Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Software Testing

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Software Testing von University of Minnesota

4.4
Sterne
487 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

After completing this course, you will have an understanding of the fundamental principles and processes of software testing. You will have actively created test cases and run them using an automated testing tool. You will being writing and recognizing good test cases, including input data and expected outcomes. After completing this course, you will be able to… - Describe the difference between verification and validation. - Explain the goal of testing. - Use appropriate test terminology in communication; specifically: test fixture, logical test case, concrete test case, test script, test oracle, and fault. - Describe the motivations for white and black box testing. - Compare and contrast test-first and test-last development techniques. - Measure test adequacy using statement and branch coverage. - Reason about the causes and acceptability of and poor coverage - Assess the fault-finding effectiveness of a functional test suite using mutation testing. - Critique black-box and white-box testing, describing the benefits and use of each within the greater development effort. - Distinguish among the expected-value (true), heuristic, consistency (as used in A/B regression), and probability test oracles and select the one best-suited to the testing objective. - Craft unit and integration test cases to detect defects within code and automate these tests using JUnit. To achieve this, students will employ test doubles to support their tests, including stubs (for state verification) and mocks (for behavioral verification) (https://martinfowler.com/articles/mocksArentStubs.html). This course is primarily aimed at those learners interested in any of the following roles: Software Engineer, Software Engineer in Test, Test Automation Engineer, DevOps Engineer, Software Developer, Programmer, Computer Enthusiast. We expect that you should have an understanding of the Java programming language (or any similar object-oriented language and the ability to pick up Java syntax quickly) and some knowledge of the Software Development Lifecycle....

Top-Bewertungen

DW

13. Juni 2022

I like this course very much! The coding assignment is easy but always incldues all the essential things we need to learn. I feel so happy that I jsut finished my first unit testing project.

AH

26. Aug. 2020

I love this course, the explanation is great, the assignments are very challenging. I learned many things from software testing. Thanks, Prof. Mike Whalen and Mr. Kevin Wendt

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 133 Bewertungen für Introduction to Software Testing

von Rahul V P

8. Okt. 2020

Goood

von Vadla R

24. Mai 2022

Good

von srushti s

1. Jan. 2022

Good

von Rachana S

10. Aug. 2021

good

von Raju M

30. Mai 2021

good

von Ahasanul H

23. Apr. 2021

good

von Deleted A

13. Jan. 2021

Good

von Naman S

4. Nov. 2020

good

von saurabh w

11. Okt. 2020

Good

von Jeremy K

29. Apr. 2021

The course started with a good overview of goals of testing, different terms used in the field, and how to match tests and tools to the goals. It got us involved in writing tests relatively early, which was good, but then dropped it for too long and loaded up at the end. The middle felt more like a soup of picayune questions, even though I appreciate the need to know the vocabulary. I would have liked to see the assignments sprinkled more in the middle of the class too.

Writing a test plan was a valuable exercise. I think it would have been fairer to present the expectations/rubric before we submitted it. I was also stunned to see the same 2 versions of the assignments (The same 37 or 53 tests) handed in repeatedly by my peers. I believe Coursera needs to invest in turnitin.com or a similar product.

I found it a drag to have to downgrade Java on my machine in order to make the assignments work. Also, Eclipse did not behave well, and I found myself needing to switch over to NetBeans. I would have liked to stick with VS Code, but that seems to work better with Maven than with Gradle.

Overall, I find I now have the vocabulary to describe what I have been doing, a bigger picture of the testing endeavor, and some new specific skills like working with Jacoco and Mockito. I am glad I did it, and I think it gave me new insight into how to do my current job well (and I finally found out what UAT stands for) and positions me better in the job market.

von Pedram M

12. Aug. 2022

Before week 4 i was going to rate 1. because of 1) completely theoric contents 2) full of just definitions and termologies. 3) Poor support from the instructors and ... 4) pretty out dated stuff and tools. You cannot hand programming assignments with java version 11 or higher. that was a real pain figuring out the problem is just with the java version! And the error reporting was just awful. 5) Horrible peer assignment on "writing a test plan". The explanations was insufficient and confusing to everyone. And also not just for the peer assignment! 3) sometimes using complex vocabulary(I know English but not a native. it was somtimes hard to understand things)

But the week 4 had pretty much the contents i was looking for when i enrolled this course. but you know... just one week was good enough for me.

But over all i don't think this is worth is.

von dario c

30. Juni 2021

The course is well organized and the exercises lead to a learning how effective create unit test

Also the videos are clear in explanation

Just 2 items in order to reach a 5 stars grade:

1) Sometimes the feedback after a submit is not clear. The problem in rejecting a submission should be clear for the user

2) Environment with eclipse is hard to configure for windows 10 and latest eclipse releases

von Svetlana D

7. Feb. 2021

The course is definitely not for people with zero experience in programming/testing. 50% of the course dedicated to unit testing, other 50% are focused on basic software testing concepts. I liked the lectures part, however, the programming assignments were tricky because of a) lack of clarity in the grader feedback and b) task sometimes being unclear (this is mostly about the final task)

von Lucas K M G M

11. Dez. 2020

O curso ele elucida bastante a parte teórica sobre testes, relatórios e o seu funcionamento. Explicando assim outras habilidades que serão exigidas no mercado. O curso pode ter melhorias na parte da explicação de como compilar e executar o código, pois para quem tem muitas dificuldades ou não conhece Java, é difícil compreender alguns trechos do código dos testes.

von William M

3. Jan. 2021

Expected knowledge of programming and use of Eclipse is more than I expect for this course. I cannot find where I can donwload the sources mentioned in the week 4 videos.

von Aleksandra Z

20. Jan. 2022

Course itself is very good. Minus one star for assignments where without forum help you are not capable to gain 10/10, even though tests are successful on your Pc

von ARUNKUMAR V

30. Aug. 2021

I learnt more from this course only difficult found is the assignment submission .Troubleshooting of assignment eaten more time finally did it. Thanks

von Budi S

8. Sep. 2021

Quite challenging yet very educating course. The practice assignments are very good hands-on example and provides insight into testing

von Francisco B

22. Nov. 2020

En los foros no hay demasiada ayuda si es que alguien se traba en alguna instancia del curso. Más allá de eso , el curso es completo

von Monica S

1. Aug. 2022

It's a complete course, but the final activity is too confuse. It is worst to who the english is not the native language

von Carlos W R M

24. Aug. 2021

It's an amazing course, you learn a lot, the only problem is that one fo the last assesments is quite buggy.

von Abhijeet M

29. Apr. 2022

Need few basic clarification of manual testing as well-including defination and differences.

von Sertsedengle S

7. März 2022

T​he course is a bit old and the tasks are incompattible with the new java.

von Alexandra R

28. Dez. 2020

Too much unit testing. Otherwise it was great and helpful.

von MANOJ K B L

29. Juli 2021

good and learnt so much about software software