Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
2,435 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top-Bewertungen

DA

27. Mai 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.

Do join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24. März 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 741 Bewertungen für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

von Kaio L C A

7. Sep. 2021

Excellent course, great for anyone interested in Egyptology. Dr. David P. Silverman excels in clearly conveying his knowledge.

von Vojtěch K

15. Mai 2019

A great introduction into the Ancient Egypt! You get to know the basics about pyramids, mummies, gods, and life in then-Egypt.

von Denice E W

13. Juni 2020

Really enjoyed this course. I have a lot of Egyptian history and this course helped me organize it and better understand it.

von Victor R

15. Okt. 2020

An exceptionally-designed course for the ancient history enthusiast which delves correctly and thoroughly into Egyptology.

von Rodrigo A F R

20. Dez. 2018

Me gusto mucho, es fácil comprender todo lo que habla el profesor y es muy entretenido que haga las clases desde el museo.

von Aldrin P

14. Dez. 2020

Comprehensive and informative. Lot's of learnings on the origins and other facts on culture and history of Ancient Egypt.

von Advise D

24. März 2019

Couldn't have found a better course than this to get started on the Egyptian civilization. Very well taught by Mr. David.

von Ong L W

1. Mai 2020

Insightful and well developed. I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to taking Wonders of Ancient Egypt next!

von Gonca D

15. Okt. 2017

This course presents an excellent introduction for ancient Egypt. For the beginners like me, it can't be better. Thanks!

von Alyssa J L L

5. Aug. 2017

I would like to thank this course for giving me opportunity to learn and discover more about the Egyptian Civilization .

von Audrey T

14. Dez. 2016

Fantastic introduction to Ancient Egypt. Thought provoking and well researched. Has increased my interest in Egyptology.

von Афанасьев И А

23. Okt. 2021

Very insightful for the beginner, and very helpful for the revision, in case one has already studied the Ancient Egypt.

von Tania T

7. März 2021

Really enjoyed taking this course! Well explained, and full of interesting details in a general preview of the subject.

von Shalini N

3. Juni 2020

If you're obsessed with the Ancient Egyptian history, do take this course. It is brilliant! Enjoyed every second of it!

von George P

6. Mai 2020

Wondefrul course, the teacher is brilliant I love the teacher and his lessons. Mani thanks professor David P. Silverman

von Saffron U

9. Feb. 2019

Varied and detailed course covering most of the bases you could want from Ancient Egypt. Enjoyed this course very much!

von Jordan M

24. Juni 2020

Very put together course. I would have enjoyed it to go a little more in detail, but for an introduction it was great.

von Deborah R

28. Mai 2021

​Buy Davids book, it is beautifully illustrated and very helpful during this course. An excellent, enjoyable course.

von Horacio A

11. Nov. 2020

Buenos días, me gusto el curso ya que da una mirada rápida a todo lo que significa el Egipto antiguo.

Muchas gracias.

von Dennis S

25. Okt. 2020

I like the course, informative and well done. I wish there was a way to submit questions other than the discussions.

von Megan J P

9. Juli 2017

I feel that I have learned a lot from this course. I am a historian and plan on using this knowledge in the future.

von Robert L

5. März 2017

It was very interesting and the Professor was very knowledgable. I enjoyed the course work and readings.

Thank you.

von Cyrus W P Y

19. Nov. 2016

This is an extremly intrested couse it talkes about pharohs, gods, and the best of all mumification and after life!

von Shriya M

18. Mai 2019

Amazing course i learnt a lot about egyptian history. Dr Silverman lectures were very interesting and informative,

von raashid a a

27. Feb. 2019

I really liked this course and how it gave me a week by week teaching of ancient egypt. It was really interesting!