Chevron Left
Zurück zu Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides von University of Washington

4.8
Sterne
182 Bewertungen
47 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In the professional realm, most speeches and presentations we give are informative in scope. A scientist needs to explain her recent research findings. A financial officer needs to report on quarterly earnings to his company’s board. A technology professional needs to educate a consumer about a new product. Any time you need to convey ideas or demonstrate a process, you’re dealing with informative speaking. Informative speaking is a fun puzzle. You need to think from the perspective of your audience to identify what they need to hear in order to understand the key ideas. How much does the audience already know? What are the most important elements to convey? How should one convey these ideas with appropriate breadth and depth given the time constraints of the speech? This demands a strategic approach to speech design that we’ll undertake in this class. By the end of the course, you should be able to explain complex ideas vividly and accessibly, design clear and compelling presentation slides, convey your passion for a topic while maintaining your professional credibility, and speak dynamically from notes and/or a manuscript. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Top-Bewertungen

OS

May 03, 2020

Very informative and practical course.Very interesting and well structured course for building confident in public speaking and exercises are very interesting to keep learner on track.

JJ

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

Filtern nach:

26 - 47 von 47 Bewertungen für Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

von Pablo E

May 07, 2018

Very interesting and practical course.

von Muhammed N A

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent. Matt is good teacher ever!

von Muhammad A A

Oct 14, 2019

best course for personal development

von Aakash J D

Jun 28, 2020

fortunate enough to have one

von Linyan a

Apr 24, 2020

Very helpful and beneficial

von nagendra

Jun 12, 2020

excellent course

von M F

Jun 14, 2020

Soooo good!!

von PATIL H R

Feb 13, 2020

i love that

von Tadeo

May 14, 2020

Excellent

von How

Jan 27, 2019

Completed

von Priscila M

Jun 08, 2020

Great!

von Mona A A

Jun 16, 2020

G

O

O

D

von Rolandas R

May 31, 2017

L

von Santosh S

Jul 30, 2017

Good course, particularly for informative speeches.

I am doctoral student nearing by thesis proposal, so I was wondering - how the course will help me to structure my presentation.

Though the course is helpful, but I would have loved little more treatment of such topics like presenting proposals, defense, data. This treatment is bit sketchy in the course.

However, I will highly recommend the course to any doctoral student or anyone who wish to get into academia.

von Sarah R

Apr 22, 2020

Enjoyed doing the course. I think I have learned skills that will be very useful in future. It was good to engage in all the assignments as it really does help build confidence

von Nguyen T T N

Jul 11, 2019

I prefer fewer peer-review

von Palani T A

Jan 23, 2020

Very useful.

von Huda M S A O

Mar 20, 2018

w

von GIOSUE P

Jun 11, 2019

The course should provide less explanatory sessions and more practice-based tips.

The videos are often repetitive and do not provide enough ground on theories of perception - i.e. how are we perceived while we do something when we speak?

Mostly generic.

von Thomas M

Feb 12, 2018

Don't know if the instructor was nervous or just not competent. Pretty much useless if you have any type of training in publich speaking.

1 He speaks WAY TOO fast...and seems nervous and insecure

2 No clear communication (which is funny as he is trying to teach you to communicate!)

3. Do not seem to understand the topic very well (typical Academia, who never actutally done any real work)

von mohit

Mar 19, 2018

This course could be made more interactive and informative.

von PINJARI S A S A

Feb 01, 2020

good