I have learned so much over these last 12 weeks that I am continuing my learning and am reading much from my local library and am speaking to Elders at my workplace to futher my depth of knowledge. Thank you so much for the insights and for opening my eyes to the history of the Indigenous peoples of Canada.

von Derek R S

Oct 10, 2019

Very eye-opening for me. I grew up in Southern Alberta, which is very much Indigenous territory, so I grew up around Aboriginal people and know more about their culture than other people around the world do on average. But, even with that background, I learned lots, and as a result, I loved the course.

von Eyren U

Oct 10, 2019

I thought it was engaging, enlightening and full of positive takeaways that are applicable in a multitude of ways. Learning more about Indigenous matters through their voice and eyes and teachings was very important and insightful. I think this course is essential and am so happy that I took it!

von Christine B

Jan 28, 2018

In depth general yet well-informed, documented, and presented materials, and mandatory knowledge on Indigenous Canada. Thank you for speaking slowly! And brava to Leah Dorion for her painted stories! This was a wonderful course, Dr. Tracy Bear, Dr. Paul Gareau, and every invited presenter guests!

von Lara R

Jul 05, 2017

This is a brilliant, and highly important, course for all who live in Canada to take. This also suits those abroad who should understand the deep and powerful cultural resistance and expressions of Aboriginal peoples in North America - and beyond. Everyone needs to have done this course, truly.

von Debora L M

Jul 28, 2020

I thought the course was excellent. In the last Module 12 Living Traditions: Expressions in Pop Culture and Art I would of liked to see the artwork of the artist's that were spoken about. This would have enhanced this module. Overall I really enjoyed the lessons as a Haudenosaunee and Kanienke

von Juan D G M

Apr 12, 2020

It was interesting to learn from artistic, symbolic and storytelling points of view the alternative historical development of indigenous peoples and colonialism in Canada. I recommend this course for those who want to learn about First Nations, Métis, Inuit and Aboriginal culture and history.

von Shane P

Apr 10, 2020

The content throughout the course was very informative. The content and language was also very accessible throughout the course. The design and topics covered in the course provided insight on how the historical and past events influence contemporary and present issues Indigenous peoples face.

von stephanie l

Mar 31, 2019

This course provided me with a information regarding Indigenous Health that will help guide me as a Mental Health Nurse working in Toronto. I wish Indigenous Health and History was mandatory and taught extensively growing up. Thank you for putting this together to help educate future leaders.

von Suzanne B

Jul 22, 2020

I enjoyed this course immensely! It was so informative and opened my eyes to many of the injustices I wasn’t fully aware of. I feel much more confident in moving forward to learning and understanding more of the issues the indigenous communities face.

Thank you for sharing this.

Sue Bradbury

von Sarah H

Jul 09, 2020

Amazing course. As a Non-Indigenous person with only a vague understanding of Indigenous Peoples history this really open my eyes to both the past and present of Indigenous Peoples. I truly believe this course should be made a mandatory component of the high school curriculum across Canada.

von Madeline B

Jul 09, 2020

This course was eye opening and really incredible. I was blown away by how much I learned and will be taking with me as a Canadian. I am inspired to learn more and to volunteer at my local Friendship Center. Thank you to the U of A for facilitating this important and wonderful course.

von Jennifer M

May 21, 2020

I found this course so informative and interesting! While I realize that one overview course can never completely touch on all the issues, I found that the basic knowledge outlined here will help me as I interact as a fellow Canadian with my Indigenous neighbors. Thank you so much!

von stefan c

May 30, 2020

Loved the course. The course has given me a very different perspective on who the indigenous people of Canada are and how they where ignored when settlers came to their lands. Very eye opening. Loved the art work by Leah Dorion, it beautifully complimented the lessons. Well done!!

von Tammy G

Apr 11, 2018

This is one of the best courses I have ever attended. It was so well researched, designed and constructed that I have recommended it to everyone I know. should be a mandatory course for all Canadians - settlers, new immigrants and indigenous - everyone can learn from this course.

von Tania J

Apr 14, 2020

I am thrilled to see such an immense amount of truthful information in this module, as a First Nations student, it is great to see this course available to those who wish to educate themselves further on the history of Indigenous peoples and understanding intergenerational trauma.

von Carolyn S

Feb 02, 2018

Great course! Very interesting and informative. I wish there were more. The only thing I missed about it was some kind of pronunciation sheet or listing for the various Indigenous names and words. It would make the readings a bit easier. I highly recommend this course to everyone!

von Karthiha R

Feb 29, 2020

This course is a must take if you call yourself a resident of Canada. I loved being enriched with this country's history and at the same time saddened by the indigenous peoples' struggle. There's a lot more to learn still but this is a start. Thank you for offering this course.

von Louise I

Jul 12, 2020

A very interesting insight into Canadian history and indigeneity - I would recommend it to everyone. The course touches on certain key topics but makes you aware that there is a wealth of more knowledge and understanding we should avail ourselves of. I can't wait to learn more!