Chevron Left
Zurück zu International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
791 Bewertungen
160 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

International Law in Action explains the functions of each international court and tribunal present in The Hague, and it looks at how these institutions address contemporary problems. On the basis of selected cases, and through interviews with judges and lawyers, you will explore the role of these courts and tribunals and their potential to contribute to global justice. The first module of the course will investigate how judicial settlement is different from other more political forms of dispute settlement, such as negotiation and mediation. It offers a brief historical overview and introduces the judicial and arbitral bodies based in The Hague. In the remaining modules you will learn about the functions of these courts and tribunals, and some of the challenges and prospects that they face. Three cross-cutting themes tie together all of these modules: (i) The interaction between law and politics; (ii) The continuing role of State consent; and (iii) The ability of international courts and tribunals to protect the public interest and global values. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into the functions and features of the courts and tribunals present in The Hague. You will gain a familiarity with each court or tribunal. You will develop realistic expectations of their capacity to address contemporary problems and an awareness of their limitations. You will also be able to discuss some of their most prominent cases. If you would like to have a better understanding of international law in action in The Hague, this is definitely the course for you! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera...

Top-Bewertungen

MV

Apr 29, 2019

It was good overview course about three main international courts in The Hague. The lectures were good structured and clear. Interviews were impressed and made international court practices "real".

TD

Mar 24, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging\n\nThis course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 157 Bewertungen für International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

von Rubén B S

Apr 18, 2016

I really enjoyed this course... for those of us that love international law and international relations this one is a must to understand the complexity of the international community and the future of it.

von Luis E M P

Jan 20, 2018

Es genial. Mi primer curso en línea y me parece interactivo, didáctico, entretenido y enriquecedor. Definitivamente una guía para comprender el derecho internacional desde un enfoque jurídico-político.

von Maria V

Apr 29, 2019

It was good overview course about three main international courts in The Hague. The lectures were good structured and clear. Interviews were impressed and made international court practices "real".

von Taylor D

Mar 24, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging

This course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

von Shruti S R

Jan 04, 2017

The course was extremely informative with a holistic perspective on the functioning of various international courts as well as special courts addressing international law issues.

von Yury F V

Jun 19, 2016

Este curso é excelente , o material é fantástico , e os professores são altamente qualificados, parabéns a todos que contribuíram para a realização deste excelente curso.

von Alua M

Jan 27, 2017

I loved this course. Videos are very clear and well structured that for me (with non-law degree) was very easy to follow and systemize my knowledge. Thank you very much.

von Yassine E G

Sep 23, 2017

It was a great program. I appreciate so much the quality of education and also the professors of this course. In short, it was an amazing and unforgettable experience.

von Dhruv S

Aug 14, 2016

Fantastic Course, taught wonderfully well by the three extraordinary instructors. A definite to do for an introductory understanding of the international legal system.

von Alonso R M

May 10, 2016

I recommend this course to everybody, it is very complete and the teachers are amazing. you will learn all about the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague.

von Debora C

Aug 31, 2016

Complete, well done! I really have appreciated video lessons and peer review work! I have enrolled also in the next course on the International Criminal Law.

von Keshav J

Jun 08, 2016

It was a fantastic education on basics of International law for the students like us who are from developing nation and have no access to quality education.

von CARLOS F G T

Mar 28, 2017

El mejor curso. Muy completo y debidamente organizado. Me ha gustado mucho y ha satisfecho mis expectativas. Espero poder seguir aprendiendo mucho.

von Anibal M

Jun 12, 2018

Excellent course. Provides a clear vision about the history, functions and future of the international courts of the Hague. I recommend it.

von Marcus R

Nov 02, 2016

Excellent videos and reference material. Discussion threads disappointing. Not very much reply to discussion. never mind! Thank you !!!

von MIGUEL B E

Mar 13, 2019

congratulations to all the team of collaborators and the teachers, it was a nice experience that I intend to repeat it, a hug to all.

von Hani M I B

Feb 18, 2016

I think this course will be an added value to any one has interest to understand the IL principles with more focus in the Hague.

von Marcela d P

Aug 27, 2019

Really good videos. Very informative and complete. Great study material. Wish the requirements were a bit more strict to pass.

von Tamilla I

Jun 18, 2017

This is a great course and the lecturers are very engaging. Loved it and will definitely pass other Leiden University MOOCs.

von Dubravka P

Mar 08, 2016

Really good course, gives good overview of The Hague Courts and Tribunals. I am definitely enrolling for a follow up course.

von sagar t

Jun 10, 2017

A very informative and dynamic certification for understanding the International Law and seeing it in action at the Hague.

von Harish R

Aug 29, 2018

The best course I have done, most boring and most slow. The only thing I have failed after a learners licence. Loved it.

von karene k l l

Apr 14, 2017

The course is comprehensive and the lecture materials are useful and special! Thank you for such a nice course !

von Yolanda H M

Aug 02, 2017

Excellent and very interesting to know about the International Tribunals from the Hague. Highly recomendable.

von ROMEL B B

Jul 16, 2019

The course is helpful and was able to inform me different matters about international courts and the Hague.