Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
2,440 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top-Bewertungen

DA

27. Mai 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.

Do join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24. März 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 743 Bewertungen für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

von gina d

27. Juli 2020

I really enjoyed this course.I learned so much. I would like to know the correct answers to the quiz questions that I answered incorrectly.Maybe that can be added in future courses.Professor Silverman was a wealth of knowledge .The quizzes were great and the chapters were so informative.Arelly great course.

von SURABHI B

20. Sep. 2020

This is an amazing course for anyone who is passionate to know more about the ancient Egypt civilization. You also have reading material and links that provide you with more detailed information. The course has a lot of visual and symbols and by the end you start to recognize certain symbols by your know.

von John R

14. Aug. 2017

Usually when I take a "history" course, I expect a chronological listing of facts. Instead, I found an very interesting presentation centering around different cultural aspects of the ancient Egyptian history. I was stimulated by the course, and really enjoyed it. Thank you for the quality presentation.

von Panchali M

27. Nov. 2018

It is an extremely good course from which I have benefitted immensely. I have been introduced to the idea of Egyptology. It is easy to understand and assimilate. I am certainly better equipped in Egyptology as a result of this course and it has also generated my interest for further studies in this area.

von David H

30. Juni 2017

This course was very enlightening. It stayed with the main Kings and more historically important times and stayed away from minor, unimportant times and dynastys. Very well done and interesting all the way through it. The course instructor was relaxed, knowledgeable and knes when to get the point across.

von Nancy A

5. Mai 2020

That was outstanding. Learned so very much. Loved being able to see the artifacts, etc. Explanation and the delivery of information was at a perfect pace. Would highly recommend this course to anyone wanting an excellent overview of Ancient Egypt. Loved the mummy stuff as well as the visit the lab!

von Irene m

18. Jan. 2017

The skills that someone can aquire in brief:

approaching a vast time period critically through keystones

identifying the most important pharaohs and the monuments connected to them

realising and respecting the significance of different opinions -perceptions in order to decipher the code called "Egypt"

von 王若寒

6. Dez. 2016

Knowing nothing about ancient Egypt except for pure words like "mummies, pyramids, sphinx, curses, pharaohs...", I took this course out of curiosity. And every word have become concrete when I progress in this course under Prof. Silverman's instruction and tour in the Penn museum. This has been a

von Stacey G

21. Sep. 2020

Highly recommended course. Dr Silverman is a great teacher of this. If you have an interest in history you should take this. I liked the many shorter videos instead of 1 or 2 long ones. It broke up the lecture so all the information given could sink in before moving on to the next subject.

von ali g

2. Nov. 2021

I learned a lot about the Egyptian civilization, especially about their religious beliefs and their connection with their building of the pyramids, about the complex of ancient Egyptian gods, and a lot about their kings and what distinguishes them, especially with regard to mummification.

von ANDREA C T

10. Jan. 2021

El curso es bastante interesante. Me hubiera gustado que abordaran con mayor profundidad la parte de los jeroglíficos, pero realmente lo que aprendí fue muy interesante y relevante para mi próximo viaje a Egipto. La parte de los links y la bibliografía ayudan a profundizar en los temas.

von Dana F

10. Mai 2020

This course is a dynamic and detailed introduction to Egyptology, aided by examples from artifacts in the Penn Museum. It's delicately and appropriately paced and I came out of it having learned immensely about this civilization and aspects of its culture and legacy. Highly recommend!

von Avi D

22. Mai 2017

I had a lot of fun learning this course. As a student of Art and also being a museum geek, it will help me a lot in future to explain others regarding the Ancient Egyptians.

Thank you so much Coursera for existing and bringing in universities like Penn into the online learning forum.

von sunshinesmile018

1. Aug. 2022

Loved the course! It is full of rich materials and information. Learned tons. I especially like the teaching site was picked at Pen Museum, felt that I was there observing the artifacts while learning... I am going to enroll the other course lectured by Professor David P. Silverman.

von Partho P U

11. Apr. 2020

Wonderful Introduction from Professor David Silverman. Beautifully structured course with distinctive sections covering Kingdoms, Pharaohs, God and Goddesses, Mummy's and Mummification. Strongly recommend this course as a stepping stone in Egyptology. Thank You Professor Silverman.

von Gabrielle M

27. Okt. 2020

As someone who really loves ancient Egypt, this was a perfect crash course on the basics and essential knowledge. The video clips were not too short nor too long so was able to breeze through it in a couple of days. It's just like how it would be presented in a classroom setting.

von Marina J S

8. Dez. 2016

This was a fantastic course, taught by a very experienced professor. The videos and script, which followed with images and parts of the museum, really helped in making come together with concept and context. It was an excellent course and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

von Dhwani M

27. Juli 2022

The course provided comprehensive knowledge about Egyptian History and has increased my appetite to know even more about it so that I may progress towards my aim of becoming a historian/archaeologist. It has increased my hunger of acquiring more knowledge about ancient times.

von mohamed h m

9. Dez. 2019

This course is truly wonderful, I found with it a very large amount of documented information about the ancient Egyptian civilization to the degree of fascinated me, and made me feel information poverty about my country civilization ..

The way the subject is taught is great

von Vicki Z F

25. Mai 2020

Excellent course and wonderful instructor. The course left me wanting more! The only criticism I have is the abysmal state of the transcripts (in terms of accuracy, grammar, coherence, they all left much to be desired). And that is my ONLY criticism -- this course is great!

von Chandler W

18. Aug. 2017

Provided great background info on the culture and revealed new perspectives-I learned a great deal about how diverse and dynamic the legacy of ancient Egyptian civilizations are and gained better fact-based knowledge that contradicted some of the info I learned in the past.

von Lara F

10. Jan. 2018

I hoped when I started this course that I would develop a framework for understanding and building on knowledge about Ancient Egypt. The course gave a useful taster of different elements of this fascinating society and has inspired me to learn more. Exactly as I hoped.

von Podoinikova M

28. Juli 2017

Thank you! Actually it was great time i've spent with this course, it takes 3 days and partly my knowledge in these sphere. Also I want to say, that Penn museum is really great, and I wish every worker and museologist a lot of new artefacts and professional inspiration.

von paulina l

2. Juni 2019

Es un curso muy completo para comprender y conocer el antiguo Egipto. Tanto los videos, como las lecturas complemenatarias, así como el poder hacer notas son de utilidad para resumir la información y poder contestar las preguntas que se hacen al final de cada módulo.

von Ramon v O

23. Jan. 2022

​Great course of the basic knowledge of Egypt, teached by David Silverman. Great backgrounds and artifacts in the Penn museum, and endless knowledge from Dr. Silverman. Highly recommended. Looking forward to the other Egypt course by the University of Pennsylvania.