Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
1,164 Bewertungen
380 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

Filtern nach:

351 - 375 von 381 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Vinzenz R

Aug 03, 2017

This is a great course. It provides a good overview of the history of indigenous people before and after contact, as well as contemporary issues.

von Naylinn H

Feb 27, 2018

This course help me compare my own country's situation.

von Mark C

Mar 14, 2018

Was a good hard look at what Canada was and is from a different perspective than one I usually see it from. I was challenged to think about Canadian history and the relationships between people living here.

von Lydia H

Jun 28, 2017

This was an excellent and informative course. At times it was a little broad but I appreciated all the interviews they did with subject-matter experts -- really felt cohesive and I learnt a lot.

von Jacqueline S

Sep 04, 2017

It was very interesting but some videos were really long and difficult to understand. Plus the questions sometimes were trick questions which I personally don't think are really helpful with the learning and understanding process.

von Tiarra K

May 03, 2018

I think the content of the course was fantastic, easy to understand and yet added depth to my understanding of Canadian history. I wish every Canadian would take this course! The only thing I would change is having more visual examples of the art described in the last segment such as "Walking with our sisters" and "Trace" because it would have added some context to the unit on Art but now I can continue my own personal research. Thank you for making this course so easily accessible for everyone!

von Joshua A

Jul 01, 2018

Ce cour m'a permis de mieux comprendre la réalité actuelle des autochtones causé par l'arrivée des européens. Les conséquences des pensionnats autochtones et des tentatives d'assimilation du gouvernement Canadien envers les Premières Nation du Canada.

von Katie M

May 11, 2018

The course was very good. It was delivered in a way that is easy to understand and follow along. The only thing i suggest is for the test questions to be in order in which they appear in the videos. I found that I was contently flipping back and forth between the first and middle part of the course notes.

Overall a excellent program

von Marianne H

May 21, 2018

I've never really known much about Canada at all, not being Canadian myself, and its first inhabitants who were there before the European arrivals were a closed book to me, but this course has been truly enlightening as well as interesting. I particularly liked the works of art with their accompanying explanatory videos at the end of each unit.

von Cole N

May 08, 2018

Really good overview of Indigenous history and culture in Canada. I thought there was a little bit too much focus in the questions on remembering names rather than important concepts, but I learned a lot and it challenged my worldview.

von Wasan Z

Apr 29, 2019

a lot of great material, learned tons... the layout how this was presented is easy to follow on the computer, phone an

von david b

Jun 25, 2019

A fantastic and insightful look at indigeneity in Canada. Thank you!

von Marcia K

Jul 30, 2019

This course is definitely an introductory course that occasionally over-simplifies. However, it does offer an excellent alternate perspective to events taught to me in public school from Kindergarten to University. The events, characters and times are easily recognizable, it is the different perspective that makes this course fascinating. The lessons on Gender and Art were particularly interesting to me. I would take a course on Lesson 12 alone. Perhaps that could be the next University of Alberta Coursera offering?! All the visual materials also made this course engaging. Thank you for taking the time to prepare this course.

von Wendy M

May 21, 2019

As a complete beginner to a subject I shamefully should know more about, I thought it was a very comprehensive and informative introduction. If its purpose was to inspire me to want to know more, it worked! Thank you!

von Katherine B

May 23, 2019

I really enjoyed to learn of all the little things that made Canada the way it was and the changes that our Indigenous people are making .

von Reagan D

Aug 21, 2019

I loved it. I'm from Alabama and work with Indigenous peoples all over Canada. This is an amazing course that we will use as we bring people in to our ministry as a first thing to complete. Thanks so much for doing this!

von Stefanie T

Aug 27, 2019

I enjoyed the learning and the content, but the format became repetitive. it would have been nice to have other activities and types of presentations rather than just videos of people talking and a reading overview in each module.

von Andrew J

Jul 09, 2019

Very effective learning methods including great videos! Helped me greatly to improve my understanding and awareness of Indigenous issues in Canada, the history etc. Thanks!

von Margaux P

Oct 03, 2019

Very interesting with good orators. Maybe a bit too long from time to time but it feels so good to have such a large view on the history and culture of Indigenous Canadians. Thanks!

von Deborah M

Oct 06, 2019

I learned quite a bit in the course. I found out that even as a metis person, I had many misconceptions about current issues and history.

von Paula B

Feb 15, 2019

I really enjoyed the course and I feel that I learned a lot from it, but I found that the quality of the lectures and the course reading materials, as well as the quizzes, went down toward the end of the course, in particular in the last three modules, and that some of the information presented was superficial and perhaps one-sided.

von Jillian P

Oct 25, 2018

There was a great amount of insightful information; however, I found the quizzes to be rather difficult. Many of the questions were worded in a way that made it nearly impossible to be 100% sure about your answers.

von Karen L C

Jun 17, 2018

Good info on the early years of contact and the fur trade. Nice imagery. I was not in agreement with some of the material, finding a fraction of it inaccurate. For example, the statement made that there was less logging since certain indigenous / provincial / federal agreements were made on the northwest coast is not accurate.

von Caelyn M

Aug 18, 2017

Some really interesting material. It changed my views on things like the economy of Canada in its earliest days and the relationship between resource extraction and colonialism. I really appreciated the inclusion of first nations feminists and of queer indigenous people. It felt a bit shallow though, and I would have appreciate greater depth. I hope there will more MOOCs on indigenous issues.

von Jonas J

Dec 20, 2017

I'm Metis and I'm really disappointed in this course. Indian history is amazing, from the slave trading Haida navy to the cannibalistic tendencies of the Iroquois and Kwakiutl, Indians were dynamic and efficient stone age warriors, hunters, and killers. But you would never know it from this course. The politically correct presenters portray the Indians as peace loving beatniks who had their love-in trampled by land robbing immigrants.