Chevron Left
Zurück zu Interest Rate Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Interest Rate Models by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.6
95 Bewertungen
27 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course gives you an easy introduction to interest rates and related contracts. These include the LIBOR, bonds, forward rate agreements, swaps, interest rate futures, caps, floors, and swaptions. We will learn how to apply the basic tools duration and convexity for managing the interest rate risk of a bond portfolio. We will gain practice in estimating the term structure from market data. We will learn the basic facts from stochastic calculus that will enable you to engineer a large variety of stochastic interest rate models. In this context, we will also review the arbitrage pricing theorem that provides the foundation for pricing financial derivatives. We will also cover the industry standard Black and Bachelier formulas for pricing caps, floors, and swaptions. At the end of this course you will know how to calibrate an interest rate model to market data and how to price interest rate derivatives....

Top-Bewertungen

PV

May 27, 2019

This course is very good in regaining your knowledge in Interest Rate model. However, the exchange is that you have to spend time with it. But believe me it is worth your time spending

MB

Jan 31, 2017

Great course! Level of difficulty is about first or second year Ph.D. in economics/finance. I learned a lot.\n\n-Michael

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 26 Reviews for Interest Rate Models

von Qingqi S

Oct 15, 2018

It's good but the exercise is much hard

von Fabio A

Feb 23, 2018

Great course! If you have not deep economic/financial background (f.i., I am an engineer) you should not rely too much to the expected time required to complete the week assignment, especially weeks 4 and 5. Lectures have a marked mathematical facet (it's a financial mathematics course, after all!) and exercises are well designed to make you understand the matter. The final exam stays in ~200 lines of Matlab (comments included), so if you are committed you will succeed.

von Puttipon V

May 27, 2019

This course is very good in regaining your knowledge in Interest Rate model. However, the exchange is that you have to spend time with it. But believe me it is worth your time spending

von Stefano E

Apr 27, 2019

Interesting course, I learned a lot. Exercises a bit tedious sometimes and pass rate fairly high, given that 80% normally grants you the distinction in UK, not just a pass rate. Also ideally you would like the entire body of the exercise checked by the instructors, not just the final number, but I guess this would be too much for a Coursera course. Overall a very good course.

von Yong H S

Apr 01, 2019

Great course!

von Sergey

Feb 05, 2019

Great course to refresh interest rate finance theory and to learn something new as well. Topics are very relevant for real-world finance practice. Exercises are built to make you gain working knowledge of the material. Maybe a couple of additional (optional) videos with more detailed derivations of some pricing formulas would be a useful addition to the course.

von Andrei D C F

Sep 12, 2018

The sophisticated theory is being delivered in a very accurate and rigorous manner with references to market practice. Thank you authors and I'm waiting for the new courses in quantitative finance with the level of sophistication not less than this one.

von K S

May 21, 2018

Difficult but interesting course. Only it took me more time than announced to complete it and perhaps additional materials (articles, link to thesis etc...) would be beneficial

von Duncan E

May 18, 2018

An excellent course, well structured and clearly taught. The tests were very challenging but interesting. Not being a financial graduate I found the learning curve very steep but it was very stimulating and enjoyable: the course not only taught me a lot about financial models relating to interest rates but also gave me some entry points into interesting mathematics (measure theory, martingales, stochastic calculus)

von Bouazza S

Feb 28, 2018

Very challenging and rewarding course, the treatment of interest rates is of the level of a Master's degree in financial mathematics. I would advise anyone attempting this course to get at least a little more exposure to stochastic calculus before attempting it even though it already provides a small crash course.

von Jerzy D

Feb 06, 2018

Very interesting and engaging course. It covers relevant topics in fixed income derivatives. It's rather challenging and requires some prior knowledge of quantitative finance/mathematics (and more time than stated in the syllabus :)). Also not possible to pass without some programming skills. What I didn't like is that instructor didn't provide economic intuition behind math formulas and models but rather presented them from a purely mathematical perspective.

von Jackie T

Jan 25, 2018

Very engaging materials and it is a difficult course!! Background in linear algebra, stochastic calculus and computer programming is recommended.

von Robert G

Jan 16, 2018

Great course and I learned a lot from it, much more than I initially anticipated. The staff is very supportive and gives right advise when there is a need. Would like to see more intuitive explanations along with the mathematical derivations. Not an easy course but really worth to take it to the end.

von Eric D B

Nov 15, 2017

Doing this course takes longer than stated and needs constant research to understand what is missing in the classes lectures. Some problems are the assumption of finance jargon is known and pricing formulas are given without fully explaining its origins stating its simple algebra.

von Sungjoon B

Aug 23, 2017

Very helpful course to revisit my daily work covering curves, derivative pricing.

von Tatsunari W

Jul 17, 2017

This course has been quite challenging, which I really have enjoyed. I guess this course is a shorter and easier version of the real course the professor teaches at his own institution. It only covers about one third of his text book, but now I know I can finish the textbook by myself. I strongly recommend to future learners that they get his textbook. I learned more from examples given the textbook. Since there didn't seem many learners on this course, it was quite frustrating to find a little mistake that I was making, but I guess that understanding whether the mistakes are conceptual or computational is also an important part of financial engineering. Anyway, I hope he will offer more of courses like this on coursera.

von Nikola P

Jul 10, 2017

A really useful and practical course in Quantitative Finance, which really raises the bar in terms of difficulty but also the knowlegde gained is definitely there. I would recommend this course even to seasoned industry professionals (e.g. traders, quants, portfolio managers) since it provides relevant techniques for measuring and managing interest rate risk and understanding interest rates derivatives space/markets. On the other hand I do feel that with useful comments, provided by the Coursera community, this course can only become better, as time goes by.

von Saket B

Jun 25, 2017

wonderful

von gowtham

Jun 20, 2017

very poor presentation

von Déodat V

May 25, 2017

Amazing course with a great exposé of each concept and extremely well designed assignments. The contents are brilliant, really clear, the study materials are well designed. The assignments help to recognize blind spots in the understanding of the concepts and push to implement the contents. It is a really nice balance between knowledge and know-how. Also a really tough one but "pain will make it better".

von Md N A

Apr 09, 2017

Content wise this course is excellent, quant finance enthusiasts would love this course. Truth be told this is an insanely difficult MOOC to pass/complete, not because its hard, lets face it, the contents are very advanced and its assumed that students would have background in advanced finance, but the problem lies in the fact that the professor does not explain the topics well enough. The professor might be excellent in this field but simply can't explain well enough, he is mostly reading his notes/slides with a few drawings. Second problem is the notations used in the course is extremely confusing, it makes maths look scary. This could have been a the best MOOC on Coursera but the professor's explanation is simply not upto the mark.

von Jiaxin Y

Mar 12, 2017

Solid contents, also required solid graduate level mathematics. The instructor may consider providing more details in some of the derivations. It is a bit difficult to follow during some lectures.

von David A

Mar 10, 2017

Solid review of fundamental interest rate ide

von Yu Z

Feb 27, 2017

Finally finished! It's quite difficult, but really learned a lot! Thank you!

von Jason S

Feb 05, 2017

This is a seriously challenging class, requiring some good preparation, but it is worth every minute. The course staff members are very helpful. The problems are challenging and they are well worth doing. Good luck!