Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
1,338 Bewertungen
437 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 438 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von 戚兆禹

Feb 11, 2019

very coool

von Natasha L

Apr 16, 2018

I am really glad I enrolled in this course offered by the faculty! I learned so much more clarity over indigenous perspective in relation to world views, historical significance past and present and future more than I thought I knew. I enjoyed each lessons and I really loved the interviews and the art work discussions that were in each module. The teachers spoke at a great speed and with great tone that felt personal like I was sitting with my family and having a family member explain and teaching me cultural life lessons,even the very hard parts with the missing and murdered women,to enfranchisement, assimilation and residential schools,there is just so much more understanding and open learning that I only wish was a standard in schools because although some horrifying history and on going struggles,I think would really open the door for trying to see how our daily living without a thought about what it means to be living in the modern world on the lands of those who already occupied and have had an integral connection to their lands,has been impacted and how we can return to a way of mutual respect and equalitarian ways and having a good platform that opens up discussions about what this means. None of the lessons felt like one sided view point or heavily political,or like an ulterior agenda,even while discussing those very things from the indigenous perspective. It was well put together for each module and just let's you learn as best as can be explained and shared so much history,insight and understanding and respect into indigenous Canada.

von Rachel T

Mar 29, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. As a white settler, you only really hear about some of these issues in passing and I'm really disapointed in our school system that still hasn't been changed to teach EVERYONE about our terrible history. This course really helped open my eyes to the issues I only ever hear in passing. It was nice to have some more context for things, and although I understand that this is an introductory course I found some of the information given too shallow, vague, or simplified. I would really love even more information, examples, and history to be given in each lesson.

I would also love more information to be provided on reconciliation and how white settlers can help achieve this. A main sentiment that comes up in conversation is that we would like to do our part to be allies and to help right wrongs and move towards reconciliation, but how to do that is always vague. Questions about whether or not it's proper for us to continue doing something are never answered, and I understand we need to consult elders to gain their insight and perspectives on how to do that, but most of us have no clue how to reach out to elders to begin that process or in some cases, even us reaching out and asking those questions is not wanted.

Overall I enjoyed the course, it was a great starting point to begin delving further into this topic. Thank you very much.

von Finding M

Jan 22, 2020

Thank you Dr. Tracy Bear and Dr. Paul Gareau, and Leah Dorion and all the people who developed the course materials. There is so much learning packaged so efficiently, and I learned so much. I wish I had something like this to take when I first arrived in Canada as a modern settler. This course should be mandatory for everyone living Canada and for all the new settlers, but especially for politicians, anyone working for government, public institutions and in private sector companies that have anything to do with Indigenous peoples, the land, the environment and so much more.

Of course, I'm basing that on the assumption that the more one learns about one's impact on people and the world the less inclined we would be to do harm. That probably sounds naive. But more learning would be a good place to start - for us all!

This course is a good way to learn, among other things, how modern settlers are co-opted into and benefit from the structure of lies, betrayal, violence and theft that is the ongoing colonization project.

It was inspiring and deeply moving to learn about the many ways in which Indigenous peoples have been resisting colonization and remained strong and grounded. The least we can do as non-Indigenous settlers is to follow their lead to hold the Canadian government, its institutions and private sector accountable.

Thank you.

von Anthony C

Apr 23, 2018

This course was so helpful in providing a new perspective on Canada's colonial past and the struggle of Indigenous people since their first encounters with Europeans. Acknowledging the mistakes of these encounters and the crimes since (i.e. residential schools, racism) is critical to help form a new and continued partnership with between Indigenous peoples and Canadian settlers. It was a pleasure to learn about the diversity of many tribes and their social, intellectual and artistic gifts. If "education is the new buffalo" then we all have much to learn from Indigenous people in all environments and in particular their harmony with nature in time of climate change. I will be reflecting on the stories, events and powerful voices I have heard in the course. As a teacher of Canadian History, this course will be valuable as a continued resource to help my students explore Indigenous worldviews, critically examine the colonial perspective and have a greater understanding of the many themes, struggles and triumphs presented by the artists, scholars and leaders. Overall, this course provides a unique experience for those interested in escaping a colonial worldview and hearing the diverse voices of Indigenous Canada as they grapple with the past and adapt to today and in the future. I look forward to learning more.

