Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
2,440 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top-Bewertungen

DA

27. Mai 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.

Do join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24. März 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 742 Bewertungen für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

von ALEJANDRO D M

24. Mai 2021

David P. Silverman is very good at explaining and conveying his knowledge to listener. The course is brief, but it´s very informative to talk about Ancient Egypt.

von Antonio B

24. Apr. 2020

I found this course a joy to complete - yes its demanding. I suggest you pay close attention to the video's you really need to think and listen. superb structure.

von Alessandra R

21. Apr. 2020

Really interesting. I am already an experienced archaeologist, but Egyptology was missing from my previous studies. This was a really good chance to catching up.

von Santiago V R

27. Nov. 2016

This course is recommendable for anyone who wants to begin to study the Ancient Egypt word. It contains very interesting videos and readings! I have enjoyed it!

von Steo

6. Jan. 2018

This is the best overview course about Ancient Egypt civilisation I could dream of. Mr Silverman brings reliable information and can transmit his passion well.

von Matteo S

8. Feb. 2019

The course provides a good overview, a lot information, spurs to acquire also a good iconographic knowledge of the subject and reason about the main concepts.

von josé m

26. Dez. 2021

Um curso completo e incrível para quem é da área de História e deseja aprofundar-se no estudo do Egito Antigo! Simplesmente fantástico e incrível este curso.

von jui a

28. Apr. 2021

Amazing lecture. there was so much to learn about the traditions, customs, and life of the ancient Egyptians! I wish to learn more on this courser in detail

von Elizabeth G

8. Mai 2020

Very interesting overview of Egyptology, good videos which feature artifacts in the Penn museum. Thanks to Dr Silverman for making this course available.

von PhantomDuck1980

7. Nov. 2017

An excellent class! I strongly recommend it to everyone. It helped me a lot to understand fundamental aspects of Ancient Egypt Civilation. Very helpful!!!

von Michael A

26. Juni 2020

Lots of depth in this course from a highly respected Egyptologist expert and Professor.

Really liked the last video where they look at a mummy in the lab.

von Ying X

12. März 2017

learned a lot about Egypt which is total vacancy in my knowledge before taking the course and helped in greater understanding of Penn Museum's collection

von Tintu M

9. Feb. 2017

Excellent. A load of new things to know. Helps a lot to understand the diversity and the way of life of people who are ancient and also most intelligent.

von Doug M

9. Feb. 2021

great course. the only thing that would have helped me was an occasional timeline graphic of the various kingdoms and pharaohs referred to in the text.

von Fan C

19. Sep. 2019

This course is really a good introduction to Ancient Egypt. I learn a lot of general information about Ancient Egypt and additional interesting topics.

von Shuaib I

23. Apr. 2017

Touching on chronology , kingship , mythology , mummies and pyramids while informing and amazing this has been one of the most enjoyable courses ever .

von Arianna B

8. Juni 2020

Taking this course has reminded me of why I love history. Ancient Egypt gave me a passion for history, this course has reminded me of that. Thank you.

von Caitlin O

24. März 2019

Fantastic course! Absolutely loved it and it was very easy to follow. I learnt a lot and it has increased my desire to learn more about Ancient Egypt.

von Roxana P

4. Apr. 2021

Dr Silverman explains everything in a quiet calm voice and the explanations are very interesting. I home to’ take another corse. Thank you very much

von Brittani P

12. Apr. 2022

I really enjoyed this course and the information. Thank you for providing the audio and information to continue reading, I really enjoyed all of it.

von Yuthika

10. Aug. 2020

Every topic related to ancient Egypt has been covered.Everything which i wanted to know about its civilization and ancient god of Egypt learnt here.

von Rafel V L

9. Juni 2020

Very interesting introduction to the Ancient Egypt, It was a wonderful way to learn about the pharaohs and others important things of Ancient Egypt.

von Erin L

25. Feb. 2017

A quick but thorough introduction to Ancient Egypt, with the added bonus of serving as an introduction to the Penn Museum's Ancient Egypt collection

von Christina P

12. Dez. 2016

I am inspired to travel to visit Penn Museum. I hope to soon. Thank you for the course, I would take more in this field in the future if offered.