Chevron Left
Zurück zu Information Visualization: Foundations

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Information Visualization: Foundations von New York University

4.6
Sterne
121 Bewertungen
31 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The main goal of this specialization is to provide the knowledge and practical skills necessary to develop a strong foundation on information visualization and to design and develop advanced applications for visual data analysis. This course aims at introducing fundamental knowledge for information visualization. The main goal is to provide the students with the necessary “vocabulary” to describe visualizations in a way that helps them reason about what designs are appropriate for a given problem. This module also gives a broad overview of the field of visualization, introducing its goals, methods and applications. A learner with some or no previous knowledge in Information Visualization will get a sense of what visualization is, what it is for and in how many different situations it can be applied; will practice to describe data in a way that is useful for visualization design; will familiarize with fundamental charts to talk about the concept of visual encoding and decoding....

Top-Bewertungen

EM

Jun 24, 2019

Great intro to basics about information visualization. Would be a bit better if after doing the assessments the correct answers were provided as a guide to the peer review.

RH

Oct 29, 2018

Great course! Not too complicated and covers fundamental topics about visual encoding and decoding.\n\nThe explanation is clear and concise.\n\nThank you Professor Enrico!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 31 Bewertungen für Information Visualization: Foundations

von Eaphy M

Jun 24, 2019

Great intro to basics about information visualization. Would be a bit better if after doing the assessments the correct answers were provided as a guide to the peer review.

von Nithish B R

Jun 10, 2019

Well explained from a conceptual sense. Good to get a basic hands on experience with Tableau as part of the course.

von Thabo T

Sep 06, 2019

Great course, it really game the skills and confidence to know what to do given a dataset

von Saif R

Dec 04, 2018

The course has great content, but it is not the easiest to follow. The videos present information in a sequential way, then the project are exciting and perhaps a tad too challenging. I would have loved more intermediate exercises that are shorter in weeks 1 and 2 before diving in the project in week 3. That said, the course is of great quality and I recommend it to anyone looking to learning about how to create effective and beautiful visualizations. You will also get introduced to Tablue which is an added bonus.

von Santiago S

Nov 21, 2018

Great course, I've enjoyed Prof. Enrico clear video explanations about the covered topics. The course serves as a fresh start if you are looking to improve your data visualization skills and knowledge. Examples included during the classes helped a lot to understand what's behind the scenes. Easy to follow along, it was made with a balanced mix of both: practice and theory.

von Santiago T

Oct 17, 2019

It helped me put some theory behind data visualization concepts I work with every day. After this course, I know better why some graphs seem better than others and have some guidelines as to where I should start when creating a new visualization depending on the type of data I have.

von Camilo C

Nov 06, 2018

(Taken in Audit Mode) The course is great, Enrico is a great teacher and the introductory topics are great if you are searching for improving your data visualization skills. Simple explanations of a very broad and interesting topic.

von Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

von Ian W

Sep 06, 2018

Good introduction to information visualization.

If you finish this class, I suggest you finish all courses in this specialization because it's great and not too hard. :)

von Raja D H

Oct 29, 2018

Great course! Not too complicated and covers fundamental topics about visual encoding and decoding.

The explanation is clear and concise.

Thank you Professor Enrico!

von Seydou D

May 16, 2020

This course is very clear, helpful and rewarding even for someone who has no idea about Information Visualization. I do encourage you to take this course.

von Alex S L

May 17, 2020

The course was eye opening to a vital skill in today's data age: visualizing and comunicating with information proficiently.

von Raphael d F S

Oct 30, 2018

Very good! The videos and materials are great. Enrico's knowledge is impressive and inspiring.

von Andrea T

Aug 23, 2019

Great course, thorough, easy to follow and full of resources to deepen the knowledge.

von Khalid M K

May 23, 2020

Good way of teaching, easy and interesting concepts to work with hard things.

von Emilio A A S

Dec 07, 2019

A very good introductory course on the information visualization foundations.

von Vikram G

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent Course by NYU , Professor enrico's classes are really good.

von Mathieu L

Apr 02, 2019

A very complete and instructive introduction about data visualisation

von Panagiotis M

Apr 26, 2020

Very well structured course, with clear and understandable teaching.

von Jeanne M L

Jun 24, 2019

Good introduction to learning Tableau in addition to concepts.

von Trud F A

Oct 29, 2018

Very good course - it gives a good overview over the basics!

von Fabian R

Oct 02, 2018

Some minor bugs but overall a really great course

von Chad R D

Jul 09, 2019

Very concise and informative course.

von Zilu Z

Apr 21, 2020

I like the lecture of this course. But the peer review assignment gave me terrible experience primarily because the rubrics fail to provide any answers or even possible examples. Students read the questions differently and some graded in a very judgy manner.

Another minor complaint is that the assignment requires the use of Tableau. I have no experience with that but I am familiar with plotting in multiple statistical software. Allowing the use of other programs could have significantly saved my time, and I am not going to use Tableau in my work anyways.

von Halian V

Dec 31, 2019

Great lectures, Enrico is a fantastic teacher and the depth of information covered is very well measured! Some of the in-video exercises are, however, very obvious. We could use better crafted questions that summarize the content instead of some simple "word" games in which you must remember exact terms. Peer review quizes are nice, but the "distribution" dynamics could be better, I felt that my exercises would never be reviewed haven't I asked for it in the course forums. Despite that, very nice course!