Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to GIS Mapping

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to GIS Mapping von University of Toronto

4.8
Sterne
1,012 Bewertungen
358 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Top-Bewertungen

AF

Apr 17, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

BA

Aug 04, 2020

This course is the basic introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Out of all these Professor Don Boyes made is so entertaining. Thank you Prof!!!

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 356 Bewertungen für Introduction to GIS Mapping

von Nicolás T O

Jul 09, 2020

Very good

von Nasim K

Jun 27, 2020

excellent

von Md. W I K

May 18, 2020

Very good

von Dewan H M

May 29, 2020

loved it

von MD. A A

Jul 25, 2020

Awesome

von Fawaz A

May 26, 2020

love it

von Aisha E

Jan 02, 2020

Great!

von ISMAIL I E

Oct 01, 2020

Great

von Elijah A

Sep 16, 2020

great

von Hariharan P

Jun 21, 2020

great

von Tanvir A

Jun 15, 2020

great

von Kinley P

Sep 21, 2020

good

von Mona A A

Aug 06, 2020

good

von Minimol K M

Jul 08, 2020

good

von Luis A S R

Jun 27, 2020

good

von Fabio E V

Jun 14, 2020

Nice

von JOSEPH R

May 20, 2020

good

von Thatikonda N c

Apr 24, 2020

good

von Marseld A

Feb 29, 2020

Best

von Deleted A

Aug 07, 2020

OK

von Himal B

Oct 12, 2020

I

von Yean D

Jun 10, 2020

Great Course. I've done few courses on Coursera. But till now, Don Boyes is the most friendly instructor. He explains everything from the very beginning so that anyone from any discipline can easily catch his lesson. Still I think it would be more helpful if he could provide some specific instruction shapefile, and serve the course like a guided project. I knew nothing about ArcGIS, so when he was showing volcanic map/elevation map and using some tools on that map, I was frustrated where to get these files, how to make it look like the same as the video.

von Heleen B

Aug 25, 2020

This course has been very helpful for learning the basics on cartography and GIS. There's a lot of attention for some fundamental principles that need to be taken into consideration before starting with a map design (e.g. the consequences of the fact that the Earth is an ellipsoid, choosing a geographic coordinate system, methods of navigation, and so on). Many interesting examples of projects are provided, with a historical context alongisde!

von Megan M

Sep 20, 2020

Course material was wonderful but the peer reviews I received were very unhelpful. I do not necessarily see the point in having these types of roadblocks to completing the course if those grading your content are not going to give constructive criticism to your work. I received a number of low marks on my map but not a single note as to what was deficient. How can a student improve if low marks or reviews are not explained?

von Rishabb A

Jul 26, 2020

The course structure is good and thought out well. It is quite beginner-friendly and certainly helpful for people who are working to get their GIS certification. My suggestion would be to include more reading material and maybe show some additional map representations so that we can get a deeper understanding of how things work. Overall, it is a good course for beginners.