von Christopher A

Nov 20, 2019

I found this course to be insightful , interactive and relevant concerning the issues both past and present facing Indigenous communities. This presentation outlining the traditions , struggles and contributions of First Nations peoples was illustrated in a meaningful manner.

As it relates to First Nations, understanding history, culture and tradition with any community is how current and future generations connect with the past and preserve the future. As a Canadian myself, recognizing the challenges faced by First Nations peoples is an important reminder as to the rehabilitative work that needs to be progressive in eliminating the barriers and social constructs that have impacted these communities. The first step is learning about First Nations peoples and I believe this course has succeeded in its endeavor to educate myself and I trust, many others.

For anyone interested in growing as an individual and passionate about how you can make a difference in these communities, I would encourage you to take this course, immerse yourself in the culture and actively participate in these communities.

Thank you to the university instructors, facilitators and First Nations Community for making this course possible.

-Chris-

von Gabrielle D

Jul 05, 2017

In June 2017, I was extermely lucky to visit Mashteuiatsh, a First Nations reserve in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec, Canada. It was a life-changing experience and upon my return to San Francisco, CA I came across this course. I really wanted to understand more and this course has met my expectations beyond my wildest dreams. It's very well done, both intellectually challenging and emotionally powerful. I look forward every week to the new content. I would recommend it to anybody who lives in the Americas and like me is Caucasian and "had no idea". There is another reason why I really enjoy this course : I have been many times to Canada and some of my best friends are Canadians. This course is an excellent introduction to the history of their country. As a conclusion, this is one of the most interesting classes I have ever taken on line.

von Leanna B

Aug 22, 2019

I am white and my ancestors are colonizers. I took this course because I realized how ignorant I was to Indigenous history in Canada. I read stories in the media that I did not understand and wished to seek out a better education. Anything that I learned in the public school system, which was limited to begin with, was post-colonialization and from the perspective of Europeans. Since taking this course and having many conversations about it with my mom, who is currently in grad school, she decided to take an Indigenous Studies class herself. I have also been able to apply to newfound knowledge to conversations with other non-Indigenous folks and have really productive dialogue. I hope to continue the conversation, respect the land I inhabit and be an ally for this community. Many thanks for creating this fantastic course.

von Michael H

Jun 12, 2017

I wanted to follow up on the TRC recommendations and become much more aware of historical and contemporary issues faced by indigenous peoples in a Canadian context. I thought this would a good course for accomplishing this. It was a great course!!!! I learned so much in this course and it was easy to do so even as a busy professional. I encourage everyone to take this course. As we celebrate the Canada 150, we should be aware that we are many nations and a smaller part of a much bigger family with a much greater shared destiny. We must find ways to be much more aware of our colonial past and strive toward a much more inclusive future. There is much to learn and this course is a great survey course for getting started. To the course instructors and organizers - Thank you very much, Merci beaucoup, and apijigo megwich!

von Jamies J L N

May 01, 2019

Thank you professors for your time and effort to create this wonderful course. I also graduated from the University of Alberta, and is proud to have these talented teachers who provide the amazing Indigenous Canada course which expands my knowledge in Indigenous history, art and culture. I have learned the traumas and unfair treatment that Indigenous People have faced in Canada, and feel empathetic about their experiences. Some ethnic minorities such as the Chinese has experienced racism before too, such as the Head Tax and Chinese Exclusion Act. I would like to work with Indigenous People in the future to hopefully change their lives to the better. May you continue to create another inspiring course in a different angle or topics, so we can explore more of the unknown of our First Nations People.

