Chevron Left
Zurück zu International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
714 Bewertungen
150 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

International Law in Action explains the functions of each international court and tribunal present in The Hague, and it looks at how these institutions address contemporary problems. On the basis of selected cases, and through interviews with judges and lawyers, you will explore the role of these courts and tribunals and their potential to contribute to global justice. The first module of the course will investigate how judicial settlement is different from other more political forms of dispute settlement, such as negotiation and mediation. It offers a brief historical overview and introduces the judicial and arbitral bodies based in The Hague. In the remaining modules you will learn about the functions of these courts and tribunals, and some of the challenges and prospects that they face. Three cross-cutting themes tie together all of these modules: (i) The interaction between law and politics; (ii) The continuing role of State consent; and (iii) The ability of international courts and tribunals to protect the public interest and global values. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into the functions and features of the courts and tribunals present in The Hague. You will gain a familiarity with each court or tribunal. You will develop realistic expectations of their capacity to address contemporary problems and an awareness of their limitations. You will also be able to discuss some of their most prominent cases. If you would like to have a better understanding of international law in action in The Hague, this is definitely the course for you! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera...

Top-Bewertungen

MV

Apr 29, 2019

It was good overview course about three main international courts in The Hague. The lectures were good structured and clear. Interviews were impressed and made international court practices "real".

TD

Mar 24, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging\n\nThis course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 149 Reviews for International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

von ROMEL B B

Jul 16, 2019

The course is helpful and was able to inform me different matters about international courts and the Hague.

von Ravi P C

Jul 03, 2019

Perfect course

in the UN & legal professionals

von Maria V

Apr 29, 2019

It was good overview course about three main international courts in The Hague. The lectures were good structured and clear. Interviews were impressed and made international court practices "real".

von Anita Y

Apr 15, 2019

Very useful course with various practical examples

von ORTHION

Apr 04, 2019

Je recommande vivement cet enseignement de grande qualité.

von Taylor D

Mar 24, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging

This course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

von MIGUEL B E

Mar 13, 2019

congratulations to all the team of collaborators and the teachers, it was a nice experience that I intend to repeat it, a hug to all.

von Robert A d S

Mar 05, 2019

Great course and an amazing opportunity to learn more about International Law!

von Rahul B

Jan 16, 2019

Good reading and reference material

von Sooriya A

Dec 30, 2018

Preferable!

von Bárbara P B V

Dec 14, 2018

It is a very good course with very good professors!

von Yukti R B

Dec 13, 2018

I loved the course material, it was very informative and my understanding of International Courts and Tribunals has definitely increased

von Carla Z G

Sep 15, 2018

Thanks for this course, I had the opportunity to understand the role of the International Law, the Tribunals, the UN the Judges and also the Huge, playing an important in the interstates relationships to equilibrate the world order

von Harish R

Aug 29, 2018

The best course I have done, most boring and most slow. The only thing I have failed after a learners licence. Loved it.

von Gerrard T

Jul 23, 2018

Great Course

von Lakshmi N M

Jun 30, 2018

This is a great course giving complete overview packed with details for any starter in International Law irrespective of their background. The global order and law and the future will be shaped by courses like these.

von Maureen S

Jun 24, 2018

Very clear explanations of the history, structure and functions of these institutions.

von LoriFrank

Jun 22, 2018

I learned a lot. There were not just lectures to watch, but a great deal of reading.

von Anibal M

Jun 12, 2018

Excellent course. Provides a clear vision about the history, functions and future of the international courts of the Hague. I recommend it.

von Gabriella P

May 25, 2018

Really good! Excellent!

von Miriam S

Mar 09, 2018

Interesting course, but rather superficial introduction: Fast paced with little ressources. Good for a quick overview into the Int'l Courts in The Hague

von Monika Z

Mar 03, 2018

Great course for those interested in international law mechanism. Strongly recommend!

von Ingrid B w

Feb 28, 2018

excellent!

von Mohamed A

Feb 25, 2018

This course was really helpfull to build a basic understanding of international courts and tribunals that are based in the Hague

von Geordie K

Feb 23, 2018

Good course to learn the basics of international courts.