Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to CSS3

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to CSS3 von University of Michigan

4.8
Sterne
7,663 Bewertungen
1,555 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

Top-Bewertungen

MK

Sep 26, 2020

This course is a recommendable for all beginners who are interested in designing and styling their web pages. The whole course is interesting and challenging at the end of the course and I enjoyed it.

AF

Dec 26, 2015

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

Filtern nach:

1276 - 1300 von 1,530 Bewertungen für Introduction to CSS3

von SAURBH K G

Jul 23, 2020

hi

von Nguyễn V S

Jul 15, 2020

ok

von TamPTHS130068

Feb 20, 2020

<3

von TNT

Feb 22, 2020

f

von pdevill

Sep 21, 2016

I

von Christina O

Jan 27, 2016

The material and resources are excellent. This was the first course I took without any mentors or tutors, so my participation in the discussions was very high. The following could be improved: inclusion of 'type="text/css"' in the <LINK> element; perils of alternating between background and background-color, especially in complicated, long style sheets; links to Coursera lecture videos and materials from the students' side rather than teacher's; explanation for Assignment One if the text-align:center style should be applied to the <a> or the <nav> element (I used the nav because I wanted the menu styled below the H1 heading, which is where the menu is positioned in later assignments).

I'm deducting a star for Coursera's unwillingness to respond in its Community Help Forums to its method of assigning peer review assignments and for introducing new 'features' without notice to its educational content partners. I shouldn't have to engage a very busy professional to intercede on the students' behalf. Despite the large population of people taking the class (or is that cumulative? Coursera doesn't specify), about twenty students were active on the Discussion Forums. I felt we students were left on our own which is fine as long as we all are aware that the more peer reviews we do, the more we can learn from each other.

I also did not like the error message in red 'There was an upload error. Please try again' coexisting with the 'Your assignment was submitted successfully!' in green on the same page. This confused lots of us and those of us who'd never used the transloadit.com script for uploading our assignments for peer-review would only know of transmission error if classmates flagged our submissions. I identified this as an issue and Coursera didn't respond because I'm only a lowlife deadbeat student. Never mind that there are people who've paid for the courses who encounter the same issues on this platform.

von James B

Dec 08, 2018

Was great, much more challenging to stay focused than HTML to be honest, but I managed to tough it out. A lot to remember and I wonder how much of this is going to be fully automated work soon. Are we really going to be using code to style tables in the next five years or will it nearly universally be done via GUI. I guess it doesn't matter because this course does help. You get a good idea of why things work not just completely surface level stuff. Lots of opportunity to learn as you go. Honestly I'd just skip the reading and go straight to the assignments. Figure stuff out with google then go back to watch the lectures, I feel like it would have sunk in better for me if I'd done it in that order. Anyway to close this wall of text I'd say it was pretty decent, just do your stuff quickly so you can get peer reviewed.

von Naushina K

Dec 02, 2019

As a complete newbie to CSS I have to say that I learnt a lot with this course! Colleen is the abosulte best at breaking information down and making it digestable. I only wish there were more exercises that helped us grasp and use the more complicated code towards the end. I appreciate the resources she always points us towards. This really helps to go and fill in the blanks or understand concepts you may not get at the first go. coming from a complete beginner who has bounced about (in frustration) from one begininner CSS course to another; this was just what I was looking for!

von Amitesh S B

Jul 01, 2019

The course was an amazing one to learn from css basics to a good introduction advanced css. The basics are explained thoroughly and the material provided was also of remarkable quality to enhance skills in css. The one thing i did not like was the final assignment as it was quite easy. We should have been given more content and asked to make a bigger page with styling lots of content while getting help from the instructor. Although overall i learned a lot from this course that i can put up something cool out there on the web. Thanks

von Dillan M

May 04, 2020

Dr Colleen has given us a snippet on how we should design and create a stylesheet. I have learned some aspects, yes but a majority of the curriculum here is "look at the internet to find out more!" I would've liked more code together lesson videos as opposed to "look at this code I made!"

