Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
1,164 Bewertungen
380 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 381 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Tyra S

Nov 05, 2017

Very informative

von Tanya T

Sep 22, 2017

I really enjoyed this course, particularly that the format was video lectures as I could then hear the distinct voices of the people speaking. I very much appreciated to the stories, art work, and music incorporated into the lectures. I think this is an important topic for all Canadians, and our responsibility to educate ourselves on the past. Thank you to all who participated in the creation of this course, and thank you to Coursera for offering it.

von SAMJAILA T

Feb 18, 2018

I am so grateful to the University of Alberta and staff member of this course "Indigenous Canada". It provides a vast knowledge on the people, history, and lives of Aboriginals in Canada which explores a distinct narrative through different forms of art, story telling, painting, interviews, and detail explanation with a great evidence and materials. I am so glad and also thankful to everyone involved in this thought provoking course. Highly recommended !

von James S

Feb 05, 2018

Thanks for the the efforts that went into this course. It is very well presented, shares truths and worldviews that we 'settlers' need to be aware of. I hope it will be taken by many!!

von Aaron S

May 18, 2018

Excellent course! I did this course after the "A

von Frédéric P

Apr 29, 2018

This class is a MUST. You will end up with a clear understanding of the First Nations peoples culture and challenges. Only then will one be able to make an informed decision on the matter.

von Dustin H

Apr 30, 2018

Well designed and very informative.

von Priscilla C

Sep 08, 2017

Very Informative

von Darlene A S

Jul 01, 2018

Thank you for this course. It was a wealth of knowledge presented in an interesting and very understandable manner. Darlene S.

von Hassid T

Jun 27, 2017

Such a great MOOC ! As a new canadien resident, I learn so much about Indigenous people. Thank you to all the people who make this MOOC exist.

von Emma H

May 24, 2017

This course was a wonderful introduction and overview to indigenous history, culture, and issues in Canada. I'm hopeful that there will be a second course soon!

von Emma P

Sep 15, 2017

I learned so much! This was a great course. Thank you to the instructors and the University of Alberta.

von Nadine C

Jul 17, 2017

I am an Aboriginal educator and I learned a lot. Loved this course.

von Shania E C

May 05, 2017

I went in, just bored... My mother had actually influenced me in taking courses... Little would I know,I would be stupid obsessed with this

von Raffaele P

Dec 03, 2017

Very interesting course. The wide perspectives of the studies presented here make it involving, giving a different way of viewing a so important historical/anthropological question, so actual in north america.

von Tammy G

Apr 11, 2018

This is one of the best courses I have ever attended. It was so well researched, designed and constructed that I have recommended it to everyone I know. should be a mandatory course for all Canadians - settlers, new immigrants and indigenous - everyone can learn from this course.

von Faris K

Feb 19, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, it should be taught to everyone - not just Canadians but everyone the world over.

von Jennifer B

Mar 29, 2018

Fantastic, so much information that I was unaware of really opened my eyes. Would love to see another course about the arts, story telling and beliefs.

von Michael H

Jun 12, 2017

I wanted to follow up on the TRC recommendations and become much more aware of historical and contemporary issues faced by indigenous peoples in a Canadian context. I thought this would a good course for accomplishing this. It was a great course!!!! I learned so much in this course and it was easy to do so even as a busy professional. I encourage everyone to take this course. As we celebrate the Canada 150, we should be aware that we are many nations and a smaller part of a much bigger family with a much greater shared destiny. We must find ways to be much more aware of our colonial past and strive toward a much more inclusive future. There is much to learn and this course is a great survey course for getting started. To the course instructors and organizers - Thank you very much, Merci beaucoup, and apijigo megwich!

von Paul H

Dec 24, 2017

Very informative and useful course, particularly given its Indigenous perspectives on the long, diverse and vibrant history and legacy of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in northern North America, as well as more recent and ongoing impact of European colonization and contemporary Canadian society. A very worthwhile endeavour especially for non-Indigenous people seeking to understand the truth and engage in this second opportunity to learn from and walk respectfully with Indigenous peoples and create together a better relationship.

von Anthony C

Apr 23, 2018

This course was so helpful in providing a new perspective on Canada's colonial past and the struggle of Indigenous people since their first encounters with Europeans. Acknowledging the mistakes of these encounters and the crimes since (i.e. residential schools, racism) is critical to help form a new and continued partnership with between Indigenous peoples and Canadian settlers. It was a pleasure to learn about the diversity of many tribes and their social, intellectual and artistic gifts. If "education is the new buffalo" then we all have much to learn from Indigenous people in all environments and in particular their harmony with nature in time of climate change. I will be reflecting on the stories, events and powerful voices I have heard in the course. As a teacher of Canadian History, this course will be valuable as a continued resource to help my students explore Indigenous worldviews, critically examine the colonial perspective and have a greater understanding of the many themes, struggles and triumphs presented by the artists, scholars and leaders. Overall, this course provides a unique experience for those interested in escaping a colonial worldview and hearing the diverse voices of Indigenous Canada as they grapple with the past and adapt to today and in the future. I look forward to learning more.

von Aurelija M

Aug 01, 2017

Fantastic course! Even though I knew quite a bit before, some passages were still incredibly moving to learn, making me angry, reading about the atrocities committed by the settlers. The materials provided were really good, the lecturers were really good. 10/10 would take this course again if I could! Would love to see more of such courses on Coursera as it's super important to learn about the history and how to become an ally, even though being European.

von Kim R

Jun 03, 2017

This course was truly inspiring and eye-opening. Each and every Canadian should take this course in order to educate him or her to the complexities of Indigenous peoples' history and culture. As an educator for 30 years, I wish that I had been more knowledgeable of the struggles and history, so that I could have better taught my students. I hope that more courses such as the one you have provided will be made available, so that myself and others can further our studies. Thank you so much for this opportunity

von Shannon K

Jul 31, 2017

A rich and extremely important overview of various topics of Aboriginal history and ongoing issues. I am extremely appreciative to the Faculty of Native Studies for providing this course.

von Deleted A

Apr 15, 2017

Excellent course! Ideal for anyone wanting a broad introduction and historiography of the people(s) indigenous to Canada.