Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to GIS Mapping

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to GIS Mapping von University of Toronto

4.9
Sterne
1,355 Bewertungen
450 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Top-Bewertungen

AF
16. Apr. 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

BA
3. Aug. 2020

This course is the basic introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Out of all these Professor Don Boyes made is so entertaining. Thank you Prof!!!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 448 Bewertungen für Introduction to GIS Mapping

von Niloofar S

22. Mai 2020

This course was really helpful for me to get familiar with the fundamentals of

GIS. My field is in Environmental Engineering and I did not have any idea about geographic maps, coordinate systems, projection and etc. but everything was explained in an easy understanding and interesting way that motivated me to continue the course, Thank you.

von Vanessa J O

3. Juli 2020

I learned in this course the more impotants concepts to start to work with GIS. The meaning of the features, geodatabase, why and how represents things in a map, tools to design in ArcMap and ArcGis, how to save the information, ArcCatalog and many other things amazing about the maps world. I learned a lot thanks the DonBoyes teacher.

von Tomás J C O

18. Sep. 2020

Excelente curso de introducción, ya he trabajado con GIS antes, por lo que conozco varias funciones, pero me sirvió para repasar conceptos técnicos olvidados. El curso no deja pasar ningún detalle lo que lo hace muy completo, como explicar los tipos de archivos, la escala, los diferentes sistemas de coordenadas, etc.

von Sofía E P

7. Aug. 2020

I think this is a great introductory course to GIS mapping as it covers the necessary concepts to start feeling confident with GIS, and you get to start using the software. Also, Don explains everything - even the most complex ideas- in a way that is very engaging and understandable. I highly recommend it!

von Daniel F V O

28. Juli 2020

I liked this course a lot! Don Boyes is really an excelent teacher and he makes every topic really easy to undestand. I struggled in week 5 because it's a lot of information but I managed to learn the basics and I downloaded the explanations so I can consult them whenever I want to refresh my knowledge.

von Gabriela K

1. Okt. 2020

The instructor is very clear explaining the material. It is understandable but yet deep as its the concepts and principles for mapping was explained in this course. Also in giving GIS instruction and explanation its so practical but yet we understand the theory behind it and the reason behind it.

von Shelley C

18. Jan. 2021

DB is an excellent teacher - very clear explanations of complex concepts. This is a good introductory course for someone interested in GIS. It would be preferred if you made the quiz results available to people who are auditting. Other MOOC vendors do. Thank you very much - I learned a lot!

von Victor F

5. März 2021

The course is very good! I was willing for more pratice, but atthe end of the course I understand the importance of having the theorical foundations well known. Altough, it makes a introduction to the software and you can make your first map by the end of the course! It does worth the time!

von Drake D

31. Jan. 2021

Easy to follow and long. I loved learning how to use the GIS software to map out features! I really appreciate the work that has gone into making this an easy to use course. The instructor is great as well. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in using ArcGIS software.

von Gabriel M

5. Apr. 2020

Both informative and applicable, I not only enjoyed this fascinating introductory course, but also appreciated Prof. Boyes's straightforward, clear and engaging style of presentation. This course is a must for anyone interested in learning how to work with GIS (or maps of any kind).

von Jennifer A

19. Okt. 2020

I really enjoyed this class. Mr. Boyes did an exceptional job explaining challenging topic in relation to map projections. I've used GIS on and off for several years but never grasped the concepts of projection before. The class content was super helpful for my future map making!

von CRISTIAN A U R

22. Aug. 2020

Excellent course. The instructor is very dinamic and makes all the topics very simple and understandable. The program of the course is also well developed and relevant. It's a great opportunity to learn new things both for begginers and more experienced people. Totally recommended.

von Fares A D D

1. Sep. 2020

The course was really amazing. The contents were really useful. I have taken the Introduction to GIS Mapping course with Dr. Don Boyes as Instructor, I like his way of teaching and the knowledge he shared with us, he is amazing, I like to continue with him for the coming course.

von Sumit K

17. Juli 2020

The course gives an excellent introduction to few of GIS fundamentals. The approach towards course delivery is very good and the user/participant always gets something from a perspective which is quite innovative and easy to grasp. Overall a wonderful learning experience.

von Luis A M C

14. Feb. 2020

This was an awesome course. It has provided me with the foundations of geographic information systems in a clear and accessible way thanks to Professor Don Boyce. Not only this, but now I have the motivation of learning more and deepen my knowledge of this field.

von Char A

10. Nov. 2020

First of all thank you to Coursera and University of Toronto to give us a chance to study online. Thank you to Prof. Don Boyes, for teaching us about the GIS Mapping. I learned so much from him and I will continue learn more about the GIS mapping.

von Fuad H

20. Apr. 2020

This is a great learning platform.I have learnt a lot of things from this course that I was not cleared before.Thanks to Professor Don Boyes for his great teaching effort.I will recommend everyone who are interested in GIS can take this course.

von Gemma E

17. Juni 2020

A great introduction to the world of mapping and ArcGIS. Introduced several concepts that one would not otherwise think about and with such great delivery that you appreciate these concepts in making maps and understanding map projections.

von Helen W

24. Mai 2020

This course gives a really solid grounding in the fundamentals of GIS, with definitions, great explanations and good exposure to industry software. Bonus: Don Boyes is a fantastic lecturer, so it's really easy to follow the information.

von Rifqi F

9. Sep. 2020

Fantastic! I have background in Urban Planning study, at first didn't sure "introduction" is necessary. After Completing the course, I'm really surprise that there are many great explanations in this course that anyone could implement.

von Rutherford K B

2. Jan. 2021

Prof Boye is really on top of what he does. Hardly does one make an online class,so lively like it is in person. His extra detail informations about the nuances makes me appreciate the GIS subject better. He did a great job on this.

von Natalie P

28. Sep. 2020

The course was very interesting and entertaining. The teacher is great and explains all the contents very clearly and in a very fun and didactic way. I enjoyed going thorugh the topics and I look forward for the rest of the courses!

von ISHTIYAK A

30. Apr. 2020

I love the way of instructor to teach about the course. I have learned lot of with this course like Scaling, Projection, Coordinate System etc. It is great course for beginners to know how GIS stands to explain our beautiful world.

von Henrique O

21. März 2021

This course is excellent.

Very well organized and covering very important topics.

The classes are perfect.

The classes are very well conceived.

The presentations are very good!

Congratulations to the instructor Professor Don Boyes.

von Aditya U K

6. Sep. 2020

Very nice course! Gives you a great background of some basic concepts in GIS; most importantly map projections which I needed very much. I am certainly looking to finish the remaining 3 courses in this series as well.