Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
1,663 Bewertungen
559 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 561 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Vaughn M

Dec 05, 2019

I believe that everyone should take this course. If for nothing more than to gain a greater understanding of our Indigenous Peoples. The course was very well presented. The only problem I found was that the readings were strictly a rehash of the lectures

von Maisie Y

Dec 08, 2017

This course was excellent! The spectrum it covered and the material presented was very well done and relevant. Particularly in the relatively short time span of the course which although I stated short, was perfect and easily digestible. Well Done!

von Vanessa D

Feb 13, 2020

Thank you for creating this course. I am excited to continue expanding my Indigenous knowledge and reflecting on the ways I interact with my environment. I have learned so much from this course and wish all my friends to take time to learn this.

von Roxann A

Aug 03, 2018

Excellent course. Videos and written information are well done. The facts are presented clearly, and the interviews and stories add context. I highly recommend this course to have more understanding of the history of Indigenous people in Canada.

von Brigitta H

Dec 03, 2019

Amazing course, would highly recommend to anyone. This should be a course that every Canadian takes. I have a much better understanding of Indigenous history and culture - thank you so much to the University of Alberta for this amazing course!!

von Elise N

Mar 19, 2019

Well written, very informative this course provides historical knowledge and a better understanding of the past events and how it affected generations of indigenous communities. I'm recommending this course on a personal and professional basis

von Mirsad K

May 11, 2020

Really happy to have taken this course. I wished I had paid more attention in middle school/high school and saw this course pop up. Definitely a good course to go over if you're interested in advancing your knowledge about Indigenous Peoples.

von Sarah R

Apr 05, 2020

Excellent! I really appreciated this opportunity to decolonize the Canadian history I was taught and I look forward to using what I have learned to ensure my children will have a decolonized perspective on Canadian history as well. Thank you!

von Sarah M

Aug 09, 2019

Such a great, involving, interesting course. I loved the personal stories, community involvement aspect and how the course intertwined well with current issues. The artistic aspect was an excellent summative piece at the end of each module.

von Mallory S

Apr 21, 2020

Enjoyed learning more about a culture that many know little about. Really opened my eyes to the mistreated of indigenous people, and how I can do better to understand and support these communities by allowing to help their voices be heard.

von kyra f

Jun 25, 2019

this is the best online course i have taken..lots of flexibility in your hours and courses. i really enjoyed learning about Indigenous peoples of Canada as i an Inuit but haven't really ever learned about other native peoples of Canada.

von Tammy A

Feb 18, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, a wealth of knowledge, I cried many times over the in-justness succumbed by indigenous peoples then and now. I have recommended this course to everyone I know. Thank you for making this course possible!

von Chantal L M

Apr 26, 2018

This was a great course and I would recommend it. I learned so much more about the history of Canada and more importantly the contemporary issues facing indigenous and settler peoples. Thank you the UA and the instructors for providing

von Katalin K

Aug 06, 2019

I learned so much from this course and truly appreciate the comprehensiveness and care detail taken to cover so many fundamental concepts. Leah Dorion's artwork was beautiful to experience in the interactive modules. Thank you so much.

von Cecelia M

May 03, 2020

Every Canadian should take this course! I have no doubt that our conversations and lives would be so richer if we all understood a little better the experiences of Indigenous Canadians. Thank you for creating and sharing this course!

von Daphne Q

Jan 13, 2020

I learnt so much in the course and couldn't wait to get to the next lesson to learn more. Thank you for all of your efforts in putting this together. It has certainly been thought provoking and has increased my desire to learn more.

von Julie K

Jan 24, 2018

This course was thought-provoking, eye-opening and a truly excellent way to learn more about Indigenous cultures and issues in Canada. I've recommended it to many of my friends and will encourage them to take it as soon as possible.

von rachelle m

Nov 19, 2019

This is really powerful information. Unfortunately, as a forty year old, I had to learn this on my own not through curriculum or media or powerful discussions. Knowledge is power and hopefully this get out to the greater population

von Oliver K

Apr 21, 2020

This course was excellent. It was very well spread and had a mixture of both instructions, narration, social and material 9artwork) interaction. I have recommended it to all my staff - sorry - they are all supposed to take it.

von Navraj S

Sep 30, 2019

Hi, this is not a review.

I actually logged in with my facebook but I changed my email and de-linked my facebook. Can you please send me my completion certificate at my updated email. Which is snavraj4@gmail.com, thank you so much

von Aaron F

Nov 20, 2018

Im in my third week and so far this course has taught me so much. Especially from the perspectives of Indigenous people; which is a purview the elementary and secondary education system do not teach a lot of. Great job for this.

von Alyssa M

Nov 13, 2017

Every Canadian should take this course. I am so thankful that I came across it. It has added to my perspective and knowledge even more than I could have imagined. I highly recommend it and already have been doing so. Thank you!

von Luminita

Nov 14, 2017

Loved this class, every module contains fascinating information about indigenous peoples in Canada, it really provides a basic, well-rounded picture of indigenous Canada. Highly recommended for anybody interested in the issue.

von Vera L

Mar 28, 2020

Fully enjoyed this course and learned so much about Indigenous history in Canada that I sadly never learned in public school. Quizzes were straight forward, and it was nice to complete everything at my own pace. Thank you!

von Ellenie H D

Oct 17, 2019

Loved this course, had a great flow to move through. I felt I learned a lot was an enjoyable experience and can't wait to see where this leads.

One recommendation is to make the videos a little more exciting!

Thank you :)