Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to GIS Mapping

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to GIS Mapping von University of Toronto

4.8
Sterne
720 Bewertungen
263 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Top-Bewertungen

AF

Apr 17, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

BA

Aug 04, 2020

This course is the basic introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Out of all these Professor Don Boyes made is so entertaining. Thank you Prof!!!

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 264 Bewertungen für Introduction to GIS Mapping

von ISHTIYAK A

Apr 30, 2020

I love the way of instructor to teach about the course. I have learned lot of with this course like Scaling, Projection, Coordinate System etc. It is great course for beginners to know how GIS stands to explain our beautiful world.

von Shahriar I Z

Jun 01, 2020

Very good introductory course into mapping and ArcGIS. The basics of maps and projections are taught well by Don Boyes with his witty style of teaching. It should be taken as a primary step towards ArcMAP learning.

von Edward J O G

Jul 25, 2020

An excellent course, especially if you're interested in learning the basics of GIS, what it is and its relationship to the world. The videos and material are very complete and clear. Thanks for all the learning!

von Euijin J

Jun 20, 2020

I really like how the instructor views and explains key concepts of GIS. His conceptualization was very helpful as I learned so many fundamental things of GIS in a short time. I truly enjoyed taking this class!

von Dariia K

Apr 05, 2020

Great course for beginners in GIS and people who want to have systematic knowledge in GIS and appropriately understand GIS terminology. The very professional lecturer who gives interesting real-world examples

von Samantha F

Jun 23, 2020

Excellent course! I went into the course never using GIS software before and felt that this was a great introduction course. I really enjoyed learning the theory as well as the practical aspects of GIS.

von Benhur K A

Aug 04, 2020

This course is the basic introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Out of all these Professor Don Boyes made is so entertaining. Thank you Prof!!!

von Amrit K

Jul 17, 2020

This course is basic introduction to key concepts used in GIS. I found the instructor to be great. Complex terms are explained in simple way. Overall this is a very good course for beginners.

von Ada A A

Jun 16, 2020

I loved the course! Personally, I like to know the background of things and how they work. The course is not just a step by step ArcGIS course, it is an opportunity to understand further GIS.

von Saqalain H

Jun 07, 2020

This is the most basic course about GIS. The course is really worth taking. I am thankful to University of Toronto, Don Boyes and coursera for providing us the opportunity to take the course.

von WOMMA H H

Jun 04, 2020

The content, materials, examples, and explanations of this course are awesome. Dan, you are an awesome teacher. I really enjoyed this journey and highly recommend this course.

Best wishes. 😊

von Fanie T T

Jul 24, 2020

Absolutely great course and very exciting. The course is more practical and the lecture is really good in explaining complex concepts. It is really a well structured introduction ti GIS.

von Camilo A E T

Aug 11, 2020

Muy bien desarrollado el curso, presenta una base teórica adecuada para iniciar con los SIG. Ya había usado ArcGIS, pero este curso me dió la base para usar muchas de las herramientas.

von Milton S

Jun 28, 2020

It was a great introduction to GIS, it has been really informative, easy to understand and useful. I strongly recomend this curse to anyone whos interested in GIS understanding

von Repon B

Jun 02, 2020

Professor Don Boyes is awesome, He knows very well how to make a class into interesting and enjoyable to the learner. His skillful video lecture session is very much helpful.

von Nahuel B

May 31, 2020

I learned a lot of foundation and theory about GIS, also about geographic coordinate systems, which is very helpful for my work. Very well explained and precise course.

von Marino M M R

Jul 28, 2020

Excellent descriptions of each topic proposed in the unit. The explanation of the coordinate systems and their projections exceeded my expectations. Excellent teacher.

von Rupok C

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent course with a depth contents on Geography. For a beginner, the course and especially instructor Mr. Don has motivated me to pursue further knowledge in GIS.

von Khaled A

Feb 11, 2020

Amazing course, really well done and I highly recommend it. Thanks, Don and the rest of the team for organising such a valuable course I look forward to the rest.

von BRYAN S T G

Jun 19, 2020

The course was very useful, the modules are well distributed and the explanations are clear and didactic, which facilitates the full understanding of the course.

von Arezoo R

Jun 05, 2020

Great course with a great teacher, such a wonderful class.Great slides and free arc GIS account to work with.learned so much and thank you for this opportunity

von Lorena N R

Jun 03, 2020

The course is excellent! All the content taught was based on a lot of practical knowledge by Don Boyes. All explanations were made clearly and objectively.

von Deleted A

Jul 19, 2020

Excited to learn more about GIS. The best ever experience learning online.

Thank you University of Toronto for such opportunity and enthusiastic faculty.

von Shashank K

Jun 18, 2020

Frankly a beautifully structured course. Element of basics are very important for GIS Developer. I'm Going to rest of three course provided by Don Boyes

von Kush K

Aug 04, 2020

This entire course is designed very well and is very helpful to all beginners. I am very thankful to Don Boyes sir for sharing his valuable knowledge.