Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to International Criminal Law

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to International Criminal Law von Case Western Reserve University

4.8
Sterne
2,000 Bewertungen
506 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

Top-Bewertungen

MK

Apr 11, 2020

The course is very informative and concise, yet it does not leave details that is necessary for nouvelle learners like me, who are interested to delve into understanding International Criminal Law.

RS

Jun 05, 2020

Being a law student one should always expand and widen the knowledge of globally affected issues and international criminal court. this course helps me expand my horizons in international laws.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 505 Bewertungen für Introduction to International Criminal Law

von Victoria S

May 29, 2020

This is a complete course with everything you need to know about introduction to international criminal law. The teaches is the best teacher!!! Great classes and super interesting, he manages to gives the whole class in a way where you just want to keep taking the class and don't get bored at any time. The best course, I definitely recommend it, you'll learn a lot. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

von Савчукова А Е

Jan 12, 2018

I`m absolutely in love with this course. It helped me to understand the main aspects of International Criminal Law which will surely be helpful in my future career as a lawyer. I suppose I found that brunch of law i`m interested in the most. The lector is very good and the whole system with video and reading materials accompanied by online-simulations and discussions is very helpful.

von Hafiz M A

Jun 06, 2018

It was a wonderful experience learning ICL in which I was very much interested. I have gained much of the useful knowledge based on some assignments and quiz related experiences. I am very grateful to the Instructer, Case Western Reserve Unviersity and Coursera organizing this marvelous event and I am looking froward for some more fruitful courses in the coming days. Thanks all

von Mr. S H

Jul 26, 2020

Professor Michael Scharf is a fascinating and wise teacher who really knows about how to make the lecture interesting for students. The course is well-designed and thoroughly innovative. The questionnaires are based on historic events and hypothetical circumstances that really prepares students for encountering future crimes against humanity, genocide, and war crimes. Thanks

von Dr. N F (

Jan 31, 2018

Maybe the best course I had ever. Not only because to its material/topic, but mostly because of the way Professor Michael Scharf communicated with me as a student.

I feel very lucky to get this course and definitely I recommend it to all. Especially to lawyers, judges and D.A.'s around the world.

Thank you CWRU for this course.

Thank you Professor Scharf.

Until the next course..

von Foysal S R

Aug 06, 2020

Michael Scharf's teaching style is impeccable, as a Law student, I got to learn really a lot about international criminal law, which was previously a very confusing subject for me. I really think that after completing this course, it'll take a long way in my future career. This course is a must-do for Law students who are interested in criminology and international crimes.

von HARSHIT T

Jul 13, 2020

This course is absolutely amazing. It helped me a lot in enhancing knowledge on Prespective Of International Criminal Law also provided a lot to understand the Scope of criminal at Different level as currently I m doing my masters in comparative And critical criminal law subjects.It helped immensely throughout the course study

Thank you Michael Scharf.! and coursera.🙏

von Kaylee C

May 12, 2020

This course is genuinely interesting and well done. As a non law student, but as a person very interested in the subject, I found the material well explained and presented in a way I could easily follow. The professor is clearly passionate about this subject and that brings out a larger impact of this material. Thank you for sharing this great class!

von Najah M M A D

Jun 16, 2020

I really really thank you with all my heart..

I've got a lot of advantageous and expanded my lawful international law knowledge with new information which me and other Arabs lawyers cannot find it in their Arabic references.

The paralegal and the legal student research in the Master degree in Syria... Najah Muhammad Maher Al-Dakkak!

von Maria F A R

Jun 14, 2020

I thank the representatives of the virtual course Introduction to International Criminal Law hoping that the course contributes to my expectations thanks to all the excellent exhibitors; I want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart for giving me this beautiful opportunity to participate in this virtual course. see you soon

von Meropi D

May 14, 2017

I think that the lectures were absolutely perfect and I liked the reading material. Very good idea to include the introduction to international criminal law notes, especially for those who are not familiar with the subject at all. I enjoyed the fact that at the final quiz, the questions were based on a hypothetical case-study.

von Kadire g

Dec 03, 2018

I really enjoy this course teachers are greate this course improved my knowledge of international law rules where they apply and why lcc is important for safer world more than that it will teach you justices doesn't mean only court room it has it own spirits and it comes to live when you give it a body by lcc courts

von Afolasade B

Jun 01, 2020

This is a really interesting/intriguing course. An eye-opener to international law. It provides a step by step explanation on the process of International law and how to deal with international war criminals.

The Professor made the ride easy, I hope to meet him one day! I totally recommend this course.

von Satinder K B

Aug 10, 2020

Course has been designed in a very simple, easy to understand format. I having very little legal background could appreciate the case studies, simulations and reading material quickly speaks about the quality of course content and its presentation. Kudos to Professor for delivering this course.

von Sushant P A

Jun 29, 2019

Coursera, through this course and all its other ones has made learning law more experiential and interactive. The role-play exercises and simulations have made me understand Law even better than your videos did. The study material is always top-notch. Overall, the best experience in education.

von Kristin P

Nov 05, 2017

This was a great course. Professor Scharf is well spoken and engaging. I think being responsible citizens are those who engage with and are knowledgeable about the rest of the world and how things like this work. This course helps you understand systems most of us are very far removed from.

von ENAS A A

Dec 03, 2015

one of the most important courses I`ve learned ...really appreciate being in that course ...I did it one time before and now I joined for the second time to repeat it even I didn`t participate any assignments or exams ...valuable materials you should have if you are really interested in law !

von Laura M

Nov 28, 2015

Videos and readings were very clear, I appreciated the fact that our professor was very knowledgable on the subject of international criminal law. There were many different examples and case studies presented that helped further my knowledge of how international criminal proceedings go.

von Kanishka S

May 21, 2020

One of the best course I have had on this platform. The professor is very articulate in his speech and puts forward a very balanced perspective in seemingly complex case situations. Absolutely loved it and highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning International Law.

von Mdumezulu S N

Jul 14, 2019

The course has been enlightening and very helpful in guiding me towards a better grasp of International Criminal Law. The convenience of the coursera.org online learning environment also means I can do this at a pace and distance that fits in with my daily responsibilities.

von Marcelo J M M

Aug 01, 2020

O curso é super conciso e as leituras proporcionam ao aluno um desenvolvimento completo das habilidades necessárias para o Direito Penal Internacional, atravessando horizontalmente as áreas do Direito Internacional Público, Política Internacional e Direito Penal. Incrível!

von Violeta A C B

Jan 29, 2016

Un curso muy interesante y didáctico, útil para quienes no estudiamos derecho. Se discuten casos difíciles y los ejercicios han sido diseñados de manera creativa; además el instructor no sólo conoce la dimensión legal y teórica, sino que tiene experiencias qué compartir.

von mark p

Jan 17, 2016

absolutely outstanding MOOC; makes great use of all the possibilities of this educational media platform... relentlessly driven by a plethora of highly relevant ICC and other International Tribunal cases and Michael Scharf's undying enthusiasm for all matters criminal...

von Rajagopalan T G

Jun 15, 2020

It was very helpful as it was my first online course and it was a great experience to be introduced to International Criminal Law as I was unaware of how the International Court Proceedings work. I am very thankful to Prof. Michael Scharf for making it clear and simple.

von Belén A T

Jun 28, 2017

Un curso extraordinario, breve y conciso. Perfecto como pequeña introducción al mundo del derecho penal internacional. Los videos son muy buenos y las lecturas perfectas. No te exige mucho tiempo, así que es perfecto para complementar otro tipo de educación o trabajo.