The lessons were informative, I give my thanks to Dr Colleen for preparing these lessons for us. Yet I feel that it's a little rushed, I would've liked longer weeks and a more in-depth lesson on transitions and animations.

von Lanval M

Apr 01, 2016

This course was great, it really helped me to learn the basics of CSS3. However, the week number two was way too difficult in comparison to the three other weeks and sometimes a little bit confusing. I think this part was not very well balanced and they could have divided the level of difficulty more efficiently between the different weeks : this is why I removed a star in my final notation. Everything else was fantastic !

von Janna H

Feb 09, 2018

It was pretty challenging to figure out my CSS workflow during the course of this class. I could have used a bit more instruction on that. Using Inspect Elements wasn't super helpful. Moving from HTML to CSS was a big jump in terms of numbers of windows I needed open and number of times I was saving a refreshing. I recommend adding a little bit for students to help set up their workflow. Otherwise, great class!

von Rounak S

Aug 10, 2020

Sometimes grades are given wrongly. I complete all whatever is been asked in the assignment still the points give to me are different. For example if I was asked to include 4 properties to table tag and marks were 4 point but some pear grading gave it 2 or 3 which is kind of unfair for the student who has worked on it so well.Peer grading should be fair as the work done.

Thank you.

von Maria d C P

Apr 16, 2016

It's a good course for beginner, lots of CSS properties and pseudo-class selectors are covered in detail during the classes and you will get a good knowledge about CSS. If you code along the course and do all the assignments to practice in the end of the course you will have solid foundation for continued learning and programming in CSS3. It is course that I recommend to enroll.

von Maryam J

Jul 01, 2020

Like the previous course, this course was also more like "dig into it more by yourself" - which is good. It urges learners to learn stuffs on their own too. Moreover, one fall back was that it should have divided into more weeks as alot of content was covered in week 2 and 3 which made us a little bit confused. Besides all this, it kept me on my heels waiting for more to come.

von Pamela K

Aug 12, 2016

Colleen van Lent made this so easy and clear to understand. There were some shortfalls with the peer reviewed grading which is the only reason why this isn't a five star review, but the content and the teaching style were absolutely spectacular! I am part of a few novice web designer groups on Facebook and I've already recommended this course to hundreds of members.

von Leroy D

Mar 14, 2016

Like the HTML class before this was new to me but Colleen's delivery of the material kept my attention and I am very happy I decided to take the course. I hope to continue with the other courses to complete the program as soon as I make myself more familiar with what I have learned so far in HTML and CSS. Thanks again to Coursera and Colleen.

von Simran B

Apr 22, 2020

The instructor is nice.It covers a lot of CSS properties along with the accesibility required in webpages.The pace and spped is also very nice.The assignments given is one of the best part of this video as it helps in implementing what we have learnt.Just the animation part is not covered which would have been good if they covered it .

von Raghav S

Apr 11, 2020

The Course is awesome but there is one thing that lacks. Almost all boot camps and courses online provide a solution video for every assignment so that the learner completely understands the concept. I would appreciate it if Coursera can introduce solution videos for the final assignment once the learner has submitted his project.

von Mohit P

Oct 03, 2020

It was such a great course and I would like to thank Colleen ma'am a lot because not only she gave her lessons very well but she always told us throughput the course that we should do something by ourselves to gain more and more knowledge of what is going on which eventually helped me a lot to understand concepts.

von DadEap

Nov 06, 2015

Great course in the sense that we start from scratch to be able to do good design. But I think week 3 should have an assignment too (we don't really have to play with position, transition, etc ...), and that week 4 was too light (not a lot of new stuff, and only design a table as assignment).

von Jay B

Jun 24, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, they do build on one another and though there's quite a bit of information, as Dr. van Lent says, use the internet as a resource. I found myself using the internet to complete many of the assignments, along with trial and error. I had fun doing this course.

von Shahbaz F K

Jan 03, 2017

This is a great course for anyone beginning with Web design and styling. It not just teaches you different style elements of CSS3, but also suggests best practises in web design as well as encourages us to design for a wider audience including those who are differently-abled.

von Vinayak N

Jun 10, 2020

A well-put concise yet informative course. Instructor is awesome and teaches with easy to understand examples. The number of practise assignments could have been more, then I wouldn't hesitate to give even a 5/5. The course is in all a really nice deal!

von Taoran Z

Mar 19, 2020

Looks like part of the class materials need to be updated. But it makes me feel that they are lazy because they inserted some text boxes rather than updating the videos. Also I found that sometimes the presentation has typos which should be fixed.