Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to International Criminal Law

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to International Criminal Law von Case Western Reserve University

4.8
1,118 Bewertungen
272 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

Top-Bewertungen

VM

Sep 04, 2019

Muy buen cruso aprendí derecho penal internacional, litigio internacional y practiqué inglés jurídico, aspectos importantes para el ejercicio de la abogacía enfocada en lo internacional

AG

Nov 15, 2015

This course is flexible & stuffed with huge information which is really helpful to build our knowledge. Thank you very very much for providing this course.\n\nAnnesha Kar Gupta

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 265 Bewertungen für Introduction to International Criminal Law

von Viviana E M M

Sep 04, 2019

Muy buen cruso aprendí derecho penal internacional, litigio internacional y practiqué inglés jurídico, aspectos importantes para el ejercicio de la abogacía enfocada en lo internacional

von Gary M O S

Sep 20, 2019

great course

von Melvin D G

Sep 20, 2019

Excelente curso, sería genial que los documentos adjuntos estuviesen en Español, o en su defecto en el idioma oriundo del participante, muchas gracias, por tan excelente curso.

von Rosa V Y R

Oct 08, 2019

I liked it a lot is very interesting and you learn too much

von Diana M V

Oct 06, 2019

Exelente

von Srinidhi E

Mar 03, 2019

Its a great course. i loved everything.!!!!!!!!!!

von Hernán A v

Mar 18, 2019

ESTE CURSO ME AYUDÓ A ENTENDER AL ÁMBITO PENAL INTERNACIONAL, Y TENER UNA MIRADA MÁS CRÍTICA , COMO FUNCIONARIO PÚBLICA, POLICÍA DE LA PROVINCIA DE MENDOZA ARGENTINA. ME AYUDO A ENTENDER MAS EL MARCO DE DERECHO INTERNCIONAL.

von PK

Feb 04, 2019

Interesting and captivating course with a lot of information to process, yet well explained and elaborated. I found some of the exercises / examples slightly confusing (perhaps under-explained?) and some of the statements made by the instructor unnecessarily judgmental. Especially when commenting on contexts he is not familiar with. Nothing major, but it did disrupt my perception of the course, as I have lived in quite a few of those contexts myself and certainly would not dare to be as bold in some of my statements as the instructor is. I also appreciate that the course has been running for a while and hence the feedback on the assignments is minimal, which would otherwise been quite useful. Overall though, I thought this was an extremely interesting course, genuinely recommended.

von Ohad K

Feb 07, 2016

A simple and short course about learning what constitute international criminal law.

von Juan S R R

Sep 01, 2017

I have found this course very useful to understand the basic issues of the International Criminal Law. Without doubts, it is a valuable first approximation to this matter.

von Diana G

Oct 17, 2016

A good introduction to the topic

von Allison O

Jan 18, 2016

Very informational and interesting.

von Martinlevac@gmail.com

Jan 05, 2018

Interesting course. Very detailed look at some of the most common conventions and topics of international law (Geneva, Rome, crimes against humanity, genocide and torture). I was able to pass with a 90% grade but not being familiar with most of the content prior to this undertaking, I did have to devote more time to understand (at time memorize) some of the concepts demonstrated.

von Shahjahan B

Oct 09, 2015

A great initiative to promote international criminal law in the world. I am really enjoying it.

von Hannah M V

Jan 10, 2017

A very Explanatory and detailed course which would benefit you immensely if you have the time to spend for it.

von paula j t m

Jun 22, 2016

it was really good, because its really clear and esay to understand by the videos, talks an maybe the readings are a little bit hard but its good

von Gustavo A

Jan 27, 2017

it was very helpfull to understand about International Criminal Law

von Budulla T F M

Jan 25, 2017

Gives a very good introduction to International Criminal law, easy to understand and is a great source for research work. Thumps up.

von Komal G A

Aug 26, 2017

I really enjoyed thir course. It talks about very interesting international cases and how law was applied. If you don't have law knowledge I think it may be a little difficult to follow, if you have and like criminal law you're gonna enjoy it.

von R. L H M E a R L H E

Aug 07, 2017

This course was very challenging and informative. It raised additional questions and drew not only my attention to the current issues that are occurring on a global scale, but also encouraged me to think differently regarding the moves the different leaders have made up to this point in the global political arena.

von Job v D

May 29, 2017

Great, verry good information

von Anna G

Dec 14, 2016

I enjoyed it very much. The professor shared a lot of valuable information and talked a lot about his experiences, and it was very interesting. I have to admit, I didn't really like the simulations. The questions weren't very interesting, but I liked the idea itself of using it instead of weekly quizzes.

von William C L

Mar 02, 2016

Great Class,

Would like even more information.

von Charlotte C

Aug 28, 2015

I have no foundation in criminology of any kind and thus, this was heavy stuff for me. I like how the videos paused at certain intervals to check if I understood what was being mentioned. It's also good to have online simulation for me to get things going.

I appreciate the inclusion of real life examples where I have heard of some of them before via newspapers. This brings it easier to be able to understand a little more.

von BHARAT R

Feb 26, 2016

awesome brainstorming