Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
2,440 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top-Bewertungen

DA

27. Mai 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.

Do join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24. März 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtern nach:

726 - 743 von 743 Bewertungen für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

von Spencer P

14. Jan. 2021

A lot of information all at once

von Yuen L T L

24. Feb. 2019

The quiz was the best part

von Omid G

17. Dez. 2020

Although the content is interesting but the teacher is very very verrrrrrrrrrrrry monotonic and boring. He doesnt teach he is a talking book, an audiobook with a face. That is not teaching really. It bores the audience and distracts them after some time. Also the modules are not well connected or maybe I didnt understand very well since I was bored after 5 minutes. There is space, alot of space for improvement.

von İLKİN B

5. Juli 2021

Just a few points to make: So many points are indicated or summarized at places. The way the texts written do not sound of the sciences. Referring to Heredotus and then nullifying him do not help but complicate. Akhenaten is very important as stated at the very beginning but left out of the scope for the sakeof length. No reference to read the story of Aten is given either. Pity!

von Caelyn M

29. Nov. 2016

I was disappointed by this course. I thought it was poorly organized and focused too much on trivia and not enough on motivating and contextualizing Ancient Egyptian civilization. I was hoping to come away from this course with a richer understanding of Ancient Egypt. The lectures were surprisingly dry.

von nuria a

28. Nov. 2021

el nivel es muy bajo, la información se da desordenada, en varios momentos se dice "de esto hablaremos mas tarde" y no se habla mas tarde. no me ha gustado. no es agil. los examenes son muy faciles, no hay examen final. creo que se deberia recalificar como un curso muy facil.

von Katharina H

10. Apr. 2017

Unfortunately, I did not find the course overly engaging and only provided very basic information. It would have been more interesting to look at a few things more in depth.

von Bhavik D

5. Mai 2020

How is it possible to teach one of the most exciting optics in the most uninteresting, convoluted and rash manner with preposterously odd quiz questions?

von Francine

28. Nov. 2016

Very interesting subject matter, however, sadly brought in a boring way, resulting in my quitting the course.

von William J H C

6. Okt. 2017

Fascinating subject but presentation was very wooden.

von Laura C

6. März 2018

very dry and slow, not very easy to pay attention to

von Bill T

29. Nov. 2016

Very limited treatment of the subject.

von Jan S

20. Juli 2020

commentary just 2 monotone.

von Pasquale B

13. Juni 2017

Too simple!

von María J M F

4. Sep. 2017

Poor

von Anna V

6. Juni 2021

Very, very boring course. Told in a monotone way and there were inserted unnecessary pointings on the university and its museum and excavations... as well as unnecessary facts such as there is a pyramid shape in Las Vegas or Louvre... I could find more facts about Ancient Egypt in loads of other sources and books. I completed it just to have it marked as completed. Don't reccomend.

von Kamilė V

4. Aug. 2022

The subject itself fascinates me, but the lector makes it extremely boring and I just do not wish to waste my time. Youtube videos are better at this point. I suggest to change the professor and renew your script.

von Emma K

13. Nov. 2021

They made such an interesting course as Ancient Egypt EXTREMELY boring. It's impossibe to listen, with such a monothone and lifeless voice