Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health von Imperial College London

4.7
198 Bewertungen
44 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

Top-Bewertungen

LA

May 26, 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

SK

Oct 12, 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..\n\nThe instructor has presented the content precisely.\n\nI highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 45 Bewertungen für Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health

von Indhu R

May 16, 2019

Learned a lot! The structure of the course was very logical and manageable. Will be continuing with the rest of the courses in the Specialization.

von Shubham J S

Jun 26, 2019

I found this data very interesting and useful learnt very new sets of skills and will carry on in this topic.

von Dean P

Jul 08, 2019

This was a great introduction. to statistics in public health. Thanks!

von Sandeep K

Oct 12, 2019

This is the best course among all I've taken..

The instructor has presented the content precisely.

I highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

von Liva A

May 26, 2019

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

von Georgy M

Jun 08, 2019

The course gives an introduction to basic statistics commonly used in medicine/public health. The key concepts are explained clearly and provide a good foundation. However, there are few lectures (mostly reading material) and many tests are "check yourself" ones. The course would benefit if current reading material was given in lectures (as it is mostly words) and the more advanced reading material was included with more formal/mathematical description of the concepts.

von Yifan Z

Mar 27, 2019

very friendly for new beginners

von Enrique D O

Mar 31, 2019

I highly recommend it

von Thomas J H

Mar 31, 2019

Clear and no nonsense. Do recommend.

von Usman A

Apr 07, 2019

Superb course. I will recommend to all Public Health Practitioners.

von Mayur N

Apr 08, 2019

Wonderful explanation and introduction to R programing. With minimal additional self learning you can easily master all of the content of the course.

von salome a

May 10, 2019

Excellent introduction to statistics and R

von Anderson S

Apr 27, 2019

I love the simplicity of the explanations

von Rashidul H

May 05, 2019

I will definitely recommend anyone to undergo the materials provided from Imperial faculty to hone statistical reasoning skill and enhance problem solving capacity. Indeed a organized and effective course after a bit long time.

von Rahim H

May 06, 2019

I very much enjoyed the course!

von Oriolowo T A

Jun 14, 2019

Awesome course and the teaching was superb

von R D

Jun 19, 2019

excellent course for beginners

von ONUOHA C A

Jun 24, 2019

Outstanding

von Tommys J G G

Jul 06, 2019

Excellent course if you want to start using R for public health projects! 100% recommended!

von Muhire I

May 23, 2019

Great presentation and relevant materials for studying

von harshal D

May 30, 2019

I learned a lot about statistical analysis through this course

von Eddy A S M

Jun 03, 2019

Excelente!

von Katerina K

Jun 08, 2019

An absolutely fantastic course. Compared with my course back at Uni, this is 100 times clearer.

von Jeba M

Jul 19, 2019

Really explanatory.. assignments, discussion prompts made me think and clarified important concepts.

von Nimmi P

Jul 22, 2019

a very good class

something i was looking for a long time

thanku Mr. bottle