Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
2,440 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Top-Bewertungen

DA

27. Mai 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.

Do join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24. März 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 743 Bewertungen für Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

von Tertius d J

18. März 2020

I do have now a better, complete, chronicle view on Ancient Egypt and wish I could have this knowledge before our family visit in Egypt in 2005.

von Brittany S

21. Juni 2017

I enjoyed this class, the last videos about the mummification process were particularly interesting and really humanized this ancient culture.

von Katharina R

7. Okt. 2020

I enjoyed the course a lot. It gave me a structured introduction and I learned new aspects of ancient Egyptian history I did not know before.

von Janet B

20. Nov. 2019

Was an easy to follow format. Learned a lot and reviewed some material. Would love to go to the Univ, of Penn to see their Egyptian exhibit.

von katrina h à c

16. Jan. 2017

i really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot. having the lectures inside the museum was great. i also really enjoyed the session in the lab.

von Angshool D

5. Juli 2020

I loved the course. Something new I got to learn.The professor was very good and explained everything properly.Overall I enjoyed very much .

von Offir b

7. Apr. 2020

Very interesting happening, enriching general treasure, expanding knowledge of the history of ancient Egypt, and very interesting, thank you

von Mathieu R

11. Dez. 2016

This course was very interesting. I feel very lucky to get this opportunity to understand more some of the old Egypt mysteries. Thank you !

von Maria

11. Dez. 2016

Thank you for that course, I was really waiting for it to appear in Coursera. A lot of new information, looking forward to the next course!

von Ariane M

18. Jan. 2022

E​xcellent course. Great videos with transcripts. A lot of information with interesting pictures to back it up. Thank you for this course!

von Victor F S O C

27. Sep. 2021

Hi! I just wanted to say I am really grateful for this course, I was totally amazed I totally loved it and I just wanted to say thank you!

von Anne E

9. Okt. 2017

Excellent diversion from contemporary ordeals and a joy to consider how much our society shares in common with ancient Egypt.

Thanks much!

von Cristina M

30. Apr. 2017

I really enjoyed this course and I will miss Dr SIlverman's voice. This course made me eaer to kearn more about Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

von Mounisha M

1. Aug. 2019

It's a great course I have completed. I have the answers of many of my questions about the Egyptian civilization. Thanks a lot coursera.

von B S

9. Aug. 2021

I loved everything about this course. The lectures were fascinating and the exhibits breathtaking. I would highly recommend this class.

von Paulo d V L

11. Juli 2021

Excelente curso com bom material de referência. As aulas são muito claras e explicadas de maneira bem simples e com boas ilustrações.

von Andrea G

13. Sep. 2020

This was a great class to learn the basics of Ancient Egypt without feeling overwhelmed. I enjoyed the lectures from David Silverman.

von Carmen R

4. Apr. 2020

Excellent intro to the basic principals of Ancient Egypt. The reading assignments add to the enjoyment. The text is also excellent.

von Adam P

24. Aug. 2018

This course was incredibly informative and the thorough integration of real artifacts was a pleasure. Thank you, Professor Silverman!

von Quin R

18. Apr. 2021

Wonderful introductory course, and I really enjoyed the textbook. Booked my first trip to Egypt right after finishing this course!

von John F C A

28. März 2021

GENIALLL!!! muchas cosas por recordar, mcuhas cosas nuevas y muchas cosas pendeitnes por concoer,,!! muy contento muchas gracias!!

von Sophia A

28. März 2019

Wonderful course! It was very insightful and interesting, and I can't wait to take it's sister course, "Wonders of Ancient Egypt"!

von Omar C B

8. Sep. 2021

Os cursos, em geral, são excelentes. Só acho que, por US$ 29.00, deveríamos receber nossos certificados impressos e pelo correio.

von Jamison G

30. Apr. 2020

Very enlightening class. I got a lot of good information out of the lectures. Hopefully I get to visit the Penn Museum someday :)

von Amber C M

18. Dez. 2016

I learned more than I ever knew, even as an avid museum goer and Egypt enthusiast, and loved the videos and museum pieces shown!