Chevron Left
Zurück zu Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Internet of Things: How did we get here? von University of California San Diego

4.1
693 Bewertungen
199 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Top-Bewertungen

DR

Mar 08, 2016

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

GP

Jan 05, 2016

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 188 Bewertungen für Internet of Things: How did we get here?

von Javier P M

Dec 17, 2017

Great course, with tons of information about the history of actual telecommunications.

von Jose M V A

Nov 02, 2016

Good background for non-experts but just an introductory course.

von Robert S

Jan 18, 2018

A lot of history on the beginning of the wired telephone system, Interesting but not sure how applicable. A few links were broken in the content, still able to get the content and able to do a search to find the info that was unavailable.

Overall very interesting and sets up the remainder of the course well. One thing and I may just not have looked enough to find it is advice on purchasing the Dragonboard 410c.

von SHIN Y

Aug 20, 2017

This course is very useful for you to understand what is IoT and history of data communication and internet.

von GADDE R

Nov 10, 2016

it's very usefull

von Chetan

Jun 23, 2017

Interesting!!

von Eslam M F

Apr 15, 2017

Actually the course is great but i am not into history, seems that i have memory issues to memorize these tons of information, greetings for all of you guys and hope i would work with my memorizing issue through the rest of the course :). Thanks

von Daniel d C D

Feb 23, 2016

The course is great! My only concern is that the accent of the main speaker makes the course a little bit hard to understand by foreigners.

von Deryck C

Apr 04, 2016

Good review of the history.

von Rangel A

Sep 16, 2016

Initially gets very boring but at the end gives you more information about where to orient yourself, some useful information,

von Federico J S

Oct 11, 2016

Pretty loaded with information on how we got to here technology-wise. Lacks on some more in-deep info, even being a introductory course, it could have a bit more info on the state of the art of IoT.

von Heo T

Dec 19, 2015

It was helpful to understand IoT but I want to the lecture note would be enhanced.

von Hugo V N

Oct 17, 2017

Interesting contents from a historical perspective. However, subtitles of the videos contain many, many errors...

von Abhishek B

Oct 08, 2015

Good Course for Evolution of IoT

von Samuel T

Nov 08, 2015

Great Course, I hoped it would have gone into a bit more detail, but it was good to get a tour through the history of computer networks.

von Shailaja S

May 30, 2016

very good

von NALLA V V S D S R

Sep 21, 2017

this course is good

von Sean W

Nov 04, 2016

Very interesting historical references and the framing of the IoT story around the convergence of technologies was well received by me.

von Amit R

Oct 19, 2016

Excellent introduction to IoT with both high level history and application information and details on communication technology that has enabled the IoT revolution.

von Steve A

Apr 09, 2016

Fairly good overview of events and technologies leading up to IoT.

von SFUA

Aug 08, 2016

NB-IoT is not discussed while getting upto here.

von Han Y

May 08, 2019

wonderful course, but weird quiz...

von SHIJU

Aug 19, 2019

Good course to learn.Upgraded lot of information related to iot

von Erwin V

Mar 18, 2017

In itself interesting content, structure was difficult to follow and the history - in my humble view - was going back too far into the past whereas more recent developments where only touched at the surface, quality of slides was poor.

von Abhishek P

Dec 04, 2016

The teaching has been concise and to the point which is good but not so good for a few difficult topics. Also I've been experiencing video lag and audio stuttering while streaming the videos so there's that.