Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Genomic Technologies von Johns Hopkins University

4.6
Sterne
3,456 Bewertungen
536 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

SS
27. Mai 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK
20. Nov. 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filtern nach:

476 - 500 von 532 Bewertungen für Introduction to Genomic Technologies

von Hendy Z

11. Dez. 2016

a great way to start.

von Andrea S

16. Mai 2018

a great introduction

von Jean P M R

11. Aug. 2016

Good Introduction!!!

von Paddy M

9. März 2018

Great Introduction.

von Rana M A

23. Jan. 2017

Good for debutants

von SHADAB A

5. Sep. 2020

Great experience

von rupal k

1. Juli 2020

very effective

von Weidong X

30. Juli 2016

good course.

von hzl

13. Jan. 2017

good course

von Nikhil Y

26. Apr. 2020

amazing!!

von Ayesha A

30. Sep. 2020

Good 1

von Dionysios S

31. Dez. 2020

Decent introduction to Genomics.

Good challenging course project that needed a thorough understanding of the article. I do not like courses which just give you a certificate without you really learning or just watching. Although the article was very interesting and was teaching you not only genomics but how to read-search for articles and information, at the same time it felt as a separate and a bit disjointed task from the material that was taught in the rest of the course. So giving it 40% was kind of unfair.

Some feedback:

-Would have been very helpful to provide the slides in a powerpoint or pdf format.

-Would have appreciated a few more slides and pictures on the introduction to biology/DNA etc. part (week1,2).

-The statistical part (I am a statistician by the way) suddenly refers to terms from biology that have not been referred in the previous sections (e.g. replicates). The examples were hard to follow in order to understand the concept. A bit more context would have greatly increased the ability to follow the material and grasp the conclusion/information.

Feedback on chrome-cast :This is not for this course only but for all I guess (although I have not tested another course yet). When videos are cast to TV (or chromecast) the subtitles have black background and hide the slides. There is no option to turn off subtitles (at least for this course), only to change subtitle language. Very annoying as you loose important information.

von Piotr G

8. Juni 2020

The initial lectures on introduction to genomics are very engaging and good starting point for everyone who slightly touched that topic before and is interested in both history and recent developments in the area.

The week focusing on software engineering doesn't seem to be a good fit for such training. Most of the content is dedicated to extremely trivial computer science topics hardly related with bioinformatics. Only last several minutes give examples of bioIT software and systems.

The week with statistics is good only if you posses solid knowledge on statistics. Then it serves as a good recap. Otherwise you might be completely lost 5 min into the content, e.g. there are much better explanations of p-value and family-wise error out there in internet than the one provided in the course.

The idea of a project to go through a research paper and answer the questions about it was fantastic! Very good way to cement what you learned.

Overall: 3 stars. I would give 4 if not for trivial and rather useless computer science intro. At few points, the pace should be adjusted (e.g. statistics).

von Alejandro M

28. Apr. 2020

There are two lecturers on this course, Steven and Jeff. The lectures by Steven are amazing. They are extremely interesting, clear, structured, concise and pedagogical. Seriously, great, I learned a lot and I would give Steven 5 stars. Unfortunately, the lectures by Jeff are unclear, filled with jargon (undefined and unexplained terms) and statements which are imprecise at best and incorrect at worse. Verdecit: 1 star for this second lecturer who didn't consider that the audience he was addressing was broad, and probably didn't take enough time to prepare his lectures. Average result: 3 stars.

von Dylan B

11. Okt. 2017

Basic introduction. I have a biology background so for me this was easy. But for a non-biologist I imagine this may difficult to understand. From a non-biologist point of view I imagine the lecturers can spend more time explaining the biology of the cell and genome replication in a lot more detail. This can be handy understanding why we get certain mutations and why some mutations are more interesting than others (e.g. why are most variants (SNPs) found outside coding regions?).

von Saaket V

2. Jan. 2018

A good introduction to Genomic Technologies. Positives: Concise, to the point quizzes, at times funny alternatives answers. The instructor was world class. Could have included few examples of technologies and software being used for sequencing. Trends and what to expect in next five years. Linking to the applications like Precision medicine, Companion Diagnostics, and Personalized medicine would have further improved the delivery of the course.

von ELISA W

11. Apr. 2018

This course included a lot of background information which most I already had. The lecturers were engaging, however, spoke quickly. Luckily I could rewind. Some concepts were inadequately glossed over, but then tested on. Since, as I said, I already had background I could still successfully answer the quiz questions. But I could see how someone who is taking this without prior knowledge would have more difficulty.

von Jessica R

20. Mai 2016

This is an extremely basic course. In my opinion, it isn't worth $49 and is thrown in just to add to the total price of the specialization. It is a useful refresher, but doesn't really contain much information. Just a couple of topics are covered at a very basic level. You could also get this info from watching Youtube videos.

von Abhinaya S

25. Okt. 2017

Average course. The initial part was taught by someone who doesn't do Molecular Biology and still tried to push off a course material. It sounded like it was dumbed down to below basic levels in some cases and while I understand the course is meant for general population, the material was presented in a very un-scientific way.

von Wesley W

22. Juni 2016

I am a PhD student in genetics, so the background material there was review from undergrad courses. Obviously some people who are not biologists will need this background. I do wish, however, that the statistics intro was more applied and covered a better intro and application to the why!

von Abhilash K T

26. Apr. 2020

Overall, the flow and the materials covered are good. I was really interested to learn the statistical part of the course, however, there were very few examples and the speaker went through all the materials like everyone here knows all the statistics that he was teaching.

von Nikita T

13. Juli 2017

Mostly, it is an interesting course, although it is very short - if a person knows something about molecular biology, then it is feasible to finish it a couple of hours. Nevertheless, probably it provides us with a good introduction to the rest of the series.

von Sergio R B

29. Mai 2020

I did not find the course on an intermediate level, it is pretty basic. The statistics parts need materials different than the videos to have a deeper understanding of the different parameters/calculations and what do they mean.

von Clara M G

6. Juni 2020

could have a bit more application of analyses, at least the statistical parts. I enjoyed the application of reading the paper and answering questions. I am looking forward to the next section of the course!

von Khairunnisaa' B S

15. Aug. 2020

If you are learning this for the first time without any prior knowledge like me,this course is difficult and there are many technical terms which you have to memorise and know for the Quiz.