Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python von EDHEC Business School

4.8
Sterne
1,269 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The practice of investment management has been transformed in recent years by computational methods. This course provides an introduction to the underlying science, with the aim of giving you a thorough understanding of that scientific basis. However, instead of merely explaining the science, we help you build on that foundation in a practical manner, with an emphasis on the hands-on implementation of those ideas in the Python programming language. This course is the first in a four course specialization in Data Science and Machine Learning in Asset Management but can be taken independently. In this course, we cover the basics of Investment Science, and we'll build practical implementations of each of the concepts along the way. We'll start with the very basics of risk and return and quickly progress to cover a range of topics including several Nobel Prize winning concepts. We'll cover some of the most popular practical techniques in modern, state of the art investment management and portfolio construction. As we cover the theory and math in lecture videos, we'll also implement the concepts in Python, and you'll be able to code along with us so that you have a deep and practical understanding of how those methods work. By the time you are done, not only will you have a foundational understanding of modern computational methods in investment management, you'll have practical mastery in the implementation of those methods....

Top-Bewertungen

MA

29. Nov. 2020

Awesome Course, Great instructors that give a nice balance of theory and practice, the practice is very hands-on and will help you understand the theory and give you useful tools from the first week.

SW

5. Aug. 2020

I am self taught in Python and have an industry background in Finance. This course was a good connector/provided additional insight on using Python to process portfolio performance and data analysis.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 350 Bewertungen für Introduction to Portfolio Construction and Analysis with Python

von rami y

12. Mai 2020

The instructors have done a great job at helping learners gain hands on experience with rather sophisticated investment management techniques. However, illustrating the practicalities of portfolio construction and insurance came at the expense of only brushing on the theory behind some of the notions introduced. Maybe it was meant to be this way but I would have loved to see more analysis of CPPI and the pricing of ZC bonds under CIR model.

von Francisco V A

4. Juni 2020

I think this is a good course! THe thing that I like the most ist that Vijay gets stuff wrong live, which is in line with your experience as a coder.

There are two things that I don't really like. You almost need a pre-course to know how to manage Python. And the exams are super difficult, particularly the coding related questions. Probably intermediate homeworks would be in order.

von Jacob W

24. Apr. 2020

Main concepts in portfolio management were well reinforced with relevant coding applications. The only drawback was that some of the code needed a bit of massaging to execute correctly. Example: an index was used in a calculation when it needed to be converted to an array for a defined function to return a calculated value. Nonetheless, a great course.

von Anoop D

23. Okt. 2021

An excellent introductory course module-1, with excellent instructors, help you build basic foundational skills in portfolio construction and analysis. My feedback would have been all five-starts if the last lab had used the real-time S&P500 or ASX100 data to demonstrate portfolio construction and analysis. Hoping module-2 may be the case!

von Dirk W

5. Feb. 2020

Well-constructed course, right balance between theory and lab sessions. Lab sessions thoroughly detailed, which is really a forte. The 5th star is missing because of a few frustrating problems with automatic interpreting of answers in quizzes and because of the lack of (quick/relevant) responses or answers of the moderators in the forum.

von Christopher B

8. Mai 2020

The accompanying materials were incredibly well organized and helpful and the coding walkthroughs were great for beginners. However, I'd argue that some of the topics covered were not very mainstream as far as finance concepts and I had trouble finding further information on them outside of the course, which was necessary in some cases.

von Mike M

16. Feb. 2020

Nicely balanced between financial theory and programming in Python. Working through the topics by coding them in Python made the financial conception much more approachable and easier to remember. Leading approaches to portfolio construction and learned new concepts about best python practices. Recommend this course.

von Mychajlo C

19. Apr. 2020

Quite interesting course for a person who has no idea what investment instruments are. However for same kind of person it lacks more practical part as to how to build portfolio (tools, platforms, time-related plans)...

Definitely recommend for all beginners

von Parag S

27. Juni 2020

Designed by a top-tier Business School (EDHEC Business School) and taught by top level Professors (Lionel Martellini and Vijay Vaidyanathan) provides a high quality technical knowledge on portfolio construction, leveraging Python programming language.

von Aman j

1. Okt. 2021

A very well paced and detailed with respect to the Coding side, the Finance side can be bit short for someone who has not heard some basic terminology. Overall very good course for someone who wants to start with Asset Management using Python.

von Ciaran J O D

8. Dez. 2020

I found the course very interesting and educational. I think the course could be improved if the labs were more intereactive (e.g perhaps a concept is explained and then there is a pause for the user to attempt to write the functions first)

von Soheil S

4. Jan. 2020

A very robust curriculum with good coding instructions and explanations. It is helpful for even someone who has not any portfolio construction experience. But definitely need some level of understanding of the financial market.

von Wayne Z

14. Juni 2020

The week 4 content is not as applicable as the rest, especially some code does not work well at my side. So it took me extra time to complete the course. But I generally enjoy it and look forward to continue the learning.

von Daniel A C C

26. Juli 2020

It's really good since it combines portfolio theory with practice during the lab sessions. I would just like some more practical ecercises with the answers in order to get confident with the lab sessions.

von Jesús A J M C

18. Jan. 2021

I think it gives you an excellent introduction for the portfolio analysis and improvement of your programming skills. However, you might have a solid knowledge of some mathematical concepts.

von Svitlana K

8. Dez. 2019

The course is great, I enjoyed very detailed Python labs, they taught me a lot. But almost no support from the staff in the forums. If you don't understand something, you are on your own.

von Matt P

6. Aug. 2020

There is a tremendous amount of material to be learned in this course and it is quite challenging material but for anyone interested in this topic I think the instruction is excellent.

von 劉映麟

27. Dez. 2019

Very useful course that covered some simple investment strategies and taught you to implement it using python. Recommended to those who want to enter the quantitative investment world.

von Trang N

26. Juni 2021

I am grateful for bọth EDHEC and coursera help and supports. After finishing this course, I am now able to write some codes and I also know how to build a nice portfolio for myself.

von Thảo N P

11. Feb. 2021

The course is extremely useful. I understand more the investment strategy. I'm able to use python for data process. It's really convenient as compared to excel in simulation.

von Sean S

28. Jan. 2021

I found this course to be a great mix of programming and investment management principles. Both instructors did a good job of making the subject matter accessible.

von Miguel A L C

7. Aug. 2020

Great course. Professors explain very good. You will learn new things about python coding and definetly about basic portfolio construction and how to enhace it.

von Hector B

2. Feb. 2021

Really challenging and informative course. Assignments are a little bit frustrating and time-consuming offering a lot of learning opportunities.

von Liang Y

19. Nov. 2022

There is some outdated information in the code part, so the programming may have some errors occurred, but the remaining is informative.

von Hardik P

3. Mai 2020

This course is not at all an Introductory course. It is quite advanced and requires a decent level of commitment to keep up