Chevron Left
Zurück zu Intellectual Humility: Theory

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Intellectual Humility: Theory von The University of Edinburgh

4.5
Sterne
230 Bewertungen
55 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Top-Bewertungen

SM

Dec 13, 2017

After this class I can say that I dwell on aspects I learned every day. Among the best MOOCs available. This should be required at colleges and universities. Highly recommend.

JM

May 03, 2017

I am a computer scientist who hates waffle. This course presents a topic that I have no knowledge about in a way that is interesting , succinct and thought provoking

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 54 Bewertungen für Intellectual Humility: Theory

von Verónica L R R

Feb 20, 2017

Well explained by all instructors, easy to understand and even entertaining.

von Felipe A Á O

Aug 21, 2018

a very good introduction to virtue epistemology and cognitive science.

von Jay M R

Aug 11, 2019

Great course to get you thinking about your claims to knowledge.

von Pascal D

Jun 26, 2017

great course. enjoyed the videos and of course the material

von Courtney W

Jan 19, 2017

It was my first Coursera class and I liked it very much.

von Derrick J R

Mar 18, 2018

I

love the concept of this branch of philosophy!

von Howard C

Jun 10, 2017

Excellent course to go through and learn from.

von Asif S B

Mar 14, 2017

One of the most important courses in Coursera!

von Alma D

Apr 25, 2017

Very interesting and great course!

von Ionut M C

Apr 10, 2019

Great content, enjoyed the talks.

von Roberto R

Jan 14, 2018

thanks,everybody should do it :-)

von Lojain A

Dec 29, 2016

worth every minute of my time!

von Abdulrahman M

Jan 07, 2019

This is an eye-opening course

von Mehrdad M

Jun 20, 2017

I learned a lot!

von Tolulope V K

Aug 14, 2017

its top noch

von Oky T S

Dec 11, 2016

Superb !

von Sebi K

Mar 15, 2017

The course gives a good basic insight to the topic of intellectual humility although in the beginning it fails a little in telling why intellectual humility is so important. (roughly the message was: "you get along better with other people and yourself")

As the question "what is (intellectual) humility" is more a philosophical question than a practical experience this course cannot provide you with a tool that helps you to be more humble within a few days, to improve your humility and to measure someone elses humility but the course helps you asking yourself the right questions. ("Is social status important to me? Can I accept different opinions?...)

It was my first coursera experience and I am satisfied with it. However, the videos are a bit oldfahsioned in style - if it was intended to give the videos an antique look - well done ;-)

von Carey N

Feb 02, 2019

This was a somewhat difficult and challenging course for me. I felt it was more technical than I expected. I really liked it a lot. This is my first Coursera course so the four stars is more to leave room for future courses that I take that might exceed this one. This was a great course and I would highly recommend it.

von Georgios K

Mar 25, 2017

A very good short course on an important intellectual trait, the intellectual humility. The videos were very informative, and the lecturers did not require a prior knowledge on philosophy or psychology. I managed to complete the course even though I did not have more than 2-3 hours per week.

von Miguel M

Dec 23, 2016

Very interesting subject and well structured course, with good exposition of the subject. Looking forward into Part 2! Knocked one star off (would be half if I could) just because there is some discontinuity between the three sections/speakers and still a couple of rough edges to smooth out.

von Henrique d M

Jun 26, 2017

It is a great course. Looking forward to the next two modules.

von Amy J V A

Aug 07, 2017

first on-line course - enjoyed myself

von Daniel S

Jan 31, 2018

Hmmm ... the concept was great, and it really is an important aspect of intellectual pursuits in an age of fake news and internet facts (both comments are sarcastic), there must be honest deliberation on such issues. But as a course, it seems lacking in the mature "punch" needed to convey the right concpets to the learner, gets lost sometimes in the mundane aspects. But overall, worth while, just not a spectacular course experience.

von David F

Dec 22, 2016

Some interesting ideas but not entirely convinced by the concept of 'humility' in this context. Is it really any more than simple openness to new ideas and the possibility of being wrong. That is not really 'humble'/ Smacks at times of academic pretension. You need to follow carefully what is being said - not a course to do while doing something else!

von Terry C

Jun 06, 2017

Interesting topic. Reasonable lectures, but poor study aides. Interesting fora and discussion groups.