Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization, University of Pennsylvania

4.6
992 Bewertungen
290 Bewertungen

Über diesen Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top-Bewertungen

von SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

von GP

Mar 21, 2018

Learned more then I could have wished for, this is the best course I have had on Ancient Egypt. Thank you Professor David P. Silverman, you made this class very interesting.

Filtern nach:

286 Bewertungen

von Alpana Ray

May 24, 2019

Week 2 ----History and Chronology Quiz is very tough. But the later onces are good enough. I have learnt a lot with this course. It fulfills my dream.

von

May 20, 2019

Mr. Silverman is such a good teacher and charismatic! Also bought his book, i highly recommend!

von Shriya Modak

May 18, 2019

Amazing course i learnt a lot about egyptian history. Dr Silverman lectures were very interesting and informative,

von Jerry Persall

May 17, 2019

Bought both course and optional book. Enjoyed the course with some reservations as noted herein and conclude that the book is better by far. I am glad to have it as a resource while I am dabbling in Egyptology these days. Finished the course in less than a week.

It should be noted that, for the most part, this is a series of short 2-6 minute lectures delivered in "talking head" style with what has been called "negative stage presence" doing "stand and deliver" lectures read from a prompter of some kind. There is a good attempt at production quality in the video lectures.

The least enjoyable part are the accompanying lecture notes presented as ".txt" files filled with grammar, syntax and typo errors. Printed them out and read them all. "Ray" is not the spelling of either Re or Ra but it's in there. These need a complete proofreading.

The quizzes are problematic at times. I will mention only the quiz at the end of "Mummies and Mummification:" where there is a question regarding how the heart was handled during the mummification process. From the lecture and the lecture notes: "It was either left in place or removed, mummified, and then replaced in the body." This means it is an either/or but only one of these will be marked correct. I would like my quiz corrected.

Overall, I got what I came for - a fairly comprehensive overview and introduction to ancient Egypt and Its Civilization. I learned new facts, gained new insights and picked up some heretofore unknown subtleties. I enjoyed it but had to work through some unnecessary pedagogy. Glad I did it. Took about 10 hours as advertised. Evidently there is a follow up course but I will not be going forward with it. I appreciated this introductory course for what it is.

von Amy Fletcher

May 15, 2019

Was wonderful. Instructor is very knowledgeable and this was great beginner's learning. Recommend.

von Vojtěch Kyselý

May 15, 2019

A great introduction into the Ancient Egypt! You get to know the basics about pyramids, mummies, gods, and life in then-Egypt.

von Kelly Godbold

May 14, 2019

Excellent course to introduce the Ancient Egyptian civilization.

von Simone Leclair

May 13, 2019

A good course, marred only by occasional poor quiz questions. Problem questions were either ambiguous or, more often than not, referred to material from previous weeks or not in the course at all. Independent research was then necessary to be confident of a correct answer at first attempt. Most problems seem likely due to course editing and subsequent loss of internal referential integrity.

von RESSE Baptiste

May 07, 2019

Great cours, learn a lot in it. Bacis about Acient Egypt Civilization, history, deities, writing systems etc.... Thanks Pr. Silverman.

von Enrique Utrilla Urgel

May 04, 2019

It's been a very interesting course, quick and easy to follow.