Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Climate Change and Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Climate Change and Health von Yale University

4.7
Sterne
275 Bewertungen
59 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Climate change is one of the greatest threats to human health in the 21st century. Yet these impacts to health are still not well recognized. Since you can’t change what you don’t understand, this course is designed to equip health and environmental professionals, as well as other changemakers and the public, with critical and usable knowledge to take positive action. The course begins with an introduction to the science of climate change and how climate change affects human health. It takes a deep dive into climate change’s adverse health effects, including those related to extreme heat, waterborne infections, insect-borne diseases, and exposure to storms and floods. Throughout, the theme of health equity is interwoven by pointing to what factors make some populations more vulnerable than others to climate change’s negative health impacts. Finally, the course explains how measures to reduce greenhouse gas emissions can not only limit future climate change but can also generate substantial immediate health “co-benefits” over and above the benefit of reducing climate change. Following completion of the course, students will be able to: · At an introductory level, describe how the climate has changed, explain the role of greenhouse gases in climate change, and describe how the climate is predicted to change in the future. · Describe how climate change adversely impacts population health, with differing vulnerability across population sub-groups, through direct effects; through ecosystem transformation and degradation; and through the stress it places on political, economic, and social systems. · Explain how adaptation and mitigation strategies can reduce adverse health impacts of climate change and can generate substantial non-climate health benefits in a just and equitable manner....

Top-Bewertungen

SA

May 04, 2020

Great course for getting one's feet wet in the world of climate change. I learned a few very interesting things and look forward to more in the next two classes in the series.

AN

Jul 14, 2020

Very Useful And Informative Course for the one who needs to know the very dynamics of the or for the protection of our nature by combating the climate change.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 59 Bewertungen für Introduction to Climate Change and Health

von flighting

Oct 21, 2019

Very helpful and giving ideas

von Mirco P

Apr 10, 2020

Well intended course for those looking for a brief overview on the main concept of climate change and the most common impact climate change has on health. Specific diseases are discussed in details. The final assignment is a 400 words long analysis on 3 adverse impact of climate change on health in a specific region (you have to choose the region at the beginning of the course and every assignment should consider that region for reference). Plus, you have to identify 3 sub-group of the region population affected by the climate change impacts.

von KANDUKURI V S

Oct 27, 2019

Great Course and well covered by Prof

von Luis G P

Oct 30, 2019

Excellent course

von MICAEL N K

Oct 02, 2019

Great course. Clear and robust information provided. I even learned from topics that I thought I mastered. Support staff and teachers should be more proactive in Forums to enrich the experience. If you want to get a deeper understanding of climate change impacts, this is your course.

von Shelley R G

Nov 08, 2019

Well sone and wall laid out. Covers a lot of material, studies and analysis and varying opinions. I learned a lot from this class and would recommend it to anyone in any field.

von Rajendra T

Oct 06, 2019

Topic is good but there are lot of items which could be improved in course. Slides were messy and confusing, containing lot of repetitions. Presentation style also could be improved a bit.

von Patel Y S

Dec 20, 2019

This course is really great, they provide knowledge in depth, best course for beginners to learn about climate change

von Kryzhevich M

Nov 26, 2019

This course is a very interesting for me.

von David S - E

Nov 22, 2019

great, concise and on point.

von Anna S

Apr 13, 2020

This course was fantastic. Really opened up my eyes. I highly recommend as a tool for learning more about our planet and the effect we have on it. On the smallest scale, it's given me passion to pursue mitigation efforts to help lessen climate change personally, and on the largest scale, it's given me the knowledge and confidence to discuss climate change with friends and family, reconstructing their ideas about the reality of this problem and changing their responses for the better of the planet. I wish this instructor was teaching the next course - he was great! He took complex concepts and paired them down into simple ideas. I never felt like any of the material was beyond my understanding because of him.

von Rahul R

Apr 19, 2020

This is an introductory course but beautifully delivered. Very informative course. This course motivates why we need to start taking action to save mother earth and humanity. Thanks for making a course on a very important topic.

von Nancy B

Feb 06, 2020

Hi

The course 'Introduction to Climate Change and Health' was engaging and informative. The information was referenced and fact based. I enjoyed learning about this topic as the current environment in Australia is impacted by extreme heat and an extended bushfires season. I do recommend this Yale course! Nancy

von Nastia T

Jul 12, 2020

Good courses about climate change impact, good materials self-study, exactly been said that climate change is serious threat for health various social groups thus people has vote for protect environment. So I want to continued this cycle of courses for full understanding global problem. I promise

von Eileen H S Y

May 27, 2020

The course teaches very in-depth content and backs it up with a lot of research data. It also sends a powerful message as to why we should care about climate change not just because of the adverse impacts on earth but also on people's health.

von Alexandra

May 08, 2020

A course with lot of useful and interesting information. Will be helpful for people who want to start studying Climate Change and its impact on Humans, Health and Environment. Easy to understand, pleasant to learn.

von Juan S L C

Jun 19, 2020

Very insightful course about fundamentals of climate, climate change, health effects related to air pollution, highlighted statistics, co-beneftis etc. Thank you for this Yale University.

von steven a

May 04, 2020

Great course for getting one's feet wet in the world of climate change. I learned a few very interesting things and look forward to more in the next two classes in the series.

von AMAR S N

Jul 14, 2020

Very Useful And Informative Course for the one who needs to know the very dynamics of the or for the protection of our nature by combating the climate change.

von Prodipto M

Jun 24, 2020

I'm very happy and satisfied with this course programme.This course is very helpful and essential to my learning and development of skills

von NYIRENDA L

Jun 05, 2020

it was really ia good course and i am looking forward to learn more things or to continue in short thanks very much for you help

von Aashmika G

May 21, 2020

this course is a real asset to those who're willing to work for the environment. It has great explanations, ideas and examples.

von Daniel E

Apr 11, 2020

Great Introduction in Climate Change or refresher course for those looking to gain more knowledge on Climate Change and Health.

von Wendell S

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent overview, well taught! I very much enjoyed this course and look forward to completing the specialization.

von Chew Y X

Jun 17, 2020

Well explained by prof! Quiz are also doable with the guidance from the videos and articles! Definitely recommend!