Chevron Left
Zurück zu Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Internet of Things: How did we get here? by University of California San Diego

4.1
683 Bewertungen
194 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top-Bewertungen

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

GP

Jan 05, 2016

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 of 183 Reviews for Internet of Things: How did we get here?

von Vishnu V V

Apr 08, 2017

good one!

von Terrence P

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent material!!!

von Nakib A T

Jun 30, 2018

Concise and basic

von SACHIN T K

May 10, 2016

It was very nice experience doing this course.

Very nice contents and very good explanation.

von Luciano B

Oct 05, 2017

Amazing overview!

von Shahbaz Z

Apr 05, 2018

Great historical background for smartphone evolution

von Mohamed A H N

Jan 16, 2017

Nice Course

von Àrjith A

Dec 09, 2017

Had a great experience to know the basics about IoT. Excited about further courses.

von Syahril A G

Apr 15, 2019

I'm very satisfied with this course. I hope I can make my own IoT in my house.

von Sreeananthan K B

Apr 12, 2019

very interesting subject and useful of latest technologies

von Taimoor M G

May 22, 2019

It was great.

von Gowrishankar.M

May 28, 2019

It was good experience to learn from online. Coursera creating a platform for all to learn the coarse easy and joyful

von mohamed h n o

Jul 11, 2019

Great Introduction course full of information and valuable data

von Victor V

Dec 07, 2018

Good course, but I reckon the quiz should correspond to the lessons material.

von Satish B P

Feb 07, 2019

Lots of history is covered and difficult to remember the names. Some places connectivity is missing. AT$T downfall is not mentioned clearly. Last portion of this course, Applications of IoT is good and should have explained in detail. Happy to know about IoT which is one of my favorite subject to have learned. Thank you to Coursera and Ashok Leyland.

von Hugo V N

Oct 17, 2017

Interesting contents from a historical perspective. However, subtitles of the videos contain many, many errors...

von Samuel T

Nov 08, 2015

Great Course, I hoped it would have gone into a bit more detail, but it was good to get a tour through the history of computer networks.

von Sean W

Nov 04, 2016

Very interesting historical references and the framing of the IoT story around the convergence of technologies was well received by me.

von Steve A

Apr 09, 2016

Fairly good overview of events and technologies leading up to IoT.

von Shailaja S

May 30, 2016

very good

von Zied N

Nov 08, 2015

the questions were too easy in my opinion. everything else is fine

von Maciej W

Dec 11, 2016

The task not matched to the devices in Poland, not every use iPhones.

von Daniel d C D

Feb 23, 2016

The course is great! My only concern is that the accent of the main speaker makes the course a little bit hard to understand by foreigners.

von Abdul F

Feb 07, 2016

A very general introduction to the topic. Fair warning: they throws in allot of acronyms, which can be very discouraging to continue with the course.

von Federico J S

Oct 11, 2016

Pretty loaded with information on how we got to here technology-wise. Lacks on some more in-deep info, even being a introductory course, it could have a bit more info on the state of the art of IoT.