von KAMALA R

Feb 04, 2018

I think this course should be part of our mandatory mainstream education. Although I had some superficial familiarity with the course content through Social Studies education in 1980s Alberta, a lot of this content was delivered expertly to someone with fresh eyes, perspective, and enthusiasm for learning the truth about indigenous peoples, history, and culture. As a resident living in unceded territory of Tsleil-Waututh First Nation, I believe it is my duty to learn as much as I can in honour of the indigenous people's contributions to this land, and for the debt of gratitude we owe to them. I hope for more classes on native studies through coursera or on my own. I am also a U of A alumni and wish I could go back a couple decades in a time machine so I could have taken courses then.

von Judy J

Apr 24, 2017

I loved that this course offered WRITTEN and VIDEO lessons. I find it difficult to learn by just watching a video. By doing some of the learning by reading and re-reading, I absorbed more.

Quizes are also another modality that works well. Quick to do, easy to score, inexpensive to administer, both teacher and learner can assess student learning very quickly.

I wish all Coursera programs included more than one methodology for learning. Video is fine, but it isn't the best for everyone, and it isn't the only way to teach things. Many Coursera program rely too heavily on video as their only teaching tool. There are something like 12 or 14 modalities for teaching students. Thank you for using more than one way. I especially liked your reading materials.

von Erin P

Sep 19, 2018

This course should be mandatory for every person in Canada - as a descendent of a family affected deeply by the 60s Scoop, this has helped me understand my family's history and reason's why it was hidden - to try to keep their children from being taken. Without true understanding of the genocide that is still taking place in our country, and the systemic push to keep FNMI people(s) quiet and to assimilate them, how can anyone begin to have empathy and to disappear many of the commonly heard myths about FNMI people(s)? I believe this course is essential to our history and should be taught in all schools, be a requirement for newcomers, and anyone enrolled in any post-secondary academy. Thank you.

von Anna M G

Oct 25, 2019

I admit to being rather naïve when it comes to Indigenous Canada. This course is a real eye opener. My heart is heavy as I learn how western civilization imposed its values, morals and worldviews on Indigenous peoples.

As a correctional nurse working in a maximum security detention centre, I learned how much our punitive justice system is juxtaposed with the once practiced restorative justice system of First Nations Peoples.

I have also learned how a society that values not just humans but all life as equals, has much to teach us in are present day " throw away society"

I would recommend this course to any Canadian who wishes to have a better understanding of Indigenous Canada.

von Cassidy D

Jul 23, 2019

I found this course to be full of valuable knowledge that I believe the general population should know. With a deeper understanding I am better able to advocate and support the Indigenous population that I work with. I am very thankful that this course was offered for free, as I personally feel that the public school system did a terrible job at educating us on the real historical events that have impacted this beautiful and resilient community. I will be sure to share this course and the information I have learned with others to help spread awareness of how the history of our country has impacted the Indigenous population so severely that its effects are still present today.

von Jessica T L

Jul 24, 2018

Although I am a Mohawk woman, I haven't been taught the right history to its full extent. This course has helped me in many ways, to guide my mind and to help me help my community in the best ways that I can. Having this knowledge has brought on many discussions and conversations about the colonization and what it means to be a modern day Onkwehonwe. We are still here, there are some of us that do practice our traditions, and many of us who still have the knowledge and language of our ancestors. As Onkwehonwe, we must act accordingly to our original ways and teach those who do not know, and fulfill the responsibilities that the Creator has given us.

von Vera K

Mar 12, 2018

Everyone living and breathing on this continent has an obligation to know (at least this much more) about the real history and culture of this land. I went to school in Toronto (born here) and didn't even get a sliver of the information in this course. At times I cried, got mad, felt guilt, felt gratitude and everything in between during these lessons. I think it's one step that non-indigenous people can take towards reconciliation is to start getting a real picture of how we got to where we are today. I'm very grateful for having found and completed this course. I will continue to share and encourage others to take this course.

von David H

Nov 30, 2017

I found this course very informative and presented ia ab easy to understand format. The impact of the Europeans is astonishing that what they did was try to conquer and divide the diverse and different Indigenous Peoples of Canada. This course really made me aware of all the issues they have and rightly so. I've always been interested in knowing more about our first peoples in this vast land we call Canada and this course helped immensely. I'll strive to learn more and pay more attention to what's happening in current relations between the Colonists and the Indigenous Peoples. We collectively could learn a lot more from them.

von Paula M C

May 30, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, and the instructors! It has provided me with a much broader understanding of Canada before and since colonization, and of the painful and poignant struggles that the Indigenous peoples of this land have endured at the "divide and conquer" whims of colonial and European powers. I am most impressed with the resilience and the power of community action of First Nations, Métis and Inuit people in Canada to effect positive change for all. I will highly recommend this course to my colleagues here at Western U. It was my first MOOC and I'm happy it was with you, Professor Bear! Miigwetch!!

von Melvin R W

Dec 29, 2018

This well constructed and designed course offers an excellent introduction to native peoples from a variety of perspectives....anthropological, geographic, historical, cultural, philosophical, political, spiritual, artistic. The teachings are clear and the mixed used of lecture, interview, image and quiz carries one of an engaging journey which can be taken an one's own pace and in one's own time. I'm an American MDiv in Interfaith Spirituality and Comparative Religion and found this a valuable addition to my repertoire of knowledge. Thank you to the scholars at the University of Alberta who developed this course.

von Jennifer L

Aug 31, 2017

This course was extremely meaningful to me. I am a Metis woman living in Duck Lake, Saskatchewan. I currently work as an Educational Assistant in our public school. Many of my co-workers are also Indigenous. We have all been directly affected by the St. Micheals residential school that once stood here. Leah Dorion is highly regarded in our school and has on occasion, worked with our students on art projects at the local museum. This is the first University class I have taken in 30 years and I'm glad I started with this one! Thanks for making this so relevant and worthwhile to me!

von Irene D

Jan 30, 2018

I’m very pleased with this informative indigenous course. I’ve learned a lot about issues affecting indigenous - First Nation and politics . I’ve learned a lot about the affect that land has on indigenous culture and a little about trieties and the politics involved. It’s help me develop language and open

my mindtjank up to the abuse that took place and how and why it’s important for them to be heard and understood as a community . I love the storytelling approach and that they leave people to learn at their own pace and that woman detained a lot of power in their comminittees 🙏

von Nashira D

Aug 13, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and feel that I have started to learn much about Indigenous history, culture, and political concerns in Canada because of it. I especially loved the inclusion of Leah Dorion's art and commentary. For future iterations of this course, I would appreciate a more careful proofreading of the course notes and quizzes to eliminate typos and occasional inconsistencies. Also, including a separate long list compilation of Indigenous writers, artists, musicians, and their works would further enhance this fantastic learning experience. Thank you!

von Irina D

Feb 17, 2019

I absolutely love this course! I have learned so much! I feel like I knew nothing about the Indigenous Peoples prior to taking this course. I also feel that courses like this should be mandatory in all Canadian schools. It is very important to teach children about the Peoples whose lands we live on and about their culture and history. Big thank you for the creators of this course!!! I've enjoyed it very much - the format, the presentation style, the art, the music. I want to learn more and I hope to find more similar courses. Chi-miigwech!

von Paul H

Dec 24, 2017

Very informative and useful course, particularly given its Indigenous perspectives on the long, diverse and vibrant history and legacy of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in northern North America, as well as more recent and ongoing impact of European colonization and contemporary Canadian society. A very worthwhile endeavour especially for non-Indigenous people seeking to understand the truth and engage in this second opportunity to learn from and walk respectfully with Indigenous peoples and create together a better relationship.