Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to International Criminal Law

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to International Criminal Law von Case Western Reserve University

4.8
Sterne
1,541 Bewertungen
394 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

Top-Bewertungen

MK

Apr 11, 2020

The course is very informative and concise, yet it does not leave details that is necessary for nouvelle learners like me, who are interested to delve into understanding International Criminal Law.

SA

Mar 16, 2020

This was one of the best courses I ever had. I was too much into this course. I learned a lot I don't have law background but Professor explained everything very well. Thank you :)

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 388 Bewertungen für Introduction to International Criminal Law

von Qi G

Aug 28, 2018

This is a wonderful introductory course for international criminal law!!! There's nothing too complicated so that everyone can understand the course material well. The lecture by Professor Sharf is also very well-organized.

von Abg. J L R C

Mar 17, 2019

This course opens the doors for me in the development and advancement of my professional career. It is at the forefront of international standards in the area of higher education. Thank you very much for the opportunity.

von Vanshika S

May 30, 2020

Thank you to respected instructor for clearly and concisely elucidating the various aspects of international criminal law. The content and material provided was academically rich. This was a wonderful course by CWRU.

von Sarah N

Apr 27, 2019

This course answers many questions that l had on my mind about the decisions of States. It has enlightened me about the actions of the ICC. Thank you for giving me this opportunity to comprehend international law.

von ASHWINI M

Apr 24, 2020

It was an amazing platform to learn about the history of international criminal along with case law. I had a great time of learning process. Thank you for providing me such a wonderful opportunity of learning😊.

von cm4ever

Jul 12, 2016

It's amazing, I've learnt so many things and I haven't even completed the course (yet)! As it goes, it becomes more and more interesting, compelling to complete it and, maybe, even go for a certificate.

von Petra R

Jul 21, 2017

Only just started but absolutely loving it. I can't believe how much I have already learned!

Just finished ahead of time, it was GREAT and I really would like to see another one to build up on this one!

von Maziatul A K

Apr 11, 2020

The course is very informative and concise, yet it does not leave details that is necessary for nouvelle learners like me, who are interested to delve into understanding International Criminal Law.

von Eleazar L M A

May 23, 2020

Excelente curso, el guia es uno de los mejores profesores que se pueda tener, el programa muy interesante e instructivo, mucha calidad de verdad, este es un curso que recomiendo ampliamente.

von Raymundo G S

Nov 04, 2017

definitivamente es bueno para los que nos gusta esta materias tiene un empuje en lo personal me jalo pero me falto mas tiempo para una buena calificación pero seguiré adelante y mejorare

von Cecilia O

Jul 06, 2019

Lo mejor que me ha pasado es llegar a ser alumna de este gran profesor y el orgullo de terminar satisfactoriamente el curso, el cuál cuenta con un alto nivel internacional.

Gracias por todo

von Viviana E M M

Sep 04, 2019

Muy buen cruso aprendí derecho penal internacional, litigio internacional y practiqué inglés jurídico, aspectos importantes para el ejercicio de la abogacía enfocada en lo internacional

von Dennys F A M

Oct 19, 2015

Simplemente excelente, tuve algún problema por el idioma en los exámenes, sin embargo es una gran materia que brinda mucho conocimiento en materia penal internacional, muchas gracias.

von elohim

Aug 15, 2018

Thank you for letting us know a little of your knowledge and your patience in answering us with your valuable opinions.I send you a fraternal hug and my eternal recognition.Thank you

von Salman A

Mar 16, 2020

This was one of the best courses I ever had. I was too much into this course. I learned a lot I don't have law background but Professor explained everything very well. Thank you :)

von Melvin D G

Sep 20, 2019

Excelente curso, sería genial que los documentos adjuntos estuviesen en Español, o en su defecto en el idioma oriundo del participante, muchas gracias, por tan excelente curso.

von Juliana A M

May 24, 2020

Really easy to follow, but the contents was not simplistic and they really added to my knowledge and understanding of the International Judicial System. Would really recommend

von Annesha K G

Nov 15, 2015

This course is flexible & stuffed with huge information which is really helpful to build our knowledge. Thank you very very much for providing this course.

Annesha Kar Gupta

von Мелехина А П

May 16, 2020

It was really interesting and informative course. I learned a lot of new information and of course I have broaden my horizons. Thank you for your efforts and this course.

von LUZ A C P

Dec 19, 2018

Excelente el curso, felicitaciones. agradecería se tradujeran los materiales escritos, las simulaciones y los exámenes y así la evaluación seria un poco mas equilibrada.

von Cleo T

Nov 21, 2016

Very interesting and I enjoyed the manner in which Michael Scharf taught. Additionally, I liked the course because it is very interactive and there is a lot of freedom.

von Guillermo I A

May 08, 2019

I have taken already different courses of Coursera, and I can assure that this course ir really well developed, with deeply knowledge of both theory and case analysis.

von Faisal R

Feb 25, 2020

Course provides real knowledge about the evolution, development, and implementation of International Criminal Law practices which have occurred in the last century

von Fernanda d S

Dec 29, 2019

Um curso incrível. Super didático e de fácil compreensão.

A Instituição Case Western Reserve University esta de parabéns, por disponibilizar esse tipo de curso.

von Omprakash J

May 19, 2020

This MOOC course is excellent. I loved the way Professor taught the International Criminal Law. I am grateful to him and heart full thanks to the Professor.