Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Genomic Technologies von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
1,782 Bewertungen
284 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

GH

Oct 06, 2019

This course provides a gentle introduction to the concepts and terminology associated with genomics. As someone who never took a biology course in high school or university, this course is perfect.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 281 Bewertungen für Introduction to Genomic Technologies

von Jennifer D

Nov 21, 2016

Informative. Nice, low commitment class to provide some background to genomic technologies.

von Sathya P

Oct 19, 2017

Very nice basic course

von Thodoris S

Nov 12, 2017

Nice introductory course for those who are new to the interdisciplinary field of bioinformatics. However, experienced users could also skip this course and go straight to the next ones.

von Abdur R A

Jun 25, 2017

Awesome. Great course to start your journey in bioinformatics

von Alan A

Jan 21, 2017

I'm fascinated by bioinformatics and genomics, which is why I took this course. I gave the course four stars instead of 5 because I think the flow of the lectures could have been better. When watching lectures, I often found myself jumping around in my notebook to write something down. Other than that, the course was an excellent introduction.

von Makragić A

Nov 03, 2016

The course is a good introduction into genomic data science, I disliked last week because teacher gave too many unnecessary information. But overall it is great course for Computer Scientists especially.

von Jose G

Mar 02, 2016

Great introductory overview. I particularly enjoyed the summary of the human genome project.

von abdelazeem a e

Feb 22, 2016

it is very good but needs some more explanation and supportive materials other than videos to get more knowledge

von Charl W K

Feb 10, 2016

Comprehensive cover of the basics.

von Hao H

Mar 03, 2017

simple but important descriptions about genomic data science.

von Jacob A

Dec 09, 2016

Its called an introduction to genomic technologies and that is basically what it is.

von Krupal J

Oct 19, 2017

It is very nice course to learn new things.

von Qianhao L

Apr 25, 2018

Time of each video is limited, so lots of content are just mentioned without going deeper. Just a introductory course.

von Sabrina S

Nov 27, 2016

The entire course took me about 8 hours to complete. The videos are on average around 10 minutes long. The first two weeks of the course were very introductory and had they stayed that way I would have been disappointed (however they were focused on my specialization). Week 3 and 4 made it worth it for me and were very helpful (computing technology and statistics). I thought the course project could have been better. I didn't feel it was a strong overview of what I learned about the course. Either way, I'm glad I went through the entire thing.

von Dmitry S

Apr 11, 2016

nice! Stats review particularly

von Hendy Z

Dec 11, 2016

a great way to start.

von Himal S

Feb 24, 2017

It is very useful who are interested in Genomics and overall computational biology.

von BHARGAVA R M

Apr 29, 2016

Though the content is introductory and general concepts, it could have been done in a slower pace and a little bit more detail.

von Jen M

Jul 10, 2017

Overall a good intro course. Molecular biology basics were covered so quickly and with terms and concepts pulled almost out of thin air, anyone without a pretty substantial background would probably be lost fairly quickly. And those of us with a genetics background fairly bored until we got to the later weeks. Still as a course designed to get everyone on the same page for the rest of the Specialization, I feel ready for the next course.

von Gareth H

Jun 25, 2017

This course lays out the foundation for the rest of the Specialization. The course feels a little light on content but the concepts it does cover are well described.

von jesus b S

May 03, 2018

Buen curso introductorio a las nuevas tecnologias genomicas.

von Ricardo J P M R

Aug 12, 2016

Good Introduction!!!

von Peter A O V

Jul 17, 2017

Better organization on the biological component is needed to be clearer in the definitions

von Ana P H

Nov 16, 2017

The first three weeks were too easy, then Jeff Leek introduced a bunch of Statistical Concepts at once. I think I would rather have spent more time taking an overview of the field and what the certificate has to offer in application to my job as a biologist/learning bioinformatics.

The project at the end reminded me of evaluating scientific papers in college. Very useful, but out of context I thought. I think I would like to have more of a refresher in certain concepts in advanced genetics prior to being quizzed on them through a project.

Overall, it was a good course, but someone without a background in biology will certainly struggle with it

von Giulia P

Feb 18, 2016

Interesting topic, maybe an improvement could be to provide the material as one file and not many files one for each video (also easier to consult in